www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Energy Management Plug-ins > Energy Management Discussion > APCUPSD Plugin (3P)

APCUPSD Plugin (3P) Discussions related to the APCUPSD UPS monitoring plugin.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old May 7th, 2015, 08:01 PM
pcp pcp is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 1,701
Thanks. Regarding the charts, I assume you set the history setting for the ups to a positive value, let's say one hundred. Try to refresh the browser page as well (I.e force a reload) just in case.

Do you get an error in the hs3 log? Does the ups page appear fine otherwise (with status information and status)?

If you enable debug and verbose debug mode in the plugin and post the resulting log I might be able to find something. When collecting the log let it collect some points (log longer then some update interval) and also access the ups page with chart.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old May 8th, 2015, 04:49 PM
mo046 mo046 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NL
Posts: 29
Yes, I did all that, history = 100.

Furthermore, the event list in the events page shows "END APC : 2015-05-08 22:41:58 +0100" on every update (with current timestamp).

Log: see attached log.txt

Status:
Code:
Property    UPS 1
UPS Name    Mars
Host    localhost
Port    3551
Connected    True
Hostname    Mars
Model    Smart-UPS 1000
Mode    Stand Alone
Nominal Power    
Nominal Input Voltage    
Nominal Battery Voltage    24.0 Volts
Status    ONLINE
Status Flags    ONLINE PLUGGED BATT
Line Voltage    228.9 Volts
Low Line Voltage    223.2 Volts
High Line Voltage    237.6 Volts
Load    25.3 %
Low Load    21.4 %
High Load    26.0 %
Battery Charge    100.0 %
Low Battery Charge    100.0 %
High Battery Charge    100.0 %
Battery Voltage    27.5 Volts
Battery Change    5 Percent
Time Left    00:41:00
Minimum Time    3 Minutes
Maximum Time    0 Seconds
Sense    High
Low Transition    208.0 Volts
High Transition    253.0 Volts
Last Transfer    Low line voltage
Last on Battery    
Last off Battery    N/A
Time on Battery    0 Seconds
Nb of Transfer    0
Total Time on Battery    0 Seconds
Battery Date    2002-04-09
Battery Chemistry    
Manufacturer    APC
Manufacturing Date    2002-04-09
Serial No    AS0215230622
Firmware    600.1.I USB FW:1.3
Model    
Release    
Driver    apcupsd 3.14.13 (02 February 2015) mingw
Self Test    NO
Start Time    2015/05/07 12:38:56
Last Updated    2015/05/08 22:45:32
Attached Files
File Type: txt Log.txt (114.9 KB, 5 views)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old May 10th, 2015, 06:05 PM
pcp pcp is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 1,701
The log does not indicate that anything is wrong. I don't know why the chart would not be displayed. Are you using the latest version? Do you have javascript disabled and can you try a different browser? Can you post the html ups page that should display the chart? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old May 12th, 2015, 05:52 PM
mo046 mo046 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NL
Posts: 29
OK, I'm using Firefox 37.0.2 (32 bit) on Windows 8.1 64-bit, and the graph is not showing. The htm page is attached. Latest Java version is installed. Any hints to where I have to check whether Javascript is disabled. I had no problems with running Java Script on website before.

Running IE v11 on the same system, the graph is showing!
Attached Files
File Type: zip apcupsd_ups.zip (12.4 KB, 10 views)
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old May 12th, 2015, 06:12 PM
pcp pcp is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 1,701
I looked at the zip file and the datapoints for chart are in the html. This must be a browser configuration issue especially with IE working. I am using Firefox as well and working fine. Check if cookies are disabled or some other add-ons that can block javascript (in html), images, etc..
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old May 13th, 2015, 06:03 PM
mo046 mo046 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NL
Posts: 29
Thanks. I have looked into Firefox, couldn't find any settring yet that blocks the script. Good to know that your Firefox installation works without problems.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old August 28th, 2015, 12:06 PM
LikeAutomation LikeAutomation is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 27
Low Battery Charge Trigger

Is this variable the battery voltage or a percent of the charge? Installed today and so far it seems to be working.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old August 28th, 2015, 12:17 PM
pcp pcp is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 1,701
There is a device for the percentage charge and another for the batterie voltage. If you connect to nut server instead of an acpupsd server, they might not be reported as it depends on the nut setup. You can use the devices to trigger or alternatively the HS2 event trigger (which is in percent).

Last edited by pcp; August 28th, 2015 at 01:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old November 18th, 2015, 12:51 AM
jeffj35290 jeffj35290 is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: US
Posts: 4
I used the APCUPSD plugin on my home HS3 to understand how to set it up for use with the HS3 that I have running at my cabin. This past weekend I moved the APC UPS to my cabin, set up the APCUPSD plugin and purchased it.

My question is: how do I delete the APCUPSD plugin on my home system now that I no longer need it there? Unlike other plugins it does not have a delete option next to it when I to the "Plug-Ins -> Manage" page
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old November 18th, 2015, 01:39 AM
sparkman's Avatar
sparkman sparkman is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 6,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffj35290 View Post
I used the APCUPSD plugin on my home HS3 to understand how to set it up for use with the HS3 that I have running at my cabin. This past weekend I moved the APC UPS to my cabin, set up the APCUPSD plugin and purchased it.

My question is: how do I delete the APCUPSD plugin on my home system now that I no longer need it there? Unlike other plugins it does not have a delete option next to it when I to the "Plug-Ins -> Manage" page
There's an issue with deleting multi-instance plugins so you have to manually delete the files. This includes HSPI_APCUPSD.exe and HSPI_APCUPSD.exe.config in the root of the hs direcory, the ini file in the config directory and some files in the html folder. If you check the apcupsd folder inside the updates3 folder, you can see all the files it installs.

Cheers
Al
__________________
HS3Pro 3.0.0.318 on Jetway JBC501F9Q-Q87-B i7 8GB 1874 Devices, 955 Events, 28 Plugins
Z-Wave 3.0.1.131 Z-Net 105 nodes:Leviton Vizia,Kwikset,FortrezZ Valve/Sensors,Everspring Sensors/Modules/Outlets,CT30 Stats,MIMOLites,Aeotec Smart Switches
RFXCom W800,RFXrec433,RFXtrx433|APCUPSD|Pushover|Squeezebox|weatherXML|HS Phone W2C|APCUPSD|UltraLog
UltraGCIR GC-100|UltraNetcam|UltraPioneer|Ultra1Wire|DSC PC1832|BLLED|BLTVGuide|ImperiHome|jon00 Utilities|MySensors

PHLocation|X10 CM11A IOLinc,etc
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old January 23rd, 2016, 08:12 PM
chapmangeo chapmangeo is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Various icons are not correctly named / Incorrect directories

Ubuntu LINUX / HomeSeer HS3 .208 / APCUPSD 3.2.0.0
Virtually all of the icons referenced by the devices built by this plugin are either incorrectly named, reference nonexistent directories, or have capitalization issues, which of course on Linux means an incorrect file name.

Here's a list of the soft links I created to resolve the issue pending a correction in the distribution media:

lrwxrwxrwx root/homeseer 0 2016-01-23 17:57 ./images/apcupsd/battery_25.png -> battery_25percent.png
lrwxrwxrwx root/homeseer 0 2016-01-23 17:57 ./images/apcupsd/battery_0.png -> battery_10percent.png
lrwxrwxrwx root/homeseer 0 2016-01-23 17:57 ./images/apcupsd/battery_50.png -> battery_40percent.png
lrwxrwxrwx root/homeseer 0 2016-01-23 17:57 ./images/apcupsd/battery_75.png -> battery_80percent.png
lrwxrwxrwx root/homeseer 0 2016-01-23 17:54 ./images/apcupsd/status -> .
lrwxrwxrwx root/homeseer 0 2016-01-23 17:56 ./images/apcupsd/battery_100.png -> battery_100percent.png
lrwxrwxrwx root/homeseer 0 2016-01-23 18:00 ./images/apcupsd/stopwatch_on.png -> Stopwatch.png
lrwxrwxrwx root/homeseer 0 2016-01-23 17:53 ./Images -> images

Not a major issue - I can live with the soft links forever. And it's a great plugin, functionally does what I expect it to.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old January 23rd, 2016, 10:09 PM
pcp pcp is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 1,701
I never adapted, tested nor claimed any support on unix/linux. It is only supported on windows. This includes the softlinks that are created during installation which uses windows specific commands.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old January 24th, 2016, 10:51 PM
chapmangeo chapmangeo is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 16
It works fine on HS3/Ubuntu 12&14/USB/Several BackUPS models; the only issue I have is a recurring once-a-poll method (cast) error on a BackUPS ES725. I've done two test installs and a production install, three environments total. I did have to download apcupsd-3.14.13 and compile it rather than running the stock Unbuntu distro, but that's not you, it's the daemon.

I write shared-environment regularly for my day job, the case issue is normal, and of course quickly solved. Thanks for making the plugin available.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old March 14th, 2016, 11:24 PM
bobpak bobpak is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lisle, IL
Posts: 13
Availability of APCUPSD Plugin for Homeseer

Is the subject plugin still available? I cannot find it under Energy Management plugins.


Thanks,
Bob
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old March 15th, 2016, 06:59 AM
pcp pcp is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 1,701
Yes it is (Windows only) and is still in the updater. I actually send an updated version as a replacement this weekend.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old July 25th, 2016, 09:35 PM
sesykes71 sesykes71 is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Victor, NY., USA
Posts: 83
Icons used in apcupsd

I have installed apcupsd on my raspberry pi HS3 server. It is running fine and I have two other raspberry pi's with ups reporting into it.
It seems to run fine, except for the icons. My installation didn't seem to get the .png files. How do I get them? I understand I will have to make the links to make them show up.

Thanks,
Steve


Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmangeo View Post
Ubuntu LINUX / HomeSeer HS3 .208 / APCUPSD 3.2.0.0
Virtually all of the icons referenced by the devices built by this plugin are either incorrectly named, reference nonexistent directories, or have capitalization issues, which of course on Linux means an incorrect file name.

Here's a list of the soft links I created to resolve the issue pending a correction in the distribution media:

lrwxrwxrwx root/homeseer 0 2016-01-23 17:57 ./images/apcupsd/battery_25.png -> battery_25percent.png
lrwxrwxrwx root/homeseer 0 2016-01-23 17:57 ./images/apcupsd/battery_0.png -> battery_10percent.png
lrwxrwxrwx root/homeseer 0 2016-01-23 17:57 ./images/apcupsd/battery_50.png -> battery_40percent.png
lrwxrwxrwx root/homeseer 0 2016-01-23 17:57 ./images/apcupsd/battery_75.png -> battery_80percent.png
lrwxrwxrwx root/homeseer 0 2016-01-23 17:54 ./images/apcupsd/status -> .
lrwxrwxrwx root/homeseer 0 2016-01-23 17:56 ./images/apcupsd/battery_100.png -> battery_100percent.png
lrwxrwxrwx root/homeseer 0 2016-01-23 18:00 ./images/apcupsd/stopwatch_on.png -> Stopwatch.png
lrwxrwxrwx root/homeseer 0 2016-01-23 17:53 ./Images -> images

Not a major issue - I can live with the soft links forever. And it's a great plugin, functionally does what I expect it to.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old July 26th, 2016, 07:51 AM
pcp pcp is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 1,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by sesykes71 View Post
I have installed apcupsd on my raspberry pi HS3 server. It is running fine and I have two other raspberry pi's with ups reporting into it.
It seems to run fine, except for the icons. My installation didn't seem to get the .png files. How do I get them? I understand I will have to make the links to make them show up.

Thanks,
Steve


Which OS are you using on the pi? The plugin has only been tested on Windows. Icon links are created at startup / installation running a script to create the links.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old July 26th, 2016, 12:06 PM
sesykes71 sesykes71 is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Victor, NY., USA
Posts: 83
They are running Raspbian, the pi Debian. I did have to download the latest apcupsd program 3.14.14 from sourceforge and compile it. The version that installs from debian is 3.14.10m which doesn't work as well.
No changes were needed, your plugin worked right away except for the icons. I am quite sure I will be buying the license. I have a way of monitoring the ups already but integrating it into HomeSeer is much nicer.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old July 28th, 2016, 07:25 PM
sesykes71 sesykes71 is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Victor, NY., USA
Posts: 83
Icons

Would it be possible to get a zipfile with the icons used in the plugin? I could manually install them in the Pi then.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old July 29th, 2016, 07:39 AM
pcp pcp is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 1,701
The icons are included in the installation and are installed in the apcupsd directory in the HTML image directory (don't have the exact path handy). There is a directory per HS3 ui theme, and the active hs3 (contemporary or classic). The status directory in the HTML/images/apcupsd contains the active icons based on the theme and (symbolic) links to the ones in the contemporary or classic directory (or hs3 default images in some cases). There is a windows bat script in the contemporary and classic directories that builds these links. The plugin is officially only supported on Windows, hence why there is only a script for all this for Windows. Look at these directories for the icons.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plug-in support on Linux (Plug-in authors please read!) rjh HS3 Plug-In Development 40 December 29th, 2017 11:30 AM
ACPUPSD Plug-in for HS2 pcp Script & Plug-In Library 10 May 31st, 2015 03:18 PM
Compare/contrast ACRF(2) plug-in and RFXCOM plug-in? NeverDie ACRF Processor (3P) 1 November 12th, 2013 11:18 AM
Insteon PLM Plug-in is moving to a licensed plug-in mnsandler Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 19 September 22nd, 2010 09:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC