www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Help

HomeSeer Help Help, How-to's and Documentation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 15th, 2017, 05:13 PM
PrimaryInc PrimaryInc is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Noeway
Posts: 3
HS3.exe keeps terminating every 2-3 days! - Solved!

Hi,

I know HS3 is not "certified" to run in windows 10 jet even though its widly done.
I can't seem to find why HS3.exe terminates, and only way i notice is when automation stops.
Anyone that can point me along to find a solution?
Note! I´ve looked in event viewer and HS log files but no luck
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 16th, 2017, 12:00 AM
S-F's Avatar
S-F S-F is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Goobertown AR 72450
Posts: 2,857
That's a tough one. I'm sorry to say that I have no answer (other than to use Windows 7 or Linux! ) but am responding any way to say that I've never seen this on windows 7 or WHS 2011 (Server 2008 R2) and to keep this thread from sinking into obscurity. Hopefully someone else can shed some light on this.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by rprade View Post
There is no rhyme or reason to the anarchy a defective Z-Wave device can cause
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 16th, 2017, 01:20 AM
cerjzc cerjzc is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 351
I have been running HS on Windows 10 since its release and have never seen an issue like you are reporting. Are you seeing that the hs3.exe process just disappears and is no longer showing up in the task manager?

Does it happen at a certain time of day or completely random?

If you check the log from when it last was running anything common there between times it happens?

Also you don't mention what version of HS you are currently running and what other plugins you might have going. Also any other software running on the machine or maybe an antivirus that is too aggressive?

Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 16th, 2017, 10:49 AM
Rupp's Avatar
Rupp Rupp is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Huntsville, Al. USA
Posts: 36,703
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrimaryInc View Post
Hi,

I know HS3 is not "certified" to run in windows 10 jet even though its widly done.
I can't seem to find why HS3.exe terminates, and only way i notice is when automation stops.
Anyone that can point me along to find a solution?
Note! I´ve looked in event viewer and HS log files but no luck
Are there any errors in the windows event viewer?
__________________
-Rupp
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 16th, 2017, 11:23 AM
w.vuyk's Avatar
w.vuyk w.vuyk is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,405
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrimaryInc View Post
Hi,

I know HS3 is not "certified" to run in windows 10 jet even though its widly done.
I can't seem to find why HS3.exe terminates, and only way i notice is when automation stops.
Anyone that can point me along to find a solution?
Note! I´ve looked in event viewer and HS log files but no luck
Did you maybe choose to "run as service" during the installation? This option is creating a task in the taskplanner. This task has an error, it is set to terminate if it runs longer than 3 days. I found this out for a friend this weekend.
It is an error on the initial installation of HS3.

if you edit the task in taskplanner, untick the mark to stop this task if it is running for more then 3 days on the tab "settings" and you should be good to go.

Wim
__________________
-- Wim

Plugins:RFXCOM, HSTouch Server, Squeezebox, BLGData, Restart, Jon00's Perfmon and Network monitor, WeatherXML, BLBackup, TenScripting, BC4, Pushover, PHLocation, JowiHue, Zwave, Sonos
650 devices ---- 336 events ----- 40 scripts
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 16th, 2017, 06:52 PM
PrimaryInc PrimaryInc is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Noeway
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by S-F View Post
That's a tough one. I'm sorry to say that I have no answer (other than to use Windows 7 or Linux! ) but am responding any way to say that I've never seen this on windows 7 or WHS 2011 (Server 2008 R2) and to keep this thread from sinking into obscurity. Hopefully someone else can shed some light on this.
Thanks for answering Wim solution seems to be the correct one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cerjzc View Post
I have been running HS on Windows 10 since its release and have never seen an issue like you are reporting. Are you seeing that the hs3.exe process just disappears and is no longer showing up in the task manager?

Does it happen at a certain time of day or completely random?

If you check the log from when it last was running anything common there between times it happens?

Also you don't mention what version of HS you are currently running and what other plugins you might have going. Also any other software running on the machine or maybe an antivirus that is too aggressive?

Jeff
Thanks for answering HS3 Seems the Wim have the solution for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rupp View Post
Are there any errors in the windows event viewer?
Thanks for answering No there is no error in event viewer. See Wim solution under.

Quote:
Originally Posted by w.vuyk View Post
Did you maybe choose to "run as service" during the installation? This option is creating a task in the taskplanner. This task has an error, it is set to terminate if it runs longer than 3 days. I found this out for a friend this weekend.
It is an error on the initial installation of HS3.

if you edit the task in taskplanner, untick the mark to stop this task if it is running for more then 3 days on the tab "settings" and you should be good to go.

Wim
And thank you Wim, you are right on the money. This has been so irritation you dont even know I followed your solution and will test Far as i can see your solution will fix my issue.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 17th, 2017, 08:32 PM
rhmerriman rhmerriman is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southeast United States
Posts: 12
Thank you for posting this. I was beginning to think that my Windows 10 Pro/HS3Pro system was headed south. Every three days, boom.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost ZWave connectivity every 2 days - Solved! gnichols HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 30 February 3rd, 2015 02:27 PM
Terminating a running event? Wadenut HomeSeer General Discussion Area 0 April 26th, 2008 12:14 PM
Terminating a Script smoothtlk Script & Plug-In Library Discussion 11 August 13th, 2006 07:15 AM
terminating wav playing john510 Script & Plug-In Development 2 November 14th, 2004 06:29 PM
Days represented in Years, Months & Days Tom Kern Script & Plug-In Development 5 August 17th, 2004 07:09 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC