No announcement yet.

Planning new IP(PoE) Exterior Remotely Monitored Camera System-Help Requested

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Planning new IP(PoE) Exterior Remotely Monitored Camera System-Help Requested

Folks:
    I am new to HomeSeer Forums. In final building phase of new home. I have pre-wired for PoE IP Camera System of 8 IP cameras to monitor exterior and general grounds of home. I will have 2 (parallel) runs of CAT6 from Equipment Hub to each IP camera location. I need to hopefully benefit from your experiences. My priorities here are;
    1. reliability
    2. performance
    3. price

Not sure if I need to be too concerned with camera audio? I will not be able to devote much time to real-time video monitoring but when and if I need to go back to search through pre-recorded video, I don't want to waste a lot of time locating what I need to assess and address problems but also don't want to archive hours and hours of uneventful video. I will have 1 long driveway about 250 to 300 ft long leading up to house where I will have relatively slow moving vehicles whose license plate data I would like to capture, just in case?

Your suggestions? Thanks in advance for your assistance.

The camera audio is digital and it becomes part of the network stream.

I used the 2nd cat XX wires for analog to panel sensors (cameras). BUT catxx inside of the alarm panel is a bit too much with my preference to using 22/4 or 22/2 cables.

For the GDO's put little documented 8 wire terminal strips next to the GDOs (for door switches and wired control of the GDO)

Here with a shorter driveway used fore and aft and inside garage IP cameras.

Lenses were all 28 mm mostly outside. With 5 MP or more you can read the license plates just fine.