www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Thermostat / HVAC Plug-ins > Thermostat / HVAC Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 11th, 2018, 04:31 PM
tome10 tome10 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: AR
Posts: 513
Trane Zwave

I found the Trane 524, and the 624. Anybody know the difference between them. I donít think either has battery backup. Not sure if thatís important, as I hardly ever lose power. Anybody know anything about them? The question that nags me, is how to ignore the internal temp sensor? I assume you can.?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 11th, 2018, 11:28 PM
tome10 tome10 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: AR
Posts: 513
I think the 624 is WIFI.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 12th, 2018, 08:02 AM
langenet's Avatar
langenet langenet is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,524
no... 624 is z-wave but has the humidity child/display device and I think supports an external sensor. - it's been a while since I installed mine.
Works great with HS3

Robert
__________________
HS3PRO 3.0.0.318 as a Fire Daemon service, Windows 2016 Server Std Intel Core i5 PC HTPC Slim SFF 4GB, 120GB SSD drive, WLG800, RFXCom, TI103,NetCam, UltraNetcam3, BLBackup, CurrentCost 3P Rain8Net, MCsSprinker, HSTouch, Ademco Security plugin/AD2USB, various Oregon Scientific temp/humidity sensors, Z-Net, Zsmoke, Aeron Labs micro switches, Amazon Echo Dot, WS+, WD+ ... on and on.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 12th, 2018, 11:55 PM
tome10 tome10 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: AR
Posts: 513
ok, thanks for the info!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 14th, 2018, 10:59 AM
519zwave's Avatar
519zwave 519zwave is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: SW Ontario, Canada
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by tome10 View Post
I found the Trane 524, and the 624. Anybody know the difference between them. I donít think either has battery backup. Not sure if thatís important, as I hardly ever lose power. Anybody know anything about them? The question that nags me, is how to ignore the internal temp sensor? I assume you can.?
No battery backup in my 624 - Communicates well with all my zwave - BUT it is not a modulating thermostat.
Does have accessory option for remote temperature or humidifier.
__________________
Jim
----
Plugins:Z Wave 3.0.1.55, HS3 Pro 3.0.0.208, HS3Touch, HS3Touch IOS, Z-Net, SceneMaster, XBMC, Sonos, Media Controller, Envisalink (52 Virtual nodes), JowiHue, EasyTrigger, Liftmaster MyQ, BLBackup, BLLAN, BLRadar, Pushover

Devices:Cooper RF9540, Cooper Scene, Yale Locks, Sonos, Phillips Hue and Lux, DSC, Somfy Blinds
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 14th, 2018, 12:07 PM
S-F's Avatar
S-F S-F is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Goobertown AR 72450
Posts: 2,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by 519zwave View Post
BUT it is not a modulating thermostat.

I don't think that there is any Z-Wave thermostat that can work with inverters. I myself am stuck controlling my heat pumps manually. Fortunately I only use them for AC and I live in a heating dominated climate so it doesn't drive me up the wall not being able to automate them.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by rprade View Post
There is no rhyme or reason to the anarchy a defective Z-Wave device can cause
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 14th, 2018, 12:18 PM
tome10 tome10 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: AR
Posts: 513
Modulating Thermostat is what you use for Heat Pumps? I presume.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 15th, 2018, 12:29 PM
tome10 tome10 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: AR
Posts: 513
What does the wiring look like on a modulating tstat? I searched a little, but couldnít find any wiring diagrams.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 15th, 2018, 12:32 PM
519zwave's Avatar
519zwave 519zwave is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: SW Ontario, Canada
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by tome10 View Post
Modulating Thermostat is what you use for Heat Pumps? I presume.
Or for an actual modulating furnace. But trane's modulating stat won't be a wave slave - it wants to be the controller
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 15th, 2018, 06:51 PM
tome10 tome10 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: AR
Posts: 513
Iím still trying to figure out if my Lennox system with its tstat communicating to a Lennox Control Board (serial bus) and that is connected to the Carrier furnace and Lennox Condensor via normal wiring isnít actually doing some sort of Modulatung unbeknownst to a couple of HVAC people Iíve had look at it for tstat changeout feasability study. Supposedly I have dual stage heat and single stage cool, nothing fancy. Thereís lots of circuits on that Lennox board to not be doing anything fancy. So, how do you know if you have a modulatung system?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 15th, 2018, 07:10 PM
519zwave's Avatar
519zwave 519zwave is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: SW Ontario, Canada
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by tome10 View Post
Iím still trying to figure out if my Lennox system with its tstat communicating to a Lennox Control Board (serial bus) and that is connected to the Carrier furnace and Lennox Condensor via normal wiring isnít actually doing some sort of Modulatung unbeknownst to a couple of HVAC people Iíve had look at it for tstat changeout feasability study. Supposedly I have dual stage heat and single stage cool, nothing fancy. Thereís lots of circuits on that Lennox board to not be doing anything fancy. So, how do you know if you have a modulatung system?
Dual stage is 2 stages - modulating constantly ramps as needed. DC motors appear to modulate as they do take time to come up to speed though....
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 15th, 2018, 07:51 PM
S-F's Avatar
S-F S-F is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Goobertown AR 72450
Posts: 2,938
Usually modulating blowers are DC as it's easier to control the speed of a DC motor. The furnace can fire at different levels as well. Many heat pumps these days use "inverter" compressors, which are basically just DC compressors where the speed can be easily controlled with high resolution. The next step down the rung in the efficiency ladder of HVAC gear is a multi stage system that can usually run at high or low depending on factors such as the delta between the called for and ambient temperatures, the outside temperature and so on. Where I am many people heat their houses with hot water. The temperature of the water can be controlled by a thermostat that's placed outside, in the shade on the north of the building. For hot water that's all you need and it can easily be retrofitted to older equipment. For a furnace, especially one where the air handler also provides AC, it's much more complicated as you have a blower speed to control. Here personally I heat with hot water, as it's the most cost effective and even heat, and cool with minisplit heat pumps that have inverter compressors. This is the solution I usually recommend in my climate for the average house. The houses that I build or retrofit need so little heating and cooling that I usually just install one or maybe two minisplits for everything as they are tight and insulated to the hilt.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ETA for Zwave (Thermostat Trane) Plugin pdixon HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 12 August 5th, 2015 10:55 AM
Programmatically set the time on Trane ZWave thermostat regm Thermostat / HVAC Discussion 2 October 30th, 2012 11:54 AM
Trane TZEMT400 Gerard Clients - Apple iPhone/iPod/iPad 0 October 28th, 2012 10:19 PM
Error Message from TRANE Zwave Thermostat marlinman4 ZWave 2 December 18th, 2011 10:56 AM
Trane Tstat zwave problem Ricky HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 12 August 30th, 2009 03:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC