www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Camera Plug-ins > Camera Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 29th, 2017, 10:15 PM
Ivan8ias's Avatar
Ivan8ias Ivan8ias is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NJ
Posts: 33
Camera recommendations

I have been using HomeSeer for years and upgraded my computer and to the HS3 program and HSTOUCH using my pre existing X10 devices primarily for lighting. I am now interested in getting my first camera. I have used many outdated X10 cameras over a decade ago and have scrapped them all. At the time, that's all there was. I am committed to X10 because I have so many wired in wall switches and many modules, so that's why I interface using the X10 plug in. I know nothing about Wi-Fi cameras or how they would work with X10, or would I control them independently through HS3, still using the HSTOUCH app on my smartphone? I have a Verizon FiOS Quantum Gateway Gigabit router with dual 2.4GHz/5GHz capabilities. Any help guiding me on the basics of cameras, which camera to get and how they would interface with HS3 would be humblely appreciated. Thank you.

Last edited by Ivan8ias; July 30th, 2017 at 12:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 30th, 2017, 11:37 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,155
I would suggest wired POE HD IP cameras over wireless independent from X10. The new cameras are whole little tiny computers with much built in to the OS of the camera. You can PT move the camera from the web interface, zoom an optical lens and a virtual lens.

I would treat CCTV separately from Homeseer and utilize Homeseer to monitor and watch the CCTV software.

The Smartphone interfaces now to new cameras are a work of art whether you connect to a DVR (software or firmware) or directly to the cameras.

Look for a camera that provides the best for your buck. Prices have dropped considerably in the last few years.

Rich has fixed up HSTouch server for better camera viewing. Here in HSTouch for many years just do quickie still image captures which is close but not true video.

I am sure folks with chime in with their preferred cameras.

Here always tinkering and went to using Grandstream camera boards inside of Speco camera cases then purchased first generation of Grandstream cameras. Today the technology is old on these cameras (still have a SIP OS on them to integrate with the Grandstream VOIP phones).
__________________
- Pete

Automator

HS3 Pro & Lite
Edition Beta 3.0.0.383 | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 30th, 2017, 11:52 PM
Ivan8ias's Avatar
Ivan8ias Ivan8ias is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NJ
Posts: 33
Thank you Pete. That gives me a lot to mull over. Since I am a novice, I will have to research the acronyms that you used. I am still in the early stages of buying, hence I want to learn as much as I can. I appreciate your time and effort in explaining things. In my mind, I was wondering about having a camera that I could move from place to place, as needed, and use the Wi-Fi for the video and just be concerned about a convenient power source. Does this sound feasible? I just wanted a camera for the sake of having one, no particular security reasons necessarily. Thanks again.

Ivan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 31st, 2017, 06:49 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,155
Yes I used to play with proprietary wireless cameras in the 1990's and moved them around all of the time. Easy to do with the older SD style cameras (640X480 resolution).

In the 2000's the small low cost cameras started to utilize regular wifi SD then went to HD.

Today you can purchase a low cost PT HD camera for less than $50. This will allow for tinkering without the spend of a much money.

Have a look on Ebay.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 1st, 2017, 02:45 AM
Ivan8ias's Avatar
Ivan8ias Ivan8ias is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NJ
Posts: 33
Would I need another plug in for HS3 for the camera, along with my X10 plug in? Using Wi-Fi, I assume that the Wi-Fi camera would have it's own IP and interface through the network to HS3. Is that true? How would it appear in HS3 and would it show up under "Cameras" in HSTouch which is controlling X10 devices? Could I turn it on and off? Also, would it be streaming or quickie still image captures? Could I see the video on any computer? I have 5GHz Wi-Fi, but my older computer running HS3 connects at 100Mbs Ethernet. Will that be enough bandwidth for HD video? I don't need to record the video on a DVR, nor have it trigger anything. I just need it to be portable, using a separate power supply. Now, it's all new to me, so please excuse my ignorance.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 1st, 2017, 08:49 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,155
Would I need another plug in for HS3 for the camera, along with my X10 plug in?

no.

Using Wi-Fi, I assume that the Wi-Fi camera would have it's own IP and interface through the network to HS3. Is that true?

Yes.

You would not utilize Homeseer 3 to manage your camera. You would just use it to view your cameras.

There is a 3rd party plugin for Blue Iris (which runs in Windows).

How would it appear in HS3 and would it show up under "Cameras" in HSTouch which is controlling X10 devices?

Rich wrote a Foscam interface for HSTouch with autodiscover built in to the HSTouch server/client interface and you can send commands out in the HSTouch interface to move the PT Foscam cameras.

Here the streaming piece overloaded my HSTouch screens so went back to stills captures.

NOTE: Rich has rewritten and integrated the HSTouch server to the main HS3 program and redone the video streaming pieces. I have not tested this as I just migrated to current version of HS3 beta.

Could I turn it on and off?

It was built in the configuration of HSTouch; never noticed an on off switch in my HS screen designs.

Also, would it be streaming or quickie still image captures?

Streaming.

Could I see the video on any computer?

Only with HSTouch or via a browser interface or via a program like VLC.

Note that HD bandwidth is higher than old SD bandwidth. There are online calculators for bandwidth and it relates to the pixel size, frames per second of capture, et al.

Relating to streaming from your home to the internet ...This relates to your up and down bandwidth provided by your ISP. Typically down is the higher bandwidth and up is the lower bandwidth.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 1st, 2017, 05:35 PM
Ivan8ias's Avatar
Ivan8ias Ivan8ias is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NJ
Posts: 33
Pete, thank you so much for your help. My isp is Verizon FiOS Quantum Gateway Gigabit. I get 940Mbs up and down using the ethernet connection and have 5MHz 802.11 ac on the Wi-Fi. The bottleneck is on the computer running HS3, which is 100Mbs. So what would I have to setup on HS3 for it to work with HSTouch?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 2nd, 2017, 05:46 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,155
If running HS3 on Windows you can test run HSTouch right on the same computer. HSTouch server is built in to HS3.

100Mpb should do OK for a start.

With the FIOS Verizon set up a long time ago went to separates not really using the FIOS box for anything but the transport to the internet.

( I have a la carted my home network).

Here for HS3 Pro DIY built two machines using an iSeries Haswell mITX board. It is running Ubuntu 16.04/64 bit and Windows 7 Pro 64 bit (another Homeseer user). The Zee-2 Homeseer OS has been moved to testing on two machines. One is the Pine64 2gb computer Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit and the other is a mini cube computer Xi5a (same memory and OS).

For the CCTV stuff here went to using Zoneminder a few years back starting with analog then SD IP and HS IP cameras.

I currently utilize Windows embedded tabletop touch tablets to run HS3.

You can test run HSTouch on an iOS or Android phone too.

Best way to check is just trying it and see how it works.

Last edited by Pete; August 2nd, 2017 at 06:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old August 3rd, 2017, 05:00 PM
Aaron19953 Aaron19953 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: 19953
Posts: 27
If you don't absolutely need wifi/portability I'd suggest a power over ethernet (POE) camera. Essentially the power is supplied to the network cable near your router, and then when you plug the other end into the camera the power is already there, so no looking for an outlet.

I'm kind of a fan of hardwired cameras, it just removes so many variables and it's fast.

I've installed a couple of different HikVision cameras that I really like. I don't do pan/tilt cameras because the cheap ones are just that, cheap. A good wide angle lens more times than not will work better.

The ones I installed are similar to these:
https://www.amazon.com/Hikvision-DS-.../dp/B00ESK3LKY
https://www.amazon.com/Hikvision-DS-...M9G0M25F0YEZWC

On the software side, I use BlueIris which is awesome. You can download a demo for free, if you do purchase it, look for coupons online first.

I stopped using HSTouch eons ago because the designer user interface is.. not good. I now use ImperiHome which isn't as good, but always works and displays my cameras.

The BlueIris android app also gives you the option to see a notification whenever motion is detected (i'm assuming iOS does the same)

Hopefully this didn't cause more questions than answers
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old August 7th, 2017, 02:54 PM
integlikewhoa integlikewhoa is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: California
Posts: 1,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron19953 View Post
If you don't absolutely need wifi/portability I'd suggest a power over ethernet (POE) camera. Essentially the power is supplied to the network cable near your router, and then when you plug the other end into the camera the power is already there, so no looking for an outlet.

I'm kind of a fan of hardwired cameras, it just removes so many variables and it's fast.

I've installed a couple of different HikVision cameras that I really like. I don't do pan/tilt cameras because the cheap ones are just that, cheap. A good wide angle lens more times than not will work better.

The ones I installed are similar to these:
https://www.amazon.com/Hikvision-DS-.../dp/B00ESK3LKY
https://www.amazon.com/Hikvision-DS-...M9G0M25F0YEZWC

On the software side, I use BlueIris which is awesome. You can download a demo for free, if you do purchase it, look for coupons online first.

I stopped using HSTouch eons ago because the designer user interface is.. not good. I now use ImperiHome which isn't as good, but always works and displays my cameras.

The BlueIris android app also gives you the option to see a notification whenever motion is detected (i'm assuming iOS does the same)

Hopefully this didn't cause more questions than answers
I'm using all the same here also. Hikvision cameras (started using the 4Mp versions now) blueiris and imperihome.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old September 17th, 2017, 07:54 AM
edwilloughby's Avatar
edwilloughby edwilloughby is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tallahassee, FL USA
Posts: 124
Nest Cameras

Can the NEST cameras be made to work with HS3 and therefore with HSTouch?
Sorry if this has been addressed, I could not find anything on it.

Thanks

Ed
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless 802.11B/G Network Pan and Tilt camera recommendations. Rupp HomeSeer General Discussion Area 1 May 25th, 2009 09:14 PM
Using a Digital (still) Camera as a security camera Steve Q HS2 / HSPRO 0 May 22nd, 2009 10:52 AM
Security Camera recommendations Steve Q HS2 / HSPRO 23 March 1st, 2008 01:30 AM
Need camera opinion and placement recommendations... kwaugh General Home Automation Hardware Discussion 12 November 7th, 2005 05:08 PM
New to Home Automation -- Need external security camera solution / recommendations DR4296 General Home Automation Hardware Discussion 8 August 22nd, 2004 05:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC