www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler)

Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) Discussions related to Mark Sandler's 3rd parth plug-in for controlling Insteon devices via Smarthome's PLM interfaces (the 2412 & 2413 series controllers)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 15th, 2018, 11:28 PM
dmcentire dmcentire is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Redwood City CA
Posts: 78
Insteon remote - on/off vs. ramp up/down

I'm just getting started on Insteon and I've noticed that the Insteon 8 button remote wasn't always triggering my events.

I've turned off the toggle feature so every button push in a green LED and an ON signal for that button (I toggle lights on my own in HS3).

But sometimes the buttons don't seem to work and looking in the log I see why -- instead of an ON trigger, it's sending a "Ramp Up" trigger.

I realize now that holding the button longer than -X- milliseconds seems to start a ramp trigger instead of just an ON trigger.

Is there a way to adjust / disable the ramp feature on the remotes?

Alternatively, I have to look for ramp up events as well in all my events to catch button presses that were just held a bit too long.

I did notice the LED blinks red instead of green for a ramp event.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 16th, 2018, 09:25 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is online now
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,484
Dennis,

this behavior is typical for all insteon devices/btns. A quick press is on or off, a press and hold is a ramp up or ramp down, and a quick double tap is a fast on or fast off (which is a 100% On at less than 1 sec, or a similar off)

each of these has its own trigger.

the timing of button presses and led colors is not user configurable.
__________________
Mark

HS3 Pro 3.0.0.368
Hardware: Insteon Serial PLM | Vista Alarm 20P with AD2USB | HAI Omnistat2 | 1-Wire HA7E | RFXrec433 | Dahua Cameras | LiftMaster Internet Gateway
Plugins: Insteon 3.0.6.23 (mine) | Vista Alarm (mine) | Omnistat 3 (by Kirby) | Ultra1Wire | RFXCOM | NetCAM | MyQ | BLRadar | Jon00 Charting
Platform: HP h8-1360t, Windows Server 2012 R2, i7-3.4GHz, 16GB memory
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insteon on at ramp rate not working Jon Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 7 October 29th, 2016 09:22 AM
Insteon Ramp rate problem joegr Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 23 January 15th, 2014 01:41 PM
No Ramp Rates from HomeSeer to Insteon gjtherk@comcast.net Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 10 October 14th, 2011 07:00 PM
Keypadlinc affecting ramp to dim in Insteon Group Chris Couture Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 10 October 2nd, 2011 03:17 PM
How does one set the remote on/ramp levels for HS? jonjonbear Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 5 May 22nd, 2008 02:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC