www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Telephone,Text and Email Plug-ins > Telephone,Text and Email Integration Discussion > SMS Gateway (3P)

SMS Gateway (3P) Discussions related to the SMS Gateway third party plugin.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 27th, 2015, 04:52 AM
peterford peterford is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 58
Help with modem choice

I am a bit out of my depth on GSM modems, but would like a recommendation for a GSM modem for use in the UK with HS3 which will simply let me send and receive SMS messages and also monitor signal strength.

I am hoping for model recommendations, not that it must be a certain chipset or use a certain command set since this is not helping me find a modem at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 27th, 2015, 06:40 AM
beerygaz's Avatar
beerygaz beerygaz is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 1,581
Peter look on EBay for the Wavecom Q2303A device. It uses the 900 & 1800 MHZ frequency which supports the UK carriers.
__________________
Author of Highpeak Plugins
SMS-Gateway Plugin
Blue Iris Plugin
Paradox (Beta) Plugin
Modbus Plugin
Yamaha Plugin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 27th, 2015, 09:36 AM
peterford peterford is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 58
Many thanks for your reply - much appreciated.

I am hoping the USB version will work with your plugin, in particular have seen this on ebay:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-GSM-Mo...-/321736806447

Will this be OK with your plugin, thanks in advance,

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 27th, 2015, 10:07 AM
beerygaz's Avatar
beerygaz beerygaz is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 1,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterford View Post
Many thanks for your reply - much appreciated.

I am hoping the USB version will work with your plugin, in particular have seen this on ebay:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-GSM-Mo...-/321736806447

Will this be OK with your plugin, thanks in advance,

Peter
Yup - that will work.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 27th, 2015, 04:45 PM
peterford peterford is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 58
Thanks for your help, now bought the modem - next challenge is getting it all to work on HS3 and your plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 6th, 2015, 04:48 PM
olof2006 olof2006 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 33
Hello Beerygaz,

I´m very interested in your plugin. Do I understand correctly that if I get a Wavecom Q2303A modem, everything should work fine? Not sure if this modem will work in Holland, but in any case it´s not available over here.

The other one I read about in this forum is the TP link MA260. The reviews, however, are decididly mixed:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-LINK-MA26...=tp+link+ma260

Thanks in advance for any suggestions
Olof
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 7th, 2015, 06:10 AM
beerygaz's Avatar
beerygaz beerygaz is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 1,581
I'd be wary of the TP Link device, many USB-stick devices create a network adapter, not a serial modem. Look for any device that supports SMS and talks of an "AT" command set.

An old Nokia or Siemens phone that creates a COMx Serial port would work. I use a gateway from 2N http://www.2n.cz/en/products/gsm-gat...log/smartgate/

This device works well too:
http://www.ozeki.hu/index.php?ow_page_number=767
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 7th, 2015, 07:33 AM
olof2006 olof2006 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 33
Thanks for your quick reply and valuable information on modems.

The 2 modems you mentioned use rs232 as their connection. As I´m not an expert, just wondering if I can get a reliable-robust USB-RS232 converter. That area is full of potential errors, see for example this very interesting article: http://www.lammertbies.nl/comm/info/...sb.htmlhttp://

My HS server is a laptop which only has usb, hdmi, vga and ethernet ports....

[edit] I found this supplier of (what looks like) good quality USB-RS232 converters. No idea of the price though
http://www.usconverters.com/index.ph...d=62&chapter=0
[end edit]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old August 7th, 2015, 08:40 AM
beerygaz's Avatar
beerygaz beerygaz is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 1,581
A USB to serial converter works well. I use a cheap no-name on and it's fine. If you need distance the a serial to Ethernet device from Lantronix or Global Cache also works well and means the modem does not need to be mounted right next to the laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old August 8th, 2015, 01:26 AM
olof2006 olof2006 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by beerygaz View Post
A USB to serial converter works well. I use a cheap no-name on and it's fine. If you need distance the a serial to Ethernet device from Lantronix or Global Cache also works well and means the modem does not need to be mounted right next to the laptop.
Good, thank you!

I will get one of those 2 modems you use/suggested and will post an update here.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old August 15th, 2015, 06:48 AM
peterford peterford is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 58
Further to my initial queries, bought the unit mentioned earlier (namely : http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-GSM-Mo...-/321736806447) works fine on Windows 7 and plugin works great too - impressed on how easy it is to send and receive SMSs and run events from them.

BUT .... unit will not work under windows 8 or windows 10, Prolifics site says they do not support the PL-2302 XA /HXA chip that this unit has, any way to get it to work under Windows 10 if not another modem that will under this os?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old August 15th, 2015, 06:55 AM
beerygaz's Avatar
beerygaz beerygaz is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 1,581
Not that I know of. HS3 isn't supported on that platform either so I'm afraid you're going to be on your own. Any of the older RS232 modems should work though as they don't need USB drivers native to the OS.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old August 15th, 2015, 09:59 AM
peterford peterford is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 58
Managed to find driver that worked, so modem now connected ok in Windows 10. HS3 has been working well for 2 weeks now on Windows 10, and SMS plugin is also now working fine, so next step is to purchase full version.

One question though, and this happens in Windows 7 and Windows 10, if the PC is reset the first time HS3 is run I get the following error:

Aug-15 15:00:25 SMS-Gateway Error Error connecting: MessagingToolkit.Core.GatewayException: COM port is invalid at MessagingToolkit.Core.Mobile.MobileGatewayFactory.Find() at MessagingToolkit.Core.MessageGateway`2.Find(C config) at HSPI_SMSGW.plugin.InitSMS()

Irrespective of the above error the plugin works fine.

If HS3 is closed and then restarted : no error is logged.

All com ports etc are showing ok in device manager prior to running.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old January 25th, 2016, 04:40 PM
Simonk Simonk is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Stevenage, UK
Posts: 661
DO you know if the USB dongle at the link below will work with your plugin?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Hot-HSDPA-...QAAOSwl9BWIMsQ

Thanks
Simon
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old January 25th, 2016, 11:40 PM
beerygaz's Avatar
beerygaz beerygaz is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 1,581
It may work. I can't see the chipset that it is based on nor a manual or mention of support for the 'AT' command set. If it creates a regular com port and supports 'AT' commands then it will work. Without further information I cannot confirm it though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC choice to use TeleFragger Personal Computers 2 August 15th, 2014 07:00 PM
Given a choice, HSPRO or PRO-100? Extreme-Z HomeSeer General Discussion Area 8 November 16th, 2012 05:09 PM
Modem Of Choice? GreenAcres YACSeer Plug-in 10 October 16th, 2007 10:06 AM
Your choice for release schedule Oman W800 RF Receiver (3P) 12 August 21st, 2005 05:04 AM
almost made my choice fungun HomeSeer General Discussion Area 6 April 21st, 2005 01:24 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC