www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer General Discussion Area > Migrating to HomeSeer (From Another System)

Migrating to HomeSeer (From Another System) Are you migrating from another system to HomeSeer? Use this forum to connect with others who've done the same thing!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 31st, 2018, 12:27 PM
panda2297 panda2297 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Fl
Posts: 18
Running Multiple HomeSeer Raspberry Pi Units in the House

I been doing some testing here with HS3 Pro running on a Raspberry Pi3. I got to say that I am very impressed with the performance. Basically what I am doing is slowly decommissioning my old Mac server and running all my needed functions on multiple Raspberry Pis. This leads to HomeSeer running on a Raspberry Pi3.

I did the recommended install of using Jessie Lite and using Mono to install HS3 Pro on my Raspberry Pi3. It all works well and I am really pleased with the boot up performance. Since I received HS3 Pro, the only plugin I ever really dabbled with was Zwave. That's what I primarily use HomeSeer for Zwave and Alexa Integration. I'm thinking about maybe more plugins down the road. I know that there isn't a 5 plugin limit for HS3 Pro Linux like the Raspberry Pi Image. However, I have read that you really shouldn't go over 5 plugins, due to the limitations of the Raspberry Pi.

This leads me to a new question. Is it technically possible to add another HS3 Raspberry Pi and the two HS3 devices can "talk" to each other? I know that I would need another license and that is no problem for me. The RPI3 images are not too bad in price. My main objective would be for the second unit to see the first unit's zwave devices (or even virtual switches) and the plugins on the second unit can take advantage of the first devices.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 27th, 2018, 11:02 AM
avpman avpman is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by panda2297 View Post
I been doing some testing here with HS3 Pro running on a Raspberry Pi3. I got to say that I am very impressed with the performance. Basically what I am doing is slowly decommissioning my old Mac server and running all my needed functions on multiple Raspberry Pis. This leads to HomeSeer running on a Raspberry Pi3.

I did the recommended install of using Jessie Lite and using Mono to install HS3 Pro on my Raspberry Pi3. It all works well and I am really pleased with the boot up performance. Since I received HS3 Pro, the only plugin I ever really dabbled with was Zwave. That's what I primarily use HomeSeer for Zwave and Alexa Integration. I'm thinking about maybe more plugins down the road. I know that there isn't a 5 plugin limit for HS3 Pro Linux like the Raspberry Pi Image. However, I have read that you really shouldn't go over 5 plugins, due to the limitations of the Raspberry Pi.

This leads me to a new question. Is it technically possible to add another HS3 Raspberry Pi and the two HS3 devices can "talk" to each other? I know that I would need another license and that is no problem for me. The RPI3 images are not too bad in price. My main objective would be for the second unit to see the first unit's zwave devices (or even virtual switches) and the plugins on the second unit can take advantage of the first devices.

Bump
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 27th, 2018, 06:56 PM
jeubanks's Avatar
jeubanks jeubanks is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 864
Quote:
Originally Posted by panda2297 View Post
My main objective would be for the second unit to see the first unit's zwave devices (or even virtual switches) and the plugins on the second unit can take advantage of the first devices.
I suppose I'm confused on this part of the question. Can you explain a little more? I'm not understanding the use/scenario here.

If however the question is can another rPi be used to extend the z-wave mesh to have more devices on another side of the house then the answer is yes. That's what z-net was made for or you can roll your own.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 27th, 2018, 10:31 PM
Bill Brower's Avatar
Bill Brower Bill Brower is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 3,132
Try this:
https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=162718

I believe it can link HS3s.
__________________


~Bill
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 27th, 2018, 10:57 PM
jeubanks's Avatar
jeubanks jeubanks is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 864
Quote:
Originally Posted by panda2297 View Post
I been doing some testing here with HS3 Pro running on a Raspberry Pi3. I got to say that I am very impressed with the performance. Basically what I am doing is slowly decommissioning my old Mac server and running all my needed functions on multiple Raspberry Pis. This leads to HomeSeer running on a Raspberry Pi3.

I did the recommended install of using Jessie Lite and using Mono to install HS3 Pro on my Raspberry Pi3. It all works well and I am really pleased with the boot up performance. Since I received HS3 Pro, the only plugin I ever really dabbled with was Zwave. That's what I primarily use HomeSeer for Zwave and Alexa Integration. I'm thinking about maybe more plugins down the road. I know that there isn't a 5 plugin limit for HS3 Pro Linux like the Raspberry Pi Image. However, I have read that you really shouldn't go over 5 plugins, due to the limitations of the Raspberry Pi.

This leads me to a new question. Is it technically possible to add another HS3 Raspberry Pi and the two HS3 devices can "talk" to each other? I know that I would need another license and that is no problem for me. The RPI3 images are not too bad in price. My main objective would be for the second unit to see the first unit's zwave devices (or even virtual switches) and the plugins on the second unit can take advantage of the first devices.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Brower View Post
Try this:
https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=162718

I believe it can link HS3s.
Ok simple answer. Yes it can be done. But I'm wondering on use case because doing a link connection for MOST situations is not needed and may be more work than necessary if not needed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running HStouch on a Raspberry Pi (3) Moskus HS3Touch™ 32 June 18th, 2018 09:42 PM
Running HStouch on a Raspberry Pi (3) Moskus HSTouch™ 10 December 19th, 2017 12:32 AM
multiple xap 800 units ArbWare BLAudioMatrix (3P) 9 January 23rd, 2017 04:05 PM
Raspberry Pi + Squuezebox + Speaker Client for Whole House Audio shane94 Audio / Video and Infra-red (IR) Discussion 66 February 24th, 2015 05:16 PM
All Units (house code) / Smart Group ? Dtperk HomeSeer General Discussion Area 2 October 27th, 2005 07:23 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC