New To HomeSeer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New To HomeSeer

I am new to HomeSeer and I am trying to decide between Software (installed on a dedicated i5 computer) vs. S6 Troller. Any comments would be greatly appreciated. Sorry for such a BASIC question.

I run mine on a rack server with massive ram and storage. WAY WAY overkill, but I use the same server for many things. Just simpler to me.

You can HS on almost anything, it really has very little overhead. My first installation ran on a fanless box for months with about 2gb of memory and worked fine for months... All depends on what else you want to do with the same machine.

If I was to do it over I would probably use an Intel NUC box, couple hundred, fanless and fast.

Comment

Here run HS3 Pro on an iSeries / 16Gb of RAM using a LAMP server plus virtual box configuration. HS3 Pro runs in native Linux where as Windows things run in virtual boxes.
      I am using a PicoPSU and a standard laptop brick with it; works fine.

The Zee-Lite boxes are on smaller machines with 2Gb of RAM; one being ARM based and the other is AMD based. IE: Pine64 / Xi5a mini's.

All of the hardware remains on the racks here today except for the remote Z-Wave device which is POE connected in the attic (and does a small 1-wire network). The Raritan 16 port KVM is still utilized today but I rarely sit by the rack as all managment these days is via the network or web gui. Only one of 3-4 NAS boxes has an interface (command line terminal) that I can see with a video monitor.

It really depends on how much you want to do with Homeseer. You can start out with lite hardware then over time update.
      - Pete

Auto mator
      Homeseer 3 Pro - 3.0.0.548 (Linux) - Ubuntu 18.04/W7e 64 bit Intel Haswell CPU 16Gb
      Homeseer Zee2 (Lite) - 3.0.0.548 (Linux) - Ubuntu 18.04/W7e - CherryTrail x5-Z8350 BeeLink 4Gb BT3 Pro
      HS4 Lite - Ubuntu 22.04 / Lenovo Tiny M900 / 32Gb Ram