www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > 3rd Party Plug-Ins/Scripts > Plug-ins by Author > Click Here for List of Author Forums > MCS Plug-Ins and Scripts > mcsSprinklers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 5th, 2017, 03:37 PM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 712
install interface problem

mike, having this problem trying to reinstall
Attached Images
 
__________________
HS3 , Zwave, HometrollerS6, ELK M1G Ultra; mcs sprinklers; WGL800; BLRF; BLNetCallerID; BLSpeech
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 5th, 2017, 05:20 PM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 712
same message when i try with MCSS which i have had for years as you know. each time i update HS, your plug in goes down. something with an ini file? i dont recall from last time... frustrating. so i tried to uninstall and add... now I cant get it loaded.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 5th, 2017, 06:01 PM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 712
here is mcss version install also
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 5th, 2017, 07:48 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,097
I have HS3 installed on an old laptop dual core 1.7 GHz running W10. I installed mcsSprinklersB from Updater and enabled it from Plugin page. I had no issues with Interface Status as you showed.

What I have seen in the past is an interface status that shows failure as yours when it takes too long to initialize such as when at a breakpoint during debugging.

Could your situation be that your PC be on the slow side?

With respect to HS3 shutdown the same situation could be happening. mcsSprinklers does through a shutdown procedure when requested by HS. If this takes longer than HS is allowing then HS may shutdown before mcsSprinklers completes and this could leave the .ini/database in an unpredictable state.

During startup mcsSprinklers logs its progress in \HTML\mcsSprinklers\Data\StartupTrace.txt. If you post this file there may be some info that will shed light onto the situation.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 5th, 2017, 07:50 PM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 712
i am on their S6 hometroller... fast and relatively new...
i recall in the past i had problems when updating HS3... something with ini file... any ideas what I can do.,.,., i cant enable the program now.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 5th, 2017, 08:01 PM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 712
take a look at this from HS log
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 5th, 2017, 08:13 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,097
MySQL.data.dll should be in \bin\mcsSprinklers. mcsSprinklersB.exe_config should be in the HS3 root and probing path in this file should include \bin\mcsSprinklers.

Look at MySQL.data.dll properties detail and confirm the 6.2.3.0 version. Confirm there is not another MySQL.data.dll in the HS3 root. If there is then it also needs to be 6.2.3.0.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 6th, 2017, 05:54 PM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 712
mike. here's where we are. i went into HS3. i cant find the files you refer to. i cant get mcs downloaded. here is the log info. shall i erase all MCS files in HS? start clean? is there another way to load directly from you or a site? thanks
Attached Files
File Type: txt mcsstartup.txt (1.3 KB, 3 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 8th, 2017, 09:06 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,097
The dll is attached. It should go in \bin\mcsSprinklers relative to HS3 root. It can also be placed in the HS3 root. My experience is that the search path used is first HS3 root and then if a file of the same name does not exist there it will look in \bin and then look in \bin\mcsSprinklers.
Attached Files
File Type: zip MySql.Data.zip (131.0 KB, 7 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 13th, 2017, 09:39 AM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 712
Thanks Mike. This worked! replaced it in the hs3 root.
good now. tell me, this happens every time there is an HS3 update. anyway we can avoid? thanks again George
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old October 13th, 2017, 02:48 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,097
If HST puts the file they include in their update in the H3 root then then I am not aware of a way to avoid since the root seems to always be the first place .NET searches even though I specify a subdirectory in the .exe.config file. As a note, I do not have this issue when I update to new versions of HS3. I was not aware HS3 used MySQL. Could it be that there is another plugin that uses it and this plugin is the one that is causing the compatibility problems?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old October 13th, 2017, 02:50 PM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 712
good question.
how would i determine that?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old October 13th, 2017, 03:01 PM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,063
HS3 puts the SQL files it uses into the bin folder, not the root folder. If you see the files in the root folder, we need to determine how they are getting there. The HS3 update installer is not putting them there for sure. Maybe there is another plugin that is installing them there? Does this only happen when you update HS3?
__________________
Rich,


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old October 13th, 2017, 03:03 PM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 712
rich i put them in the root folder and thats the only way i could get MCS to re-load. when hs3 was updated my mcs stopped working.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old October 13th, 2017, 03:04 PM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 712
yes ONLY happens when i update hs3.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old October 13th, 2017, 03:06 PM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 712
plug ins are: BLNetCallerID, BLRF, BLSpeech, Ecobee, Random, UltraM1G, Zwave
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old October 13th, 2017, 03:13 PM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,063
The HS3 updater may be removing them from the root folder, which is as expected.

Plugin authors should put the files in their own bin folder, for example:

bin/mcs/files_here

Then include a config file like this:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
	<configuration>
		<runtime>
			<assemblyBinding xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1">
				<probing privatePath="bin/mcs"/>
			</assemblyBinding>
		</runtime>
		<startup>
			<supportedRuntime version="v4.0" sku=".NETFramework,Version=v4.0"/>
		</startup>
	</configuration>
The file needs to be named plugin_file.exe.config

It sounds like Mike is doing that, I post all the info here so he can see the details in case he is doing something differently.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old October 13th, 2017, 03:16 PM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 712
that could be it..., mike... back to you. for now, its still in my HS3 root and operating fine. it does happen every time we update hs3. so thats the clue.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old October 13th, 2017, 05:35 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,097
The HSPI_MCSSPRINKLERSP.exe.config file that is in the updater contains the following which looks to me to be equivalent to what Rich posted. It does include bin and HTML\bin as alternate paths which I suspect are not needed.
Code:
  <runtime>
    <assemblyBinding xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1">
      <probing privatePath="bin\mcsSprinklers;bin;HTML\bin"/>
    </assemblyBinding>
  </runtime>
<startup><supportedRuntime version="v4.0" sku=".NETFramework,Version=v4.0"/></startup></configuration>
The .zip file in the updater contains \bin\mcsSprinklers\MySQL.data.dll so it should be installed in the correct location when the updater is run for mcsSprinklers.

Did you try putting the file I posted in the \bin\mcsSprinklers folder rather than in the root? If this does not work then perhaps editing the line in HSPI_MCSSPRINKLERSP.exe.config to exclude the alternate paths.
Code:
      <probing privatePath="bin\mcsSprinklers"/>
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old October 13th, 2017, 05:55 PM
gfs's Avatar
gfs gfs is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 712
when i put it in bin it didnt work. only in root.
so erase that line
<probing privatePath="bin\mcsSprinklers"/>
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cannot load web interface after install cfzone HS3-Pi Discussion 4 May 22nd, 2017 02:09 PM
3.0.4.2 Install problem field888 Insteon Thermostat (3P) 4 December 10th, 2015 08:59 PM
How do I un-install an interface plug in? bhusselbaugh HS2 / HSPRO 3 January 6th, 2011 09:31 PM
HS2 Install on Win2003 Missing Web Interface scrites HS2 / HSPRO 22 December 8th, 2005 10:34 PM
Can't install Z-Wave Interface vanderland HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 2 December 28th, 2004 11:21 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC