www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Telephone,Text and Email Plug-ins > Telephone,Text and Email Integration Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 12th, 2012, 08:35 PM
MJX220's Avatar
MJX220 MJX220 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Milton Keynes,UK
Posts: 28
Question HomeSeer Intergration with a PBX or a PABX ??

Hi All!Ive just been thinking about installing a PBX / PABX system in my house either conventional ( with serial port ) or an IP based system i havent decided yet, i know if atall it will only be in HS3 but would it be possible to view and control such a system through homeseer ??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 13th, 2012, 08:28 AM
jon00's Avatar
jon00 jon00 is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 11,467
As Homeseer can control/read serial ports and can be programmed to communicate over IP, it's possible. That said, I do not believe there is anything currently written for this type of hardware so would require a custom plugin or script (depending on the functionality).
__________________
Jon

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 13th, 2012, 01:22 PM
MJX220's Avatar
MJX220 MJX220 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Milton Keynes,UK
Posts: 28
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jon00 View Post
As Homeseer can control/read serial ports and can be programmed to communicate over IP, it's possible. That said, I do not believe there is anything currently written for this type of hardware so would require a custom plugin or script (depending on the functionality).
the functionality i want is -

- caller ID
- i want to be able to call/page all the extensions including the P.A extension
- and i want to beable to control all through HSTouch

there the main things i can think of ATM, but i really wanna have full intergration

Michael Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 14th, 2012, 06:11 AM
MJX220's Avatar
MJX220 MJX220 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Milton Keynes,UK
Posts: 28
I'm thinking IP would be better as then everythings on one big network??
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 14th, 2012, 06:33 AM
Moskus's Avatar
Moskus Moskus is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 3,792
On general basis, I'd say if there's a choice between Serial or TCP/IP connections, then get the latter.
__________________
HSPro 3.0.0.435, Z-NET with Z-wave plugin 3.0.1.190, RFXCOM + 2x RFXtrx433E, HSTouch, Squeezebox plugin, iTach IP/WF2IR & GC-100-6 with UltraGCIR, BLDenon, NetcamStudio, Jon00s Webpage builder, Harmony Hub plugin, SCSIP (with FreePBX), Arduino plugin, IFTTT, Pushalot plugin, Device History plugin.
Running on Windows 10 (64) virtualized
on ESXi (Fujitsu Primergy TX150 S8).
WinSeer (for Win10) - TextSeer - FitbitSeer - HSPI_MoskusSample

Are you Norwegian (or Scandinavian) and getting started with HomeSeer? Read the "HomeSeer School"!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 15th, 2012, 12:49 PM
upstatemike's Avatar
upstatemike upstatemike is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: upstate
Posts: 284
Not sure what all you want to do with PBX integration but there is a lot that can be done without a dedicated plugin. I have a Panasonic PBX which passes caller ID from all lines to a single analog port where way2call can see it. This is also the connection that permits both paging and dialing outside calls.

Because is is an analog system I was able to put loop detect relays on the audio pair to each extension. This tells me when a given extension is off-hook and lets Homeseer mute the Sonos music player for that room.

It is also easy detect when the doorbell rings or the mail comes and have HS page all phones in the house, including the PA extension, to say which door it is etc.

I'm not sure what additional functionality you would get with a serial interface and some of this stuff would actually be harder to do with a digital or VOIP system.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 25th, 2012, 04:21 AM
Bestgear's Avatar
Bestgear Bestgear is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sunny Scotland
Posts: 1,536
I wrote some simple scripts several years ago to connect my BT Inspiration pabx using the SMDR interface.

I only implemented simple call logging and some status devices etc but believe more can be done.

An a more modern switch would be nice but at a cost and I found that most of the protocols were not publically available... which may have changed now however.

David
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 25th, 2012, 12:07 PM
reidfo's Avatar
reidfo reidfo is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Near Galveston, TX
Posts: 1,342
If you don't have anything installed now, definitely go the IP PBX route. There are many free or nearly free PBXs out there based on Asterisk, SIPx, and others. Some for Linux, some for Windows. Make sure it's SIP based, and you'll be able to integrate HomeSeer much easier (see Stipus' SIP plugin). On-hook/off-hook and other events will be much easier to get into HS also with an IP PBX.

I've been in the telecom field for many years, and have installed analog, digital, and IP PBXs, and tried to integrate all. Trust me on the IP part.
__________________
HS Pro 3.0 | Linux Ubuntu 16.04 x64 virtualized under Proxmox (KVM)
Hardware: Z-NET - W800 Serial - Digi PortServer TS/8 and TS/16 serial to Ethernet - Insteon PLM - RFXCOM - X10 Wireless
Plugins: HSTouch iOS and Android, RFXCOM, BlueIris, BLLock, BLDSC, BLRF, Insteon PLM (MNSandler), Device History, Ecobee, BLRing, Kodi, UltraWeatherWU3
Second home: Zee S2 with Z-Wave, CT101 Z-Wave Thermostat, Aeotec Z-Wave microswitches, HSM200 occupancy sensor, Ecolink Z-Wave door sensors, STI Driveway Monitor interfaced to Zee S2 GPIO pins.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old August 25th, 2012, 02:10 PM
Bestgear's Avatar
Bestgear Bestgear is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sunny Scotland
Posts: 1,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by reidfo View Post

I've been in the telecom field for many years, and have installed analog, digital, and IP PBXs, and tried to integrate all. Trust me on the IP part.

Totally agree... but the cost of the cards to support POTS around the house (I have 16 extensions) so would cost £££ against the price or a used pabx - and replacing existing handsets with IP devices is again £££ - in a domestic install.

The other thing is that I dont really want another PC running 24/7 to support asterix (or whatever) and there is zero chance of any virtualisation software supporting the cards.

I will move to something like asterix or I might win some cisco kit at some point(!), but given its basic telephony I need at home, what I have is excellent and great value.

What price could I get 16-20 analogue ports for these days?

David
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old August 25th, 2012, 03:01 PM
reidfo's Avatar
reidfo reidfo is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Near Galveston, TX
Posts: 1,342
You don't have to go with POTS cards; in fact I recommend avoiding them. You can get cheap SIP FXO gateways to connect your POTS lines. Linksys and others have them. For the extensions, you can either purchase IP phones (many low cost options out there) or use an FXS gateway to convert SIP to analog extensions.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old November 26th, 2012, 10:59 AM
Pervez2602's Avatar
Pervez2602 Pervez2602 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Posts: 287
Hi all, Just found this thread and thought I would throw my 3 ha'pence worth in. I have installed at home a meridian norstar which I had intended to integrate with HomeSeer (it came before homeseer). Sadly as with all proprietary phone systems you are limited by the boundaries of the manufacturers so some functions or facilities you may require may never be available or even if they are available prove to be expensive to implement (new cards, special terminals or devices) our door phone which is a norstar product cost over £200 initially and can only be supplied by B.T. or one of their reseller here in the U.K. if they stock it! How many other goodies could you buy for that amount? A SIP video door phone is not so much more and you get video, so if you are clever enough strike 1 for the IP switch. Along with the functionality issues comes the problem of actually obtaining the programming information; some system information is easier to find some is next to impossible. So for my part I will be looking at an IP solution to replace my norstar. Although I know very little about IP switches I have found PBX In A Flash which I believe is a good starting point for a novice like myself and much easy to install than asterisk for a non linux person. Any comment would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old November 26th, 2012, 03:00 PM
Bestgear's Avatar
Bestgear Bestgear is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sunny Scotland
Posts: 1,536
WOW, that was hard to read - do you speak like that!?!?!?


You can often reverse engineer any switch protocol by watching the serial port conversations... not usually that difficult.

If you want a cheap hybrid (analogue, digital and VOIP) PABX then check out the BT Versatility - they can be had for not much money.

I have just swapped over my Inspiration for a versatility - and I am well happy.

The versatility supports IP trunks and softphones as well as supporting a degree on unified messaging.

Guess what my xmas task is? - make it speak to HS...


David
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old December 5th, 2012, 04:17 PM
Pervez2602's Avatar
Pervez2602 Pervez2602 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Posts: 287
Do I really speak like that?

Hi Bestgear, absolutely not, X London boy made good, know what I mean geezer!
Has anybody had anything to do with PBX In A Flash, just curious.
Peter.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old March 3rd, 2014, 01:11 AM
Ken LaCapria Ken LaCapria is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fort Washington, MD
Posts: 198
I realize the last post here was in 2012, but here is my 2 cents.

Control of a PBX or PABX from Homeseer is going to depend on if the system is capable of being controlled externally. The phone system I have in my house has two ports. One is a programming port and the other is an SMDR port. The data sent to the SMDR port can be captured to a script and do things like mute music in the room that a call was answered in. You could capture the caller ID data and display it on an HSTouch screen.

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old March 4th, 2014, 07:06 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 15,146
Here goofing around some I've installed Asterisk on one of the touchscreens and a softphone on another running Linux.

The one's that I use have microphones and it worked fine. It would make for a nice little intercom (as a introduction of sorts).

I am pushing these devices a bit running HSTouch, XBMC (streaming live TV) and yesterday tried Squeezelite. I don't have a variety right now of any TTS speech fonts such that Squeezelite does offer the feature of speaker proxy. I can stream live TV to 720 but not 1080. That said the device also has a mini pcie slot and I have installed a Broadcom Crystal HD card in one such that I can stream 1080 live TV on it and it does work.

The touchscreens have built in telephony using DECT. The original OS was made by Avaya and the DECT phones pair up right away running the cloud based Ayava OS. I cannot at this time talk to the DECT phones running Ubuntu 12.10 though. Next pieces is that I have sort of settled on using Grandstream IP HD cams. The one's that I am playing with all have SIP. There was the intent of using video for these touchscreens as they were sold as videotelephony hubs and the attachment for the little camera is on all of these. I have not seen a camera though. It is only a USB camera though as I have checked out the wiring / cables to the inside of the device.

This is sort of a tangent but integrating or using Homeseer with Asterisk would be nice feature add on.
__________________
- Pete

Automator

HS3 Pro & Lite Edition Beta 3.0.0.435

HS3 Wintel Touch | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins | Speech - Microsoft SAPI - Neospeech - Amazon Echo | Hardware | Haswell Intel iSeries 3 - 16Gb | Pine64 - 2Gb computers | Openpeak Intel Atom SoC tabletop touchscreens (15 HS tabletop tablets) | Touchscreens - Windows embedded POE connected |Light switches - X10,UPB, ZWave and Zigbee | Firewall - PFSense - 2 WAN plus 4 LAN interfaces | Network - Gb managed switches / POE WAP(s) | CCTV - Zoneminder IPHD cams - variety | Audio - Russound - AB8SS | Security - Leviton HAI Omni Pro 2 | Weather - Davis Vantage Vue - MeteoStick - WeeWx | 1-Wire - AAG, Midon and HB | OWFS - Mosquitto - Node Red - Python - RPi Stretch - OpenWRT
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC