www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > HS3 / HS3PRO > HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion

HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion Discussions related to the released version of HS3/HS3PRO

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 12th, 2017, 01:57 AM
ewkearns's Avatar
ewkearns ewkearns is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 486
Z-wave switch cuts itself on!

I have a light switch in my garage. At 1:19AM, logs indicated that it had been activated manually to ON (no preceding event noted). The garage is locked and nobody has been in it.

The light actually was on and had triggered HS events (as it should have).

Any thoughts on how a light cuts itself on?
__________________
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.379
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro - Work Station

Enabled Plug-Ins:
  • 2.0.47.0: BLBackup
  • 2.0.22.0: BLUPS
  • 1.1.2.0: Device History
  • 3.6.5.0: Harmony Hub (Pending Purchase)
  • 3.0.0.104: HSTouch Server
  • 3.0.1.90: PHLocation
  • 3.0.6331.36036: UltraCID3
  • 3.0.5917.35093: UltraLog3
  • 3.0.6260.19461: UltraMon3
  • 3.0.0.76: weatherXML
  • 3.0.1.131: Z-Wave
  • 3.0.51: HS Touch Designer
  • 3.0.0.40 Z-Seer+
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 12th, 2017, 07:00 AM
goldriver's Avatar
goldriver goldriver is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Québec
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by ewkearns View Post
I have a light switch in my garage. At 1:19AM, logs indicated that it had been activated manually to ON (no preceding event noted). The garage is locked and nobody has been in it.

The light actually was on and had triggered HS events (as it should have).

Any thoughts on how a light cuts itself on?


This problem happened to me twice in the past, both times, linear switch were involved, I replaced the devices and it fixed the problem.
Those devices were probably 5-7 years old and I suspected that any power flickering from hydro changed their state to On.


Envoyé de mon iPhone en utilisant Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 12th, 2017, 07:49 AM
mikee123 mikee123 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: London
Posts: 982
I have the occasional phantom turning things on without any event or action from a user. Its mainly plug in on/off switches. It used to be really bad when I had my system running on a Vera. Once I moved to HS3 it nearly stopped. Now it happens about once a month. I never found the cause.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 12th, 2017, 10:39 AM
Furious Furious is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 399
This can be down to power fluctuation, as quite a few devices default to on after power restoration, or if you have switches in parallel, cross talk in wiring can be enough to trigger devices - I've had to slightly rewire fibaro dimmers for this very reason.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 12th, 2017, 11:03 AM
phantomnode phantomnode is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: VA
Posts: 13
Rodents crawling on your switch. I haven't had any problems myself with the Z-wave stuff switching on but my old x-10 system was constantly turning on without cause(bad controller).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 12th, 2017, 11:43 AM
ewkearns's Avatar
ewkearns ewkearns is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Furious View Post
This can be down to power fluctuation, as quite a few devices default to on after power restoration, or if you have switches in parallel, cross talk in wiring can be enough to trigger devices - I've had to slightly rewire fibaro dimmers for this very reason.
We do have glitches, but using Jon's UPS program I haven't had a glitch reported since the middle of September. Now, power supply to the garage.... hmmmmmmm.... I wonder?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 12th, 2017, 03:42 PM
reidfo's Avatar
reidfo reidfo is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: FL and TX
Posts: 1,225
What type of switch is it? I've had many issues with X10 in the past doing this, and rarely Insteon plug-in modules. Never had a Z-Wave or Insteon wall switch flip itself on or off.
__________________
Gearhouse Club Member
HS Pro 3.0 | Linux Ubuntu 16.04 virtualized under Proxmox (KVM)
Hardware: Z-NET - W800 Serial - Digi PortServer TS/8 and TS/16 serial to Ethernet - Insteon PLM - RFXCOM - X10 Wireless
Plugins: HSTouch iOS and Android, RFXCOM, BLLock, BLDSC, BLRF, Insteon PLM (MNSandler), BeakerStat, Device History
Second home: Zee S2 with Z-Wave, CT100 Z-Wave Thermostat, Aeotec Z-Wave microswitches, HSM200 occupancy sensor, Ecolink Z-Wave door sensors, STI Driveway Monitor interfaced to Zee S2 GPIO pins.
Author of BeakerStat, the Radio Thermostat WiFi thermostat plugin for HS2.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 12th, 2017, 04:24 PM
ewkearns's Avatar
ewkearns ewkearns is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by reidfo View Post
What type of switch is it? I've had many issues with X10 in the past doing this, and rarely Insteon plug-in modules. Never had a Z-Wave or Insteon wall switch flip itself on or off.
It is a simple Jasco Z-wave On/Off wall switch.

Last edited by ewkearns; October 12th, 2017 at 04:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 13th, 2017, 01:05 PM
Conrad_Turbo Conrad_Turbo is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 260
I've had this happen too...I posted about it before and never found an answer. Wake up in the middle of the night to get a glass of water and the fireplace is on...ummmm. Only caught it happening twice in the last 2 years. I'm controlling four garage doors with an Arduino since I have yet to see an Arduino output turn on for no reason. I can't be leaving a garage door open randomly.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 13th, 2017, 02:24 PM
ewkearns's Avatar
ewkearns ewkearns is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 486
Something just dawned on me..... could this be interference from the 33 cm band?

There seems to be a lot of (mostly obsolete) oddball industrial, networking, medical and scientific stuff, as well as unlicensed primary users. Also, this band is open to amateur radio as a secondary user and it appears to be growing in popularity.

Or could it be a harmonic? Or is this a dumb question?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old October 13th, 2017, 04:29 PM
phantomnode phantomnode is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: VA
Posts: 13
Well, I have 2 unknown node devices on my network that the controller never added and don't seem to be z-wave. I've been looking at everything with a plug to see if it transmits anywhere near z-wave to try to account for them. I've never had one act on another though. I'd guess its a long shot that a message would be coherent enough to do something without having been designed to talk z-wave.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old October 13th, 2017, 11:43 PM
Bill Brower's Avatar
Bill Brower Bill Brower is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 3,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conrad_Turbo View Post
I've had this happen too...I posted about it before and never found an answer. Wake up in the middle of the night to get a glass of water and the fireplace is on...ummmm. Only caught it happening twice in the last 2 years. I'm controlling four garage doors with an Arduino since I have yet to see an Arduino output turn on for no reason. I can't be leaving a garage door open randomly.
For something important like a fireplace I'd personally set up a recurring event tied to motion where if no motion is seen for more than xx minutes turn off the fireplace and have that event run every 15 minutes.
__________________


~Bill
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old October 19th, 2017, 02:25 PM
Conrad_Turbo Conrad_Turbo is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Brower View Post
For something important like a fireplace I'd personally set up a recurring event tied to motion where if no motion is seen for more than xx minutes turn off the fireplace and have that event run every 15 minutes.
Very good idea Bill. I haven't got motion sensors in the living room, kitchen, and dining room area yet...but I have about 20-25 DSC motions sensors waiting for me to deploy through the house. Just have to pull the wire...which should be in the next month I'm hoping!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Togglelinc cuts on but not off kideon HomeSeer Insteon Plug-in 5 October 2nd, 2014 10:33 AM
Leviton Z-wave switch - reverse LED status on switch simonmason Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion 0 April 8th, 2012 08:57 AM
VM cuts out for split second every few seconds jayfro HomeSeer Phone 6 February 28th, 2007 10:23 PM
he cuts left . . . pete17c MCS Audrey 1 January 12th, 2005 09:40 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC