www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer General Discussion Area > Migrating to HomeSeer (From Another System)

Migrating to HomeSeer (From Another System) Are you migrating from another system to HomeSeer? Use this forum to connect with others who've done the same thing!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 11th, 2018, 09:36 AM
WhitW WhitW is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 49
Migrating from Smartthings

After the outage in early March, i decided I wanted to switch to a non-cloud based home automation system. I initially looked at OpenHAB, but the integration with Caseta system looked problematic. I then switched to Home Assistant and spent a couple of weeks working with it. While I believe HA will one day be a formidable platform, itís still in an early alpha stage from. My perspective, and I wanted something more mature (re: reliable). Thatís what brought me to HS3

Iím still in the process of converting over. I finally got a RaspBee gateway setup to handle my ST zigbee devices, so I should be ready to start getting events setup, as well as figuring out how best to transition. My wife really likes the ST interface, so I have a challenge ahead of me.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 11th, 2018, 09:44 AM
ServiceXp's Avatar
ServiceXp ServiceXp is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 838
Welcome to the group.
__________________
RJ_Make On YouTube
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 11th, 2018, 10:16 AM
jeubanks's Avatar
jeubanks jeubanks is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 881
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhitW View Post
After the outage in early March, i decided I wanted to switch to a non-cloud based home automation system. I initially looked at OpenHAB, but the integration with Caseta system looked problematic. I then switched to Home Assistant and spent a couple of weeks working with it. While I believe HA will one day be a formidable platform, itís still in an early alpha stage from. My perspective, and I wanted something more mature (re: reliable). Thatís what brought me to HS3

Iím still in the process of converting over. I finally got a RaspBee gateway setup to handle my ST zigbee devices, so I should be ready to start getting events setup, as well as figuring out how best to transition. My wife really likes the ST interface, so I have a challenge ahead of me.
Welcome aboard. I've traveled the SmartThings path as well. I'm still evaluating HS3 but so far I like it more than others and I've tried a bunch. SmartThings, Home Assistant, OpenHAB2, Vera (previous system).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WD200+ Smartthings webCoRE Userid HomeSeer Wall Dimmers & Switches 2 February 15th, 2018 02:59 PM
SmartThings integration gashuffer HS-MS100+ Motion Sensor 1 January 10th, 2018 11:15 PM
SmartThings hub not detecting WD100+ Mako HomeSeer Wall Dimmers & Switches 5 October 9th, 2017 06:50 PM
Run Command like SmartThings? ramshaklez HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API 3 April 4th, 2016 12:27 AM
Run Command like SmartThings? ramshaklez HomeSeer Amazon Echo Skill 2 April 2nd, 2016 12:55 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC