www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer General Discussion Area

HomeSeer General Discussion Area General discussion about HomeSeer that does not fall into any other category or are not specific to 1.x or 2.x versions of HomeSeer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 21st, 2018, 02:11 PM
jsyers jsyers is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 111
Alexa Triggering Events - Solved!

Hello People,

Has anyone created an Alexa skill that triggers an EVENT? Here’s my problem: “Alexa: Trigger the garage door” opens or closes my garage door via IFTTT but if the garage door is stopped, to vent the garage during summer, you have to issue multiple commands to fully open it. However with an event and a little logic a single or multiple commands can be issued. Plus you could change the INTENT (I think) to “Alexa: Open the Garage Door”.

Joseph
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 21st, 2018, 02:20 PM
chrisfraser05 chrisfraser05 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: scotland
Posts: 29
I've not experimented with this fully yet myself but first thoughts would be use a virtual device to trigger from Alexa
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 21st, 2018, 02:23 PM
cheeryfool's Avatar
cheeryfool cheeryfool is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisfraser05 View Post
I've not experimented with this fully yet myself but first thoughts would be use a virtual device to trigger from Alexa


Search for Jon00’s Alexa helper. It’s very flexible and adds much to the existing basic support for running events from Alexa.
__________________
cheeryfool
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 21st, 2018, 02:26 PM
rprade's Avatar
rprade rprade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsyers View Post
Hello People,

Has anyone created an Alexa skill that triggers an EVENT? Here’s my problem: “Alexa: Trigger the garage door” opens or closes my garage door via IFTTT but if the garage door is stopped, to vent the garage during summer, you have to issue multiple commands to fully open it. However with an event and a little logic a single or multiple commands can be issued. Plus you could change the INTENT (I think) to “Alexa: Open the Garage Door”.

Joseph
HS Events that are enabled for Voice Command will show as "Scenes" under "Smart Home" in the Echo app. You can create a "Routine" in the Alexa app to run the Event you choose. Routines can use any verbiage you wish after the "Alexa" attention word. There is no need for a Virtual Device. Events run as a "Scene" from Echo do not observe Conditions. If you need Conditions in your Event you will need an intermediate Event to launch it using "Run only if other event conditions are true".

Name:  Image-1 (002).jpg
Views: 63
Size:  34.6 KB

Name:  Image-1 (004).jpg
Views: 54
Size:  20.5 KB

Name:  Image-1 (003).jpg
Views: 60
Size:  28.3 KB

Name:  Capture.PNG
Views: 62
Size:  10.3 KB
__________________
Randy Prade
Aurora, CO
Prades.net

PHLocation - Pushover - EasyTrigger - UltraECM3 - Ultra1Wire3 - Arduino

Last edited by rprade; June 21st, 2018 at 03:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 21st, 2018, 03:17 PM
jsyers jsyers is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by rprade View Post
HS Events that are enabled for Voice Command will show as "Scenes" under "Smart Home" in the Echo app. You can create a "Routine" in the Alexa app to run the Event you choose. Routines can use any verbiage you wish after the "Alexa" attention word. There is no need for a Virtual Device. Events run as a "Scene" from Echo do not observe Conditions. If you need Conditions in your Event you will need an intermediate Event to launch it using "Run only if other event conditions are true".

Attachment 69461

Attachment 69462

Attachment 69460
rprade,

Where does the "Voice Command" line come from? My events are void of this command line textbox...

Joseph
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 21st, 2018, 03:38 PM
jsyers jsyers is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 111
rprade,

Never mind, just updated hs3... By the way, THANKS!

Joseph
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Triggering EVENTS with Alexa WAR HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API 19 April 3rd, 2018 08:53 AM
All HS3 devices are unresponsive to Alexa - Solved! MarkHargrove HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API 6 November 4th, 2017 02:35 PM
Why Won't Alexa see my Z-wave Lock - Solved! rsisson HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 2 March 21st, 2017 02:51 PM
Alexa device offline - Solved! jetkit Alexa (3P) 4 January 18th, 2017 09:08 PM
Ideas to prevent unauthorized users from triggering certain events with Alexa jono HomeSeer Amazon Echo Skill 2 January 12th, 2017 11:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC