www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Legacy Software & Plug-ins > Legacy Software (Older Versions) > HS2 / HSPRO

HS2 / HSPRO General discussion about HomeSeer HS2 and HSPRO

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 13th, 2011, 11:01 AM
scubaguyjohn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Insteon Support

In the software comparison chart, HSPRO indicates "YES" it supports Insteon. Further, modules to support, for example, windows media player cost extra for the non pro version.

This gives the illusion that insteon support is included in the very expensive $600 hspro price when, in fact, its not really. I just discovered that i have to spend another $50 to upgrade to the latest version of the insteon plm!

When i made my purchase decision to buy HSPRO, it was with the understanding it would support the basic technology i was purchasing hspro to support: namely zwave and insteon.Nowhere is it mentioned that if you want the latest software support, insteon costs an additional $50. This is deceptive advertising.

Homeseer needs to fill the plug in module columns with the plug in module prices and not "YES" - let buyers see for themselves that an already very expensive program will get even more expensive down the road.

I, for one, can tell you I would never have bought hspro if i knew there were hidden future support costs because I felt the $600 price was already pushing the boundary of reasonableness - and after having used it for a year, i can certainly say so.

Given that the insteon plug in module product page states in bold letters that the plug in is NOT free to HS PRO users, I suspect I'm not the first person to have been misled...the problem is this warning is on the wrong product page. If you are misled into thinking the plug in is included in hspro, there's no reason to ever look at the plug in product page....until something doesn't work...

Last edited by scubaguyjohn; March 13th, 2011 at 11:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 13th, 2011, 11:24 AM
Rupp's Avatar
Rupp Rupp is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Huntsville, Al. USA
Posts: 37,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubaguyjohn View Post
In the software comparison chart, HSPRO indicates "YES" it supports Insteon. Further, modules to support, for example, windows media player cost extra for the non pro version.

This gives the illusion that insteon support is included in the very expensive $600 hspro price when, in fact, its not really. I just discovered that i have to spend another $50 to upgrade to the latest version of the insteon plm!

When i made my purchase decision to buy HSPRO, it was with the understanding it would support the basic technology i was purchasing hspro to support: namely zwave and insteon.Nowhere is it mentioned that if you want the latest software support, insteon costs an additional $50. This is deceptive advertising.

Homeseer needs to fill the plug in module columns with the plug in module prices and not "YES" - let buyers see for themselves that an already very expensive program will get even more expensive down the road.

I, for one, can tell you I would never have bought hspro if i knew there were hidden future support costs because I felt the $600 price was already pushing the boundary of reasonableness - and after having used it for a year, i can certainly say so.

Given that the insteon plug in module product page states in bold letters that the plug in is NOT free to HS PRO users, I suspect I'm not the first person to have been misled...the problem is this warning is on the wrong product page. If you are misled into thinking the plug in is included in hspro, there's no reason to ever look at the plug in product page....until something doesn't work...
I called this post to Marks attention.
__________________
-Rupp

Last edited by Rupp; March 14th, 2011 at 07:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 13th, 2011, 11:31 AM
scubaguyjohn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
thanks for the fast reply...however, I don't believe I or other HSPRO purchasers should have to pay for this plug in just because Homeseer decided to use a free (to them I presume) development resource and to shift that cost burden to me, the consumer.

You should grandfather the upgrades for those of us who made good faith purchase decisions based on the perception you created that the plug in is indeed included at no cost.

I will guarantee you that HSPRO sales would be substantially less if you start shifting all the "mainstream" plug in work to freelance developers and start listing prices for each of those plug ins - which then adds even more cost to the total HSPRO price. Heck, this one plug in would add over 25% to the base HS price and nearly 10% to the HSPRO price...there's no way the HS price can take a 25% price increase for one mainstream plug in!

Here's Homeseer's chance to do the right thing ....

Last edited by scubaguyjohn; March 13th, 2011 at 12:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 13th, 2011, 11:02 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,228
The PLC and PLM plug-ins that were authored by HomeSeer are still available and are still included with HSPRO at no cost. You can find them in the updater in the "Lighting Control Plug-ins" section. I just double-checked, to be sure.

The paid Insteon plug-in is a 3rd party plug-in, based on our original code and under development by Mark Sandler. Mark is solely responsible for the development AND SUPPORT of this plug-in. Mark does not work for us. 3rd party plug-ins are not (and have never been) included with HSPRO.
__________________


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 14th, 2011, 09:53 AM
scubaguyjohn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
thanks Mark - what's the difference between a plc or plm plug in and the insteon plug in by Mark?

Are the plc and plm plug ins being updated by Homeseer on an ongoing basis?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 14th, 2011, 10:18 AM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,228
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubaguyjohn View Post
thanks Mark - what's the difference between a plc or plm plug in and the insteon plug in by Mark?

Are the plc and plm plug ins being updated by Homeseer on an ongoing basis?
Mark is adding support for the latest devices and keeping current with changes in the protocol. He would be the best resource for explaining the enhanced features of his plug-in; I honestly don't know what the specific differences are.

No updates are planned for our own PLC and PLM plug-ins at this time.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 14th, 2011, 11:22 AM
scubaguyjohn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
so what you are saying is that you've abandoned internal support for insteon and are requiring customers to buy Mark's insteon plug in when Homeseer's internally developed plug ins have bugs or don't support insteon product offerings?

Last edited by scubaguyjohn; March 14th, 2011 at 12:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 14th, 2011, 11:44 AM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,228
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubaguyjohn View Post
so what you are saying is that you've abandoned internal support for insteon and are requiring customers to buy Mark's insteon plug in when your internal plug ins have bugs or don't support insteon product offerings?
Here's what I am saying (and what has already been said in previous posts):

The HomeSeer-authored PLC and PLM plug-ins are free to all HS2 and HSPRO users. If they work for you, use them. If not, you have two other options. Mark has done a great deal of work on his plug-in and users of it appear to be very happy with his work. Alternately, there is also a plug-in for using HS2 or HSPRO with the ISY controller.

So, there are four (4) plug-in options available for Insteon; two are free, two are paid options.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 14th, 2011, 01:03 PM
scubaguyjohn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
does the homeseer plm support the insteon motion detector? or the insteon thermostats?

I'm sure Mark has done a great deal of work, which is even more disconcerting to me as it indicates the "free" versions aren't good or current solutions.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 14th, 2011, 02:07 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,720
While you are focusing on Insteon, the same applies for many of the plugins that are available for Homeseer. Typically HST will provide a basic plugin, but if you want features that exploit a specific interface then you will want to look for 3rd party providers.

This model is not unique to HST, but pretty common in the industry. Look at how many companies came into existance because Microsoft only provided basic capabilities in the extension and use of their Window OS and entrepeneurs siezed a market opportunity.

If you had been on the boards when Insteon came into existance you will see that the technology was prematurely introduced and HST spent many dollars chasing problems with Smarthome technology. At some point one needs to cut their losses. Their business was not helping Smarthome debug their Insteon technology, but in providing a HA software engine. HST provided a very responsible solution to their customers with multiple options available.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC