5 Linux Driver limitation on Pi3 questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

5 Linux Driver limitation on Pi3 questions

Hey all you lovely people. It's been quite some time since I've been on here. That said, I've been running HS1 and HS2 for several years on a PC. I'm leaning towards the idea of migrating to a Pi3 running HS3 to avoid issues that come along with running a full pc with moving parts.

My concern is, I have SEVERAL plugins though there seems to be a note mentioning that the Pi3 can only run 5 'consecutive' drivers.

---NOTE: Supports Your Choice of Up to 5 Linux Plug-ins (Drivers) including Z-Wave, Insteon, X10 and more!-----

Does this mean I can only have 5 HS plugins installed or only 5 running at once at any given time? Does this refer to only hardware based plugins?

I have a few media plugins, Elk, Insteon, MCSprinklers, Shopping List, etc etc.

Will I be able to make the migration?

Can someone please explain to me in a little more detail the 5 plugin limitation? Does every 'plugin' consist of a 'driver' or are there 'driverless' plugins?

Thank you all in advance!

PI3 and RS232 Edgeport support

Follow up question:

Can the edgeport/8s be used with the Pi3? I have 2 HACS speaker switches controlled via USB - RS232 and would like to continue on doing so.

Comment

Welcome to the Homeseer forum amblix auto!!!

My concern is, I have SEVERAL plugins though there seems to be a note mentioning that the Pi3 can only run 5 'consecutive' drivers.

It is Homeseer lite that is limited to 5 plugins. Homeseer Standard / Pro does not have these limitations.

Homeseer Lite started life out as a propietary build of Homeseer on the original RPi and it was the first version of Homeseer to run on Linux.

Later Homeseer ported Homeseer Standard and Pro to run in Linux.

That said the new updated Homeseer has integrated Homeseer touch server to main Homeseer program.

Will I be able to make the migration?