Connect Homeseer to a BMS Control via Modbus

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Connect Homeseer to a BMS Control via Modbus

Hi all this is my first Homeseer entry so be gentle...

I am a BMS Technician trying to interface Homeseer via Modbus with the brand of controls that we mostly use at work.
    These are the Mach-Pro series from Reliable Controls Canada which I don't suppose many of you will ever see but the setup process would be common to most Modbus devices. The MP controls can easily be set as either Master (Client) or Slave (Server) on either Modbus RTU or Modbus TCP). At first I had issues getting it to work but after a while I began to get the hang of it and thought I'd share.

It's best to test connectivity between the Homeseer hardware box and the Modbus Slave device before running the application (Homeseer).
    I first made an RS485 serial connection with a good quality but standard USB-RS485 interface (Aztronics Aust S9721). It shows up in Windows Device manager as an FTDI serial port. I prefer the type that has a 2 wire RS485 screwed connection as you can only get it wrong once when wiring it. Different manufactures use A or B interchangeably for +ve so you need to trial and error it (should also be able to measure approx 5V with a multimeter). Network wiring and termination is very important when finally installed but if the two devices are side by side any 2 core flex will work at 19200 and for the moment.

To test, open a Modbus scanner (I use a small, simple and ancient program called OmniScan but its a little hard to find now).