www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Camera Plug-ins > Camera Discussion > HomeSeer NetCam Plug-in

HomeSeer NetCam Plug-in The NetCam plugin provides access to network based cameras.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 7th, 2015, 12:25 AM
bigbrorpi bigbrorpi is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 45
Arlo

Has anyone looked into Netgear's new Arlo offering? The wireless aspect is appealing, but it's a closed architecture right now. Just wondering if anyone had any strong thoughts about it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 22nd, 2015, 07:44 PM
mstukel mstukel is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 108
+1

I am very interested in a wire free option too!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 29th, 2016, 03:58 AM
ScottRennie ScottRennie is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 383
Has anyone looked at this yet?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 6th, 2016, 11:04 AM
ScottRennie ScottRennie is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottRennie View Post
Has anyone looked at this yet?
Installed one Arlo camera this week - very good kit. Small but good quality. Will tie into IFTTT & see what I can do to include HS.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 6th, 2016, 07:52 PM
mstukel mstukel is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 108
ScottRennie - Thank you for the feedback. Does Arlo support IFTTT? I remember checking into this several months back and at that time I thought it was not yet supported. Very interested to hear about your experience!

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 7th, 2016, 07:11 AM
ScottRennie ScottRennie is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by mstukel View Post
ScottRennie - Thank you for the feedback. Does Arlo support IFTTT? I remember checking into this several months back and at that time I thought it was not yet supported. Very interested to hear about your experience!

Thanks again!
Unfortunately, it doesn't have an IFTTT channel yet (I think they are looking at creating one). I tied it to HS by configuring Arlo to send an email on motion to my gmail account then use IFTTT gmail trigger to turn on an HS virtual device. It all works, but it's not real time - there was a 5 minute lag between tripping the motion sensor on the Arlo and the HS device being updated.

I have had a root about, and there's not much going on in the Arlo / IoT / API world but if anyone knows better.......

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 16th, 2016, 07:05 AM
DrZWave's Avatar
DrZWave DrZWave is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NH
Posts: 196
Arlo tied to HS3

I just bought a 2 cam kit with the intention of tying it into my HS3 Zee S2.
I'll post my experiences once I get a chance to see what it can do.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 16th, 2016, 03:00 PM
misraels's Avatar
misraels misraels is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 502
Which cameras from Arlo are you trying to connect? The original wireless cameras are really nice and convenient, but it looks like a really closed system, if you could figure out how to connect those that would be really awesome.

On the other hand, they do have the new wired Arlo Q, that looks more promising to connect, but does need wires.
__________________
HS Install Date: Feb. 16, 2007

HS3 Pro, Z-Wave, Insteon, BLStat, HS Touch Server, MyQ

WeatherXML, BLBackup, BLLAN, BLLock, Restart, CaddX, OpenSprinkler
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 23rd, 2016, 05:44 PM
mittelhauser mittelhauser is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: CA - California
Posts: 25
Arlo has released an IFTTT connector... so hopefully we will see them able to be integrated more deeply fairly soon. Should be able to at least connect them up via IFTTT basic recipes....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 24th, 2016, 03:01 AM
ScottRennie ScottRennie is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by mittelhauser View Post
Arlo has released an IFTTT connector... so hopefully we will see them able to be integrated more deeply fairly soon. Should be able to at least connect them up via IFTTT basic recipes....
Excellent, Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old September 10th, 2017, 02:22 PM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,153
Just installed 5 Arlo cameras and am using IFTTT to arm/disarm but IFTTT is SO slow. I am looking at using the open Python scripts, maybe converting to a plugin. Will post if I get something working. So far the cameras have been working very well. The key to battery life is to disarm when you don't need recording.
__________________
Rich,


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old September 10th, 2017, 04:06 PM
mstukel mstukel is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjh View Post
Just installed 5 Arlo cameras and am using IFTTT to arm/disarm but IFTTT is SO slow. I am looking at using the open Python scripts, maybe converting to a plugin. Will post if I get something working. So far the cameras have been working very well. The key to battery life is to disarm when you don't need recording.
If you are able to get something working and then you are able to share it - that would be fantastic – Thank you!!!

Also – great to hear that the Arlo Cameras are of good quality!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old September 11th, 2017, 12:23 AM
alexbk66 alexbk66 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjh View Post
Just installed 5 Arlo cameras and am using IFTTT to arm/disarm but IFTTT is SO slow.
Are you using IFFT plugin - via Dropbox? Yeah, I gave up on this, it's impossible...

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjh View Post
I am looking at using the open Python scripts, maybe converting to a plugin.
Would be great. As a minimum would be nice to use Arlo for motion detection, instead of using separate sensors. I find Arlo really reliable, shame there's no HS plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old September 11th, 2017, 09:14 AM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,153
Arlo supports IFTTT. So I use the location trigger in IFTTT to detect when I leave my home area then use the Arlo IFTTT channel to arm the cameras. It works most of the time but I would like it to work with multiple phones. To do that I can use a virtual device in HS to be set when BOTH phones are home or away, then arm/disam. IFTTT cannot do that since it does not have conditions, but HS can. I just need HS to be able to arm/disarm directly. I guess I could use an HS trigger in IFTTT when that virtual device changes. I just think it would work better without IFTTT.

Arlo has a geolocation feature, but I can't get that to work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexbk66 View Post
Are you using IFFT plugin - via Dropbox? Yeah, I gave up on this, it's impossible...

Would be great. As a minimum would be nice to use Arlo for motion detection, instead of using separate sensors. I find Arlo really reliable, shame there's no HS plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old September 11th, 2017, 12:18 PM
emiliosic emiliosic is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Wakefield, MA, US
Posts: 27
IFTTT

I'm using IFTTT to trigger HS3 to turn on outdoor lights when one of the Arlo Pro cameras detect motion. This works relatively well, via IFTTT, the delay is reasonable, within about 2 seconds it works like this:
Via IFTTT, turn on a virtual HS3 device, which in turn triggers an event that does this:
- Turns off said virtual device
- Checks if the lights are off, otherwise don't trigger
- Checks if it's day or night. Only triggers at night
- Turns the lights for a set amount of time, turns them off after.
The virtual device is because I can't trigger the event from IFTTT and check for the other conditions as well. Seems like an otherwise unnecessary step.

As per the location service, I use the geolocation function of IFTTT, which triggers a virtual device, one for each family member. Then the 'house mode' (home/away/vacation) is its own virtual device. Through events, the house mode goes away when all devices controlled by IFTTT geolocation are away, and back home when at least one is home.
I do trigger arlos back to Armed when the house is away, but it doesn't always work (geolocation is much more reliable). I think it's because the HS3 integration doesn't always trigger right away. Arlo's integration with IFTTT is more reliable, and IFTTT triggering HS3 works very well.
A workaround could be to use the IFTTT Webhooks integration (used to be called Maker, as per Makezine, but it was renamed to Webhooks). If I can find an easy way for IFTTT to send an API request via a script, it should be a lot more reliable. Unfortunately didn't have enough time to play with HS3 and find how to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old September 11th, 2017, 12:38 PM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,153
Hmm, on Android, I could not get the Gelocation service to work, it triggered randomly, and lots of talk about this issue on the Arlo forum.

As for your virtual device, you don't really need it. For the IFTTT action, have it trigger an HS event. Then have the action of that event run another event and check the options to honor conditions. A little odd and we should probably have an option to honor conditions when an event is manually triggered. But this would simplify things a little for you.

I am currently using Tasker on my phone to do the Geolocation, that works perfectly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by emiliosic View Post
I'm using IFTTT to trigger HS3 to turn on outdoor lights when one of the Arlo Pro cameras detect motion. This works relatively well, via IFTTT, the delay is reasonable, within about 2 seconds it works like this:
Via IFTTT, turn on a virtual HS3 device, which in turn triggers an event that does this:
- Turns off said virtual device
- Checks if the lights are off, otherwise don't trigger
- Checks if it's day or night. Only triggers at night
- Turns the lights for a set amount of time, turns them off after.
The virtual device is because I can't trigger the event from IFTTT and check for the other conditions as well. Seems like an otherwise unnecessary step.

As per the location service, I use the geolocation function of IFTTT, which triggers a virtual device, one for each family member. Then the 'house mode' (home/away/vacation) is its own virtual device. Through events, the house mode goes away when all devices controlled by IFTTT geolocation are away, and back home when at least one is home.
I do trigger arlos back to Armed when the house is away, but it doesn't always work (geolocation is much more reliable). I think it's because the HS3 integration doesn't always trigger right away. Arlo's integration with IFTTT is more reliable, and IFTTT triggering HS3 works very well.
A workaround could be to use the IFTTT Webhooks integration (used to be called Maker, as per Makezine, but it was renamed to Webhooks). If I can find an easy way for IFTTT to send an API request via a script, it should be a lot more reliable. Unfortunately didn't have enough time to play with HS3 and find how to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old September 11th, 2017, 04:26 PM
emiliosic emiliosic is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Wakefield, MA, US
Posts: 27
IFTTT

Thanks for your suggestion about cascading events, it's a bit simpler.

Tasker seems interesting, but it's only for Android. Perhaps IFTTT works better on iOS, at least for geolocation, although it does have glitches occasionally.
How does something like Tasker communicate with HS3?

I'm interested in triggering IFTTT from HS3 using IFTTT's WebHooks. Any suggestion on an HS3 script that would send a REST request?

IFTTT's WebHooks is straightforward (for a REST API):
Make a POST or GET web request to: https://maker.ifttt.com/trigger/{event}/with/key/{my unique key}
With an optional JSON body of:
{ "value1" : "", "value2" : "", "value3" : "" }

It can in turn trigger Arlo actions, show a notification, etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjh View Post
Hmm, on Android, I could not get the Gelocation service to work, it triggered randomly, and lots of talk about this issue on the Arlo forum.

As for your virtual device, you don't really need it. For the IFTTT action, have it trigger an HS event. Then have the action of that event run another event and check the options to honor conditions. A little odd and we should probably have an option to honor conditions when an event is manually triggered. But this would simplify things a little for you.

I am currently using Tasker on my phone to do the Geolocation, that works perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old September 11th, 2017, 04:52 PM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,153
Tasker has the ability to access a URL as an action, so I just use a myhs URL to access my HS system with:

http://connected2.homeseer.com/json?...&password=PASS

For having HS access a url, just use hs.GetURL(...)

Quote:
Originally Posted by emiliosic View Post
Thanks for your suggestion about cascading events, it's a bit simpler.

Tasker seems interesting, but it's only for Android. Perhaps IFTTT works better on iOS, at least for geolocation, although it does have glitches occasionally.
How does something like Tasker communicate with HS3?

I'm interested in triggering IFTTT from HS3 using IFTTT's WebHooks. Any suggestion on an HS3 script that would send a REST request?

IFTTT's WebHooks is straightforward (for a REST API):
Make a POST or GET web request to: https://maker.ifttt.com/trigger/{event}/with/key/{my unique key}
With an optional JSON body of:
{ "value1" : "", "value2" : "", "value3" : "" }

It can in turn trigger Arlo actions, show a notification, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old September 11th, 2017, 10:29 PM
alexbk66 alexbk66 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjh View Post
Tasker has the ability to access a URL as an action, so I just use a myhs URL to access my HS system with:

http://connected2.homeseer.com/json?...&password=PASS

For having HS access a url, just use hs.GetURL(...)
Sounds interesting, but I'm new to HS, can you please provide details what exactly you are doing.
I'm using Tasker for years, love it.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old September 11th, 2017, 10:36 PM
alexbk66 alexbk66 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by emiliosic View Post
I'm using IFTTT to trigger HS3 to turn on outdoor lights when one of the Arlo Pro cameras detect motion. This works relatively well, via IFTTT, the delay is reasonable, within about 2 seconds
I guess it's in US - both Arlo and IFTTT servers are in US as well. Here in Australia it's useless...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC