how to control heated floors with high latency

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

how to control heated floors with high latency

I heat my home with hot water in the floors, I'm not sure how common this is outside Scandinavia, but there you go. The system works like normal radiators, but the water goes in plastic pipes in the floors. I've recently upgraded my dumb controller with a Z-wave based Danfoss HC 10 and I'm now starting to fine tune the heating.
    I'm currently using the system with normal thermostats, opening and closing the valves as needed. However, my wooden floors react slowly to temp changes, it takes 2 hours to increase 1 degree Celsius. So when the set point is reached, the heat will still increase in the room and increase beyond the set point.

How can I translate this into a variable I can use in programming my system? I'm not a programmer so all input is appreciated

Just a thought, but you may want to use Fahrenheit as you will have finer control of the temperature (1* C = approximately 34* F). Then set the swing on your thermostat to 1/2* or 1*.
    Last edited by Rvtravlr; December 28, 2017, 01:23 PM.
    Michael

Comment

It sounds complicated. Is the water temp variable? Sounds like you would need to keep the floor a constant temp, and then vent air if the air temp gets too warm.

Comment

hmm, yeah, not sure it will do much.

Comment

Originally posted by Rvtravlr View Post
          Just a thought, but you may want to use Fahrenheit as you will have finer control of the temperature (1* C = approximately 34* F). Then set the swing on your thermostat to 1/2* or 1*.

Comment

Originally posted by HAorso33 View Post
            I heat my home with hot water in the floors, I'm not sure how common this is outside Scandinavia, but there you go.
            I have a similar setup, and you are correct, it is not common in the US.