Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Using Multiple Kinects with events/global variables

Spud,

Wanted to know how you handle the different instances (multiple kinects) using events.

I have installed 2 kinects, 1 on HS computer and 1 on remote.

This creates 2 instance and 2 global variable pools. I am setting up events for "A Phrase Was Recognized" and have to choose which kinect to run event. I am scripting all the actions using global variables so I dont have to have a ton of events (IE.. Turn <Office|Dining|Pool|Spa|Kitchen> Lights <On|Off>. Which means I have to use the correct global variable for that instance. (kinectofficevar0 or kinectvar0)

So my quesition is what is the best way to handle multipl kinects without having to create an event for each kinect to run the same event?

I am new to HS and still tring to get my feet wet, but this is a great plugin, works 10X better than HS Speak for voice recognition, I look forward to all the cool things I can do now. Also I use your DirecTV plugin - keep up the great work and let me know anytime you need a tester for products as I can code/create scripts and push the plugins to help find issues

Thanks,
    Steven G

Thanks for the kind words!

If you want multiple kinects to recognize the same phrase you can't avoid duplicating the triggers, but you can do it inside the same event. So for the trigger part of the event you would have something like:
    Code:
    IF Kinect Trigger
        Trigger Type = A phrase was recognized
        Phrase =  Turn <Office|Dining|Pool|Spa|Kitchen> Lights <On|Off>

OR IF Kinect Trigger - Office
        Trigger Type = A phrase was recognized
        Phrase =  Turn <Office|Dining|Pool|Spa|Kitchen> Lights <On|Off>
    For the action part of the event, inside your script you have to test both global var instances as well:

Code:
    If KinectVar0 = "Pool" Or KinectOfficeVar0 = "Pool" Then