www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler)

Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) Discussions related to Mark Sandler's 3rd parth plug-in for controlling Insteon devices via Smarthome's PLM interfaces (the 2412 & 2413 series controllers)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 28th, 2017, 09:54 PM
MarkHargrove MarkHargrove is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 198
Hub Disconnects Every Few Hours

Mark,

I've been running your Insteon plugin for years with only very minor issues over all that time. Recently, shortly after Insteon dumped new firmware load onto my hub, the plugin will not stay connected for more than a few hours at a time. 'Manage Plugins' says I need to restart HS3 (which fixes the issue about 75% of the time, but only for a few hours). About 25% of the time I have to recycle power on the hub AND restart HomeSeer to fix the issue. In addition, I'm also getting on the order of 100MB/day of "Error Report" logs from the plugin with logging set to 'Normal' level. The only lower level of logging is 'None'.

The hub reports the following config:

INSTEON HUB2 Details
Hub2-V04-20140904
PLM Version:A3
Firmware:1013 Build Dec 18 2017 09:43:02
Insteon ID: xx-xx-xx

The general form of the error that seems to kill the plugin's connection is:

Code:
Insteon Plug-in Error Log Generated 12/28/2017 6:05:16 PM
-----------*Error Message*----------------
Error: Error in Hub.GetBuffer: The request timed out -- Details System.Net.WebException: The request timed out
  at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.EndGetResponse (System.IAsyncResult asyncResult) [0x00049] in <50d80b08c1a5449282b22aedf03ce925>:0
  at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.GetResponse () [0x0000e] in <50d80b08c1a5449282b22aedf03ce925>:0
  at System.Xml.XmlDownloadManager.GetNonFileStream (System.Uri uri, System.Net.ICredentials credentials, System.Net.IWebProxy proxy, System.Net.Cache.RequestCachePolicy cachePolicy) [0x00027] in :0
  at System.Xml.XmlDownloadManager.GetStream (System.Uri uri, System.Net.ICredentials credentials, System.Net.IWebProxy proxy, System.Net.Cache.RequestCachePolicy cachePolicy) [0x00022] in :0
  at System.Xml.XmlUrlResolver.GetEntity (System.Uri absoluteUri, System.String role, System.Type ofObjectToReturn) [0x00032] in :0
  at System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl.FinishInitUriString () [0x0004c] in :0
  at System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl..ctor (System.String uriStr, System.Xml.XmlReaderSettings settings, System.Xml.XmlParserContext context, System.Xml.XmlResolver uriResolver) [0x000c7] in :0
  at System.Xml.XmlReaderSettings.CreateReader (System.String inputUri, System.Xml.XmlParserContext inputContext) [0x0003b] in :0
  at System.Xml.XmlReader.Create (System.String inputUri, System.Xml.XmlReaderSettings settings, System.Xml.XmlParserContext inputContext) [0x0000a] in :0
  at System.Xml.XmlReader.Create (System.String inputUri, System.Xml.XmlReaderSettings settings) [0x00000] in :0
  at Insteon.Support.Hub.SocketPortClass.GetBuffer () [0x00090] in <49c60a66e6bf4117b52caf2667891f5a>:0  -- 12/28/2017 6:05:16 PM
Any thoughts on what might be going on?
__________________
Mark Hargrove
Longmont, CO
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 29th, 2017, 03:54 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,329
Mark

please shutdown the plugin, add the following to your insteon.ini and restart the plugin

Quote:
[Hub]
GetXMLBufferInterval=2000
the default is 1000 msecs
__________________
Mark

HS3 Pro 3.0.0.368
Hardware: Insteon Serial PLM | Vista Alarm 20P with AD2USB | HAI Omnistat2 | 1-Wire HA7E | RFXrec433 | Dahua Cameras | LiftMaster Internet Gateway
Plugins: Insteon 3.0.6.23 (mine) | Vista Alarm (mine) | Omnistat 3 (by Kirby) | Ultra1Wire | RFXCOM | NetCAM | MyQ | BLRadar | Jon00 Charting
Platform: HP h8-1360t, Windows Server 2012 R2, i7-3.4GHz, 16GB memory
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 29th, 2017, 03:59 PM
MarkHargrove MarkHargrove is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 198
Done. I'll monitor and advise.

Thanks for the quick reply!

-M.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 3rd, 2018, 07:03 PM
MarkHargrove MarkHargrove is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 198
After making the 'GetXMLBufferInterval' change, things have been much better. I've not seen any further plugin disconnects.

Thanks!

-M.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 3rd, 2018, 08:41 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkHargrove View Post
After making the 'GetXMLBufferInterval' change, things have been much better. I've not seen any further plugin disconnects.

Thanks!

-M.
thanks for reporting back. Glad things are working better.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 5th, 2018, 12:24 PM
Minneapolis Mark Minneapolis Mark is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 48
How to modify insteon.ini file

I am having similar problems with the insteon hub. I have no idea how to go about either finding the insteon.ini file or programing in the changes. Are there instructions somewhere? Do I use the Linux tool?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 5th, 2018, 12:35 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minneapolis Mark View Post
I am having similar problems with the insteon hub. I have no idea how to go about either finding the insteon.ini file or programing in the changes. Are there instructions somewhere? Do I use the Linux tool?
if are you using a Linux based homeseer appliance, you may not be able to do this

if you can log into Linux, you can edit the insteon.ini with any Linux text editor
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 9th, 2018, 04:48 PM
Minneapolis Mark Minneapolis Mark is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 48
insteon.ini changes

I am using the HomeSeer linux-based appiance. With some help from the forum I can now see and read the insteon.ini file. Whether I can modify it and save the modification is another question.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 9th, 2018, 04:49 PM
Minneapolis Mark Minneapolis Mark is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 48
Beta version

I don't suppose there is a further beta versio of the insteon plug-in for which the 2000 number is the default.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 9th, 2018, 08:44 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minneapolis Mark View Post
I don't suppose there is a further beta versio of the insteon plug-in for which the 2000 number is the default.
i'm considering it based on the number of posts i'm seeing
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 19th, 2018, 06:28 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,329
i posted 3.0.6.25 in the beta section of the updater. please give this a try.

Look for the following msg in the hs log. I'm curious how frequently it gets logged.

Quote:
Trouble reading the Hub. Will try again.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old February 12th, 2018, 10:43 PM
ve3bwp ve3bwp is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Near Toronto Canada
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
i posted 3.0.6.25 in the beta section of the updater. please give this a try.

Look for the following msg in the hs log. I'm curious how frequently it gets logged.
I'm experiencing a similar problem. I has my HS3 Rasp Pi connected to my insteon hub.

Your Device's Firmware 1013
Your Device's PLMFW A3
Your Device's App Version Hub2-V04-20140904
Your Device's Unit Type HUB2

Ive just began setting this up to replace my HS2 on XP. Ive lost inteon connectivity a few times after 4 or so hours. The Plug-in manager shows in yellow text that it can't find the hub. Only seems to come back if I shout down HS3, unplug the hub and restart the HS3/Rpi. The hub seems to run super slow via the iPhone app when its in that state. Is this the same issue and will the beta help that? Help!

I would prefer to get it working via the 2412U but instructions say I need to remove the VCP driver and load an FTCP driver but need to write a script to launch the FTCP on reboot but the instructions don't say how and where to put the script. I wish there was just a 2412C start to finish set of instructions using the cli. I'm assuming there is no gui on the HS3P3 image. Help!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old February 13th, 2018, 05:55 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by ve3bwp View Post
I'm experiencing a similar problem. I has my HS3 Rasp Pi connected to my insteon hub.

Your Device's Firmware 1013
Your Device's PLMFW A3
Your Device's App Version Hub2-V04-20140904
Your Device's Unit Type HUB2

Ive just began setting this up to replace my HS2 on XP. Ive lost inteon connectivity a few times after 4 or so hours. The Plug-in manager shows in yellow text that it can't find the hub. Only seems to come back if I shout down HS3, unplug the hub and restart the HS3/Rpi. The hub seems to run super slow via the iPhone app when its in that state. Is this the same issue and will the beta help that? Help!

I would prefer to get it working via the 2412U but instructions say I need to remove the VCP driver and load an FTCP driver but need to write a script to launch the FTCP on reboot but the instructions don't say how and where to put the script. I wish there was just a 2412C start to finish set of instructions using the cli. I'm assuming there is no gui on the HS3P3 image. Help!
are you running the beta version you referenced in your post? 3.0.6.25? if no, please try it.

if so can you post an hs log snippet of the errors or messages you see when the plugin has trouble.

what interface are you referring to when you say 2412U or 2412C?

i don't know anything about the Rasp Pi. you should be able to get help with that in another forum here.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After 10 min, GEM disconnects brassfly UltraECM HSPI 2 February 17th, 2018 07:52 AM
Seeing A Lot of Disconnects in Log sonypoolplr BLML2HS (3P) 18 March 3rd, 2017 03:28 PM
PI connects then disconnects Stevieboy JowiHue Plug-In 7 February 13th, 2017 09:41 AM
MyHomeSeer Service Disconnects Every Few Hours prnorton MyHS Remote Access Service 16 January 26th, 2017 06:56 PM
Tivo Disconnects mistermike UltraTivo3 HSPI 3 January 23rd, 2017 09:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC