www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer General Discussion Area > Migrating to HomeSeer (From Another System)

Migrating to HomeSeer (From Another System) Are you migrating from another system to HomeSeer? Use this forum to connect with others who've done the same thing!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old November 17th, 2016, 10:26 AM
Tomgru Tomgru is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Washington State
Posts: 443
Here is the one thing I miss...

this HS forum website is awful slow. :-)

reload times are crazy, and just pegs my processors if left up for awhile. Tried it both on IE11 and Chrome.

Is this just me, or are there crazy scripts etc running that are bogging this down?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old November 17th, 2016, 10:39 AM
sirmeili sirmeili is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 1,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomgru View Post
Here is the one thing I miss...

this HS forum website is awful slow. :-)

reload times are crazy, and just pegs my processors if left up for awhile. Tried it both on IE11 and Chrome.

Is this just me, or are there crazy scripts etc running that are bogging this down?
I don't seem to have this problem, but I don't keep the same tab open. I check for new posts periodically and read them, then close the tab. I have a shortcut that takes me to the "newest" threads from the past 2 days:

http://board.homeseer.com/search.php?do=getdaily&days=2
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old November 17th, 2016, 10:46 AM
gd1210's Avatar
gd1210 gd1210 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 417
Richard done the best with what was available. Everything pleg does is done out of the box in hs3.

Pleg was the straw that made me through Vera in the bin.
I'm a controls engineer and found it too frustrating and cumbersome. Then either pleg or a random firmware update bricked the Vera meaning a factory reset.
Having ran hs3 for nearly a year I've only ever had a problems that were caused by dicking about. Even a hardware failure on my first raspberry pi didn't stop hs running.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old November 17th, 2016, 10:55 AM
Uncle Michael's Avatar
Uncle Michael Uncle Michael is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 5,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomgru View Post
this HS forum website is awful slow. :-)
reload times are crazy, and just pegs my processors if left up for awhile. Tried it both on IE11 and Chrome.
Is this just me, or are there crazy scripts etc running that are bogging this down?
There are times when I cannot reach the forum at all, but aside from the DOS attach a few weeks ago, that usually resolves in a few hours. Once I'm on, though, I find the site to be reasonably quick to load and easy to navigate.

I assume you do not have similar performance issues with other sites???
__________________
Mike____________________________________________________________ __________________
HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.318

HW: Stargate | NX8e | CAV6.6 | Squeezebox | PCS | WGL 800RF, Rain8Net+ | RFXCOM | QSE100D | Vantage Pro | Green-Eye | X10:
Compose, XTB-232, -IIR | Edgeport/8 | Way2Call | Ecobee3

Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old November 17th, 2016, 11:16 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,155
Here have upgraded / testing my original Zee-2 (HS3 Lite) to

- Pine64 2Gb RTC running Ubuntu 64 bit server



- Xi5a 2Gb AMD dual core running Ubuntu 64 bit server



Both of the above do well with HS3 Zee-2 software.

I have repurposed the original Zee-2 (with Z-Wave GPIO / PiFace RTC) to a remote Z-Wave device (similiar to ZNet but not).

Relating to HS3 Pro using an Intel iSeries CPU / 16Gb of memory running Ubuntu 64 bit and it is doing fine these days.

Forum seems fine today ...been bugging T-Mobile about ping times lately. Use Firefox as a browser on Wintel, Linux and Android.



Interesting blurb about closest T-Mobile server..

The name of the town was an unintentional misspelling by the U.S. Postal Service in 1882 of the city's intended name, taken from Arad Thompson, the son of the town founder and first postmaster Stephen Tuttle Thompson. Two other names for the town were sent to the Postal Service for consideration: "Ink" and "Bird". It has frequently been noted on lists of unusual place names.
__________________
- Pete

Automator

HS3 Pro & Lite
Edition Beta 3.0.0.383 | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins


Last edited by Pete; November 17th, 2016 at 11:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old November 18th, 2016, 10:11 AM
EarlyMorningHours's Avatar
EarlyMorningHours EarlyMorningHours is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 11
I just ended my abusive relationship with Vera as well. As another had mentioned, I miss Vera Alerts. I'm having a difficult time coming up with and planning some sort of strategy for notifications. I was generating a LOT of notifications in Vera Alerts, with different color coding, alert tones, etc. Besides typical HA type things, I have my 95 year old grandmother living with us and more recently, a month old daughter.

Other than that, I'm kicking myself in the pants for not having made this move a long time ago. Took me about a day (seriously) to get fully acclimated to the HS3 way of doing things and I've been having a blast tinkering around again.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old November 18th, 2016, 10:23 AM
cheeryfool's Avatar
cheeryfool cheeryfool is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarlyMorningHours View Post
I just ended my abusive relationship with Vera as well. As another had mentioned, I miss Vera Alerts. I'm having a difficult time coming up with and planning some sort of strategy for notifications. I was generating a LOT of notifications in Vera Alerts, with different color coding, alert tones, etc. Besides typical HA type things, I have my 95 year old grandmother living with us and more recently, a month old daughter.



Other than that, I'm kicking myself in the pants for not having made this move a long time ago. Took me about a day (seriously) to get fully acclimated to the HS3 way of doing things and I've been having a blast tinkering around again.


Welcome David

I think you will find that the Pushover plugin from MrHappy will more than cover any alerting needs that you have.

http://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=163974

It has a very significant following with many long term and new HomeSeer users.

Cheers
James.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
cheeryfool
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old November 18th, 2016, 10:31 AM
sirmeili sirmeili is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 1,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarlyMorningHours View Post
I just ended my abusive relationship with Vera as well. As another had mentioned, I miss Vera Alerts. I'm having a difficult time coming up with and planning some sort of strategy for notifications. I was generating a LOT of notifications in Vera Alerts, with different color coding, alert tones, etc. Besides typical HA type things, I have my 95 year old grandmother living with us and more recently, a month old daughter.

Other than that, I'm kicking myself in the pants for not having made this move a long time ago. Took me about a day (seriously) to get fully acclimated to the HS3 way of doing things and I've been having a blast tinkering around again.
Also, if I'm not mistaken, at some point Richard made it so that you could potentially call VeraAlerts from a non-vera system. What I miss most is the custom sounds and tts. Pushover kinda limits you to their sounds and I'm not a huge fan of that, though I deal with it.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old November 18th, 2016, 11:10 AM
Tomgru Tomgru is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Washington State
Posts: 443
I only use Vera alerts for a few things... namely garage door open ... and if vera reboots. I'll happily forgo hearing that last sound :-)
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old November 18th, 2016, 11:37 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,155
Here used to use much TTS alerts / texting / email messages for just about everything (late 1990's-early 2000's). I have brought it down a bit due to WAF and changed inside of the house to chimes and visuals plus on demand status stuff. IE: after hours outdoor sensors went from TTS to chimes...one if by land two if by sea kind of stuff....touch screen pop ups (night stand ones) have been reduced a bit as I over did it some.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old November 18th, 2016, 11:44 AM
sirmeili sirmeili is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 1,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
Here used to use much TTS alerts / texting / email messages for just about everything (late 1990's-early 2000's). I have brought it down a bit due to WAF and changed inside of the house to chimes and visuals plus on demand status stuff. IE: after hours outdoor sensors went from TTS to chimes...one if by land two if by sea kind of stuff....touch screen pop ups (night stand ones) have been reduced a bit as I over did it some.
I get the WAF thing. As much as I think it's cool to have the hosue welcome me home, or tell me stuff randomly. My wife and kids think it is crazy and annoying...LOL

So I don't do as much TTS as I want. When I get the speakers in my office and hooked up to the russound system, I will have it do TTS just for me...cause I'm geeky like that
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old November 18th, 2016, 12:48 PM
NickTheGreat NickTheGreat is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 43
I never had much success getting Veralerts to work and I'm not sure why.

Will look into the Pushover plugin. Sounds like it could work
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old November 18th, 2016, 02:28 PM
S-F's Avatar
S-F S-F is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Goobertown AR 72450
Posts: 2,856
Don't forget Tasker. The Tasker plugin does TTS and sounds.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by rprade View Post
There is no rhyme or reason to the anarchy a defective Z-Wave device can cause
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old November 18th, 2016, 06:17 PM
Kerat Kerat is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Colorado USA
Posts: 626
Vera user - two quick questions to start

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
Here have upgraded / testing my original Zee-2 (HS3 Lite) to

- Pine64 2Gb RTC running Ubuntu 64 bit server



- Xi5a 2Gb AMD dual core running Ubuntu 64 bit server



Both of the above do well with HS3 Zee-2 software.

I have repurposed the original Zee-2 (with Z-Wave GPIO / PiFace RTC) to a remote Z-Wave device (similiar to ZNet but not).

Relating to HS3 Pro using an Intel iSeries CPU / 16Gb of memory running Ubuntu 64 bit and it is doing fine these days.

Forum seems fine today ...been bugging T-Mobile about ping times lately. Use Firefox as a browser on Wintel, Linux and Android.



Interesting blurb about closest T-Mobile server..

The name of the town was an unintentional misspelling by the U.S. Postal Service in 1882 of the city's intended name, taken from Arad Thompson, the son of the town founder and first postmaster Stephen Tuttle Thompson. Two other names for the town were sent to the Postal Service for consideration: "Ink" and "Bird". It has frequently been noted on lists of unusual place names.


Pete,
Man, you have me really considering moving my HS3 standard for Linux server over to a bigger rig from my bitty RPI 3.

My HS3 standard has 57 devices, 44 events running 5 plugins in HS3, and homebridge for Linux on the OS along with a couple other pre-requisite services.

I am at 332 MB used of 972 MB. Between memory used cached and buffers I am running below 75% utilization at 616 MB of 972 MB. That pine64 is pretty sweet Looking with 64 bit native, Ubuntu and 2GB RAM. I am really trying to hold my breath before making a move. I am contemplating my next hardware move and considering making it to a single hardware host for my HS3, unifi wifi controller, and unifi video server (for security cameras) when I purchase them.
I am considering attempting to build it as a VM HOST server so that I don't have to muddle with maintaining compatibility between multiple software vendors on a single OS.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old March 14th, 2017, 08:10 PM
thewizardofoz's Avatar
thewizardofoz thewizardofoz is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
Noob question here. What is PLEG? Is it a Vera thing or something on HS?
Since nobody answered this question. Program Logic Event Generator PLEG
Vera without PLEG was like the Scarecrow......no brain

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirmeili View Post
I actually quite liked a lot about PLEG and I think it mainly stemmed from Richard doing the best with what he had. Without PLEG, the Vera is completely unusable, IMHO.
Amen to that! Richard did some good work. Probably the only reason I stayed with Vera for so long.

It does seem like a grand reunion. I see a lot of the same people from the Vera forum. I am still using the trial for HS3 and just waiting for the sale. Everything in HS3 works with whatever I pair.
As far as Vera alerts, I rely more on text message than email. Will Pushover do text message?
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old March 14th, 2017, 09:30 PM
Tomgru Tomgru is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Washington State
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewizardofoz View Post
As far as Vera alerts, I rely more on text message than email. Will Pushover do text message?
Total reunion!

Personally, i never ended up using Pushover because my needs were pretty simple and can be done from within HS3. I get texts for things like when a garage door is left open for too long. ATT lets you send a text via a mail server, and mail support is built into HS3, so i just use that. works flawlessly.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old March 14th, 2017, 09:44 PM
thewizardofoz's Avatar
thewizardofoz thewizardofoz is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 64
Great Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old March 15th, 2017, 09:43 AM
S-F's Avatar
S-F S-F is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Goobertown AR 72450
Posts: 2,856
PLEG is like all of the loving effort a battered woman puts into a marriage. I guess people use Vera and PLEG because they're "cheap". They're cheap in the same way that Linux is cheap..... If your time is worthless......


You can also use BLGData to send text messages.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old March 15th, 2017, 10:09 AM
sirmeili sirmeili is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 1,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by S-F View Post
You can also use BLGData to send text messages.
I thought this wasn't working anymore? I thought the only part of BLGData that worked currently was the calendar (things may have changed). Last I heard, the API changed on Blade and he hasn't gotten all the parts back to working.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old April 1st, 2017, 12:46 AM
gd1210's Avatar
gd1210 gd1210 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by S-F View Post
PLEG is like all of the loving effort a battered woman puts into a marriage. I guess people use Vera and PLEG because they're "cheap". They're cheap in the same way that Linux is cheap..... If your time is worthless......


You can also use BLGData to send text messages.


Ahhh PLEG

One of the main reasons I dumped Vera
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick-Start Guide errors rmasonjr WFTT07 Tabletop Touchscreen 0 December 16th, 2014 12:26 PM
New convert from Vera with some questions and observations tmobileguy Migrating to HomeSeer (From Another System) 11 February 7th, 2014 06:07 PM
Quick start manual kalis1 Ultra1Wire2 HSPI 1 August 30th, 2011 08:49 PM
Quick Start Guide ? ? pete17c MCS Audrey 2 January 8th, 2005 02:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC