Temp sensor instead of thermostats

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Temp sensor instead of thermostats

I am planning the construction of a new home. I plan to have approximately 5 to 6 zones with automatic dampers. Will homeseer and elk be able to control the temps in the different zones with temp sensors and 1 thermostat or will I have to purchase 1 thermostat per zone?

I'm no HVAC expert but I would think you would only need one HS-compatible thermostat that would act as master. Temp sensor feedback could then be transmitted to HS and events used to control dampers. The key is that you do not want too many of the dampers to close and cause problems to your unit.

I was thinking of opting for booster fans instead because these would not cause pressure issues but they would use more electricity and tend to be noisy. I am going to try one this fall and see how it goes.
    Jim Doolittle

My Twitter
    My Hardware & Software

Comment

Ocelot/Leopard

I use an ADI Leopard/Secu16/Secu16i for all HVAC control . . . no 'thermostat' at all . . .

I have five zones of hydro-radiant heat and a single zone A/C system. I have at least one temp sensor in each room wired to a Secu16i, a Secu16 trips relays in a 'standard' (TACO, I think) pump controller (to avoid issuses w/ inspector mostly) to run the zone pumps, and the A/C is directly controlled by the Secu16

C-MAx runs a 'no-frills' thermostat program, with setbacks triggerd via homeseer changing a Leopard variable . . .

I have a very reliable, stand alone system . . . and it's easily controlled via homeseer . . .

Pete C

Comment

Thanks for the information.

Comment

Question about your SECU16I

I'm quite new to using x10 for zone HVAC, but so far I like your solution the best, I think. I do have a few questions, however:

1. does the SECU16I send x10 "commands" (in your case, temperature derived from analogue sensors) to Homeseer via the TW523?