www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler)

Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) Discussions related to Mark Sandler's 3rd parth plug-in for controlling Insteon devices via Smarthome's PLM interfaces (the 2412 & 2413 series controllers)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 1st, 2018, 10:27 PM
kamishki kamishki is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ne
Posts: 23
PLM stopped connecting

I see a similar thread on this but my situation is a bit different...
PLM has been working find for a few years but today it stopped.

Repeating error in the log is

Port_DataReceived Error: Specified port is not open
What are some troubleshooting steps to perform and can I check to verify that the PLM is still working.


Running full Homeseer on a RPI2

Current Date/Time: 1/1/2018 9:21:07 PM
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Standard Edition 3.0.0.377
Linux version: Linux rpi1 4.1.13-v7+ #826 SMP PREEMPT Fri Nov 13 20:19:03 GMT 2015 armv7l GNU/Linux System Uptime: 0 Days 0 Hours 16 Minutes 1 Second
IP Address: 192.168.x.x
Number of Devices: 101
Number of Events: 65
Available Threads: 399
HSTouch Enabled:True
Event Threads:0
Event Trigger Eval Queue:0
Event Trigger Priority Eval Queue:0
Device Exec Queue:0
Plugin Callback Queue:0
HSTouch Event Queue:0
Email Send Queue:0

Enabled Plug-Ins
2.0.5.0: BLGarbage
2.0.35.0: BLLAN
3.0.1.130: Z-Wave

(Disabled when created this)
3.0.6.0: Insteon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 2nd, 2018, 08:23 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is online now
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,542
please review the following thread

https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=193104
__________________
Mark

HS3 Pro 3.0.0.368
Hardware: Insteon Serial PLM | Vista Alarm 20P with AD2USB | HAI Omnistat2 | 1-Wire HA7E | RFXrec433 | Dahua Cameras | LiftMaster Internet Gateway
Plugins: Insteon 3.0.6.23 (mine) | Vista Alarm (mine) | Omnistat 3 (by Kirby) | Ultra1Wire | RFXCOM | NetCAM | MyQ | BLRadar | Jon00 Charting
Platform: HP h8-1360t, Windows Server 2012 R2, i7-3.4GHz, 16GB memory
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 2nd, 2018, 02:50 PM
kamishki kamishki is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ne
Posts: 23
I have reviewed the thread.
The setup has worked for over a year...never any interference or problem connecting. HS/RPI to USB PLM has been pretty much rock solid. I have powered own the RPI and unplugged the PLM to reset everything and during HS startup it immediately writes the same error to the log till I disable the plugin.

On the RPI if I run lsusb it does see a FTDI USB to Serial Interface (I guess the USB PLM is just a serial one with a USB to serial chip built in)...but HS still can't establish a connection.

Is there a way to reset (besides unplugging) the PLM or to do some other troubleshooting?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 2nd, 2018, 04:07 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is online now
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,542
there are event actions to disable and enable the interface. have you tried these?

there is also a reset interface action, but this only works if the plugin can communicate with the plm.

you could try a manual factory reset and if the plugin can connect, the use the update interface database (from plugin config page) to rewrite the plm database.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 2nd, 2018, 11:25 PM
kamishki kamishki is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ne
Posts: 23
Last option did the trick...did a factory reset, restarted the plug-in and it worked.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 3rd, 2018, 06:22 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is online now
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamishki View Post
Last option did the trick...did a factory reset, restarted the plug-in and it worked.

Thanks
were you able to reprogram the plm as well?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 3rd, 2018, 10:58 AM
kamishki kamishki is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ne
Posts: 23
Yes...it seemed run to completion with no errors. Is this type of thing indicative of a potential future failure or is this something that we can expect from time to time.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 3rd, 2018, 11:21 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is online now
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamishki View Post
Yes...it seemed run to completion with no errors. Is this type of thing indicative of a potential future failure or is this something that we can expect from time to time.
it could be a sign of failure for V1x units.

V2x units are typically more reliable

what hardware version is your PLM? its on a sticker on the unit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 3rd, 2018, 10:52 PM
kamishki kamishki is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ne
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
it could be a sign of failure for V1x units.

V2x units are typically more reliable

what hardware version is your PLM? its on a sticker on the unit

V1B 1318
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 4th, 2018, 10:12 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is online now
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamishki View Post
V1B 1318
yah, keep a log of these failures. it might be an indication that the V1 PLM is failing
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suddenly stopped connecting gdarby stefxx Plug-Ins 9 December 18th, 2017 12:42 PM
Help with connecting chris.atl Caddx 1 June 23rd, 2017 10:39 AM
sorry but its just not connecting again S.Morris BLOnkyo 12 May 27th, 2014 05:56 AM
Connecting to net alireza44907 HomeSeer General Discussion Area 6 November 1st, 2013 01:45 PM
Elk - HS not connecting Madcodger Elk M1 Plug-In 4 January 28th, 2006 07:39 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC