www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > HS3 / HS3PRO > HS3/PRO Beta Releases

HS3/PRO Beta Releases Discussion area for the beta releases of HomeSeer HS3 and HS3PRO software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #161  
Old November 13th, 2017, 10:57 AM
Tomgru Tomgru is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Washington State
Posts: 482
Woke up to another crash today on 382. Am upgrading to 383 now.

can't seem to find anything in the event viewer this time that shows the crash.
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old November 13th, 2017, 11:33 AM
MNB's Avatar
MNB MNB is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 377
Tom,
Out of curiosity did you have your resource monitor up and running? Whilst running these Beta version it behooved me to keep an eye on my HS3 performance metrics, I also use Jon's Jon00PerMonHS3 script which is a quick way to monitor your HS3 resources and like @RPrade indicated he has events based on these devices that alert him once threshold have been exceeded. I've noticed that in my case I was getting an indication of a slow memory leak, whilst looking at my HS3.exe in particular as far as the CPU % that seemed to be relatively low ~1-2 %.

I had updated to v383 but yesterday (11/12) I had a hard HS3 crash that would not allow my system to come-up (repeatedly), so I'm currently sitting with v368 to ensure that my system is stable again (albeit v368 also has a known memory leak according to @Rich, which can be verify using my Resource Monitor, I've since grown (HS3.exe) from 169,000 (KB) to 651,360 (KB) as of this morning). I can say that when I did update to v383, when after my system stabilized it self, I did not see any noticeable memory leak for 3 day until my catastrophic crash. Mike
__________________
Computer: CUK Intel NUC7i7BNH
Op System: Windows 10 Pro - Work Station
HS Version: HS3 Pro Edition Beta 3.0.0.393

Plug-Ins: BLBackup, BLGData, BLRoombaWifi, Device History, EasyTrigger, ImperiHome, Nest, PHLocation, Pushover 3P, Restart, Sonos, UltraCID3, UltraWeatherWU3, Z-Wave, and Jon00 scripts.
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old November 13th, 2017, 01:33 PM
Tomgru Tomgru is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Washington State
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNB View Post
Tom,
Out of curiosity did you have your resource monitor up and running? Whilst running these Beta version it behooved me to keep an eye on my HS3 performance metrics, I also use Jon's Jon00PerMonHS3 script which is a quick way to monitor your HS3 resources and like @RPrade indicated he has events based on these devices that alert him once threshold have been exceeded. I've noticed that in my case I was getting an indication of a slow memory leak, whilst looking at my HS3.exe in particular as far as the CPU % that seemed to be relatively low ~1-2 %.

I had updated to v383 but yesterday (11/12) I had a hard HS3 crash that would not allow my system to come-up (repeatedly), so I'm currently sitting with v368 to ensure that my system is stable again (albeit v368 also has a known memory leak according to @Rich, which can be verify using my Resource Monitor, I've since grown (HS3.exe) from 169,000 (KB) to 651,360 (KB) as of this morning). I can say that when I did update to v383, when after my system stabilized it self, I did not see any noticeable memory leak for 3 day until my catastrophic crash. Mike
Sadly I wasn't running either. Used to use jon's script awhile ago, but backed it out as I didn't have much use because the system was so stable

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old November 13th, 2017, 03:51 PM
MNB's Avatar
MNB MNB is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 377
@Tom, I more than understand.. "Hind sight is 2020".

Well, I've once again have upgraded to v.383. My current (11/13) Resources are as: CPU (167-169 threads) = ~1-2% and Memory (Working Set) = ~ 129,308-130,448 (KB). Will advise if anything significant arises.

@Rich out of curiosity, where can we see all known HS3 errors/issues, how/where are they collected, disposition with purposed action(s) and what are your purposed development and fix release(s) - Configuration control? Mike
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old November 13th, 2017, 05:47 PM
S-F's Avatar
S-F S-F is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Goobertown AR 72450
Posts: 2,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNB View Post
@Rich out of curiosity, where can we see all known HS3 errors/issues, how/where are they collected, disposition with purposed action(s) and what are your purposed development and fix release(s) - Configuration control? Mike
You can't see any bugs except the ones you report but here's where you do it:

https://forums.homeseer.com/bugzilla/
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by rprade View Post
There is no rhyme or reason to the anarchy a defective Z-Wave device can cause
Reply With Quote
  #166  
Old November 13th, 2017, 06:08 PM
MNB's Avatar
MNB MNB is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 377
Thanxs Colin, I would have thought as HomeSeer is doing updates that they would want there Beta community to be aware of Bugs/Issues. Also I would have expected that HomeSeer would want their Beta community to collect the same types of data so that we (collectively) don't waste each other's time with non-pertinent information, so that when the software folks are trying to determine if their fix(s) are effective and corrective, call me simple but being from hardware/software industry having folks simply trying and reporting anomalies/failures is kind of shotgun and hoping that you fixed it rather than inserting latent failures that materialize at later time due combination of situations/events. Mike
Reply With Quote
  #167  
Old November 13th, 2017, 06:59 PM
Monk's Avatar
Monk Monk is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNB View Post
Thanxs Colin, I would have thought as HomeSeer is doing updates that they would want there Beta community to be aware of Bugs/Issues. Also I would have expected that HomeSeer would want their Beta community to collect the same types of data so that we (collectively) don't waste each other's time with non-pertinent information, so that when the software folks are trying to determine if their fix(s) are effective and corrective, call me simple but being from hardware/software industry having folks simply trying and reporting anomalies/failures is kind of shotgun and hoping that you fixed it rather than inserting latent failures that materialize at later time due combination of situations/events. Mike
Try the link - you can see a lot of bugs.
Reply With Quote
  #168  
Old November 13th, 2017, 07:05 PM
MNB's Avatar
MNB MNB is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 377
Well, its 17:25 and I have a message "HS3 has stopped working" looking at my resource Monitor CPU remained within the ~1-5% range whilst Working Memory is 161,440 (KB) so.. memory leak is not the issue.

I've attached my Windows Event stuff for someone to review/advise.

This looks like what I saw yesterday when I couldn't get HS3 to restart. I was able to get HS3 restart at 16:04 and let's cross ones fingers.

@Rich any suggestions? Mike
Attached Files
File Type: txt Windows Event Msgs.txt (4.7 KB, 8 views)
Reply With Quote
  #169  
Old November 13th, 2017, 07:22 PM
MNB's Avatar
MNB MNB is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 377
@Colin and @Monk, I tried the link, had to get logon... but looking for Homeseer as keyword, I only found 265 bugs of which only ~29 are this year.

What's interesting is there is a Memory Leak bug that was reported 1/16/17. I would have thought that a number of Beta anomalies would have also been logged (typical for Alpha and Beta testing) but they seem to be missing, am I missing something? Mike
Reply With Quote
  #170  
Old November 13th, 2017, 08:28 PM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,219
With build 383 I don't have any more reports of leaks. With the discovery of Bitdefender causing crashes, they have stopped if Bitdefender has been disabled.

So in your case, it may be an isolated issue. What I would do is try and run your exact system on another PC, just copy the HS folder. This will rule out some OS or hardware issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MNB View Post
@Colin and @Monk, I tried the link, had to get logon... but looking for Homeseer as keyword, I only found 265 bugs of which only ~29 are this year.

What's interesting is there is a Memory Leak bug that was reported 1/16/17. I would have thought that a number of Beta anomalies would have also been logged (typical for Alpha and Beta testing) but they seem to be missing, am I missing something? Mike
__________________
Rich,


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #171  
Old November 13th, 2017, 09:19 PM
MNB's Avatar
MNB MNB is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 377
@Rich, belay my email.. (Compressed it was 460 MB in size) obviously too large as an attachment. What made Bitdefender crash HS3? As I'm using Windows defender could there be something similar component?

I agree with you that .383 is not currently exhibiting memory leaks but obviously there must be something else that is stressing. Looking at my Event file (txt) I notice that Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MSVCR120_CLR0400.dll what does this have to do with HS3? I believe it has something to do with .NET is there something that I can do? Mike

Last edited by MNB; November 13th, 2017 at 09:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #172  
Old November 13th, 2017, 10:00 PM
rjh's Avatar
rjh rjh is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bedford, NH, USA
Posts: 8,219
Bitdefender is inserting itself into the network sub system to monitor traffic and that appears to be messing with .NET. We run Windows Defender here and have never had an issue with that, so I don't believe that is your issue.

The faulting DLL is a .NET dll so it looks .NET related. Maybe you can download the latest .NET from Microsoft and see if that helps. It should refresh all the .NET files.

https://www.microsoft.com/net/download/windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by MNB View Post
@Rich, belay my email.. (Compressed it was 460 MB in size) obviously not too large as an attachment. What made Bitdefender crash HS3? As I'm using Windows defender could there be something similar component?

I agree with you that .383 is not currently exhibiting memory leaks but obviously there must be something else that is stressing. Looking at my Event file (txt) I notice that Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MSVCR120_CLR0400.dll what does this have to do with HS3? I believe it has something to do with .NET is there something that I can do? Mike
Reply With Quote
  #173  
Old November 13th, 2017, 10:05 PM
MNB's Avatar
MNB MNB is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 377
Rich, thanxs for the comeback. I'm assuming that I'm downloading .NET Core v2.0.2 SDK?

Update: Looking at the options again me thinks .NET Framework 4.7.1 is the correct one.. I feel like choosing the Red over the Blue Pill....
Reply With Quote
  #174  
Old November 13th, 2017, 10:23 PM
MNB's Avatar
MNB MNB is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 377
@Rich, I downloaded and attempted to run .NET Framework 4.7.1 but I get a message that the installation will not occur because ".NET Framework 4.7.1 or a later update is already installed on this computer." more clues please

Looking a little further it looks like (looking a my Regedit) that I have;
On Windows 10 Fall Creators .NET Framework 4.7.1 - DWORD - 461308 which jives with the message above but it will not allow me to re-install. Mike

Last edited by MNB; November 13th, 2017 at 10:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #175  
Old November 14th, 2017, 05:45 AM
Furious Furious is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjh View Post
With build 383 I don't have any more reports of leaks. With the discovery of Bitdefender causing crashes, they have stopped if Bitdefender has been disabled.

So in your case, it may be an isolated issue. What I would do is try and run your exact system on another PC, just copy the HS folder. This will rule out some OS or hardware issue.
Ah good, glad to see I'm being completely ignored - I'll just tell my server that the slowly creeping memory with .383 will go away on its own.
Reply With Quote
  #176  
Old November 14th, 2017, 07:33 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,266
@Mike,

Maybe try to do a repair of the dot net which includes a reinstallation.

Microsoft .NET Framework Repair Tool

Looking at your logs above saw one plugin that stood out...

Log Name: Application
Source: Application Error
Date: 11/13/2017 5:40:59 PM
Event ID: 1000
Task Category: (100)
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: LMBHomeSeer
Description:
Faulting application name: HSPI_PHLocation.exe, version: 3.0.1.109, time stamp: 0x59df1004
Faulting module name: mscorlib.ni.dll, version: 4.7.2556.0, time stamp: 0x59b83409

Disable this plugin maybe for a bit?
__________________
- Pete

Automator

HS3 Pro & Lite
Edition Beta 3.0.0.387 | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins


Last edited by Pete; November 14th, 2017 at 07:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #177  
Old November 14th, 2017, 07:40 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,266
@Gavin,

Have you tried to copy your Homeseer 3 directory out to a new installation of Homeseer 3?

One way too is just to

1 - copy out the Homeseer 3 directory. (while Homeseer 3 is off).
2 - build a new Windows 10 PC (even on old one)
3 - install Homeseer 3 new on new build (new).
4 - copy back up of Homeseer 3 over new build
5 - make sure that you either disable Bitdefender and install Windows Defender.

Many Windows 10 users are doing fine with current release of HS3 V.368. The other choice is to use a Lite version of Windows 7 (64bit) or utilize Windows 7 Embedded.
Reply With Quote
  #178  
Old November 14th, 2017, 10:57 AM
MNB's Avatar
MNB MNB is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 377
Quote:
Faulting application name: HSPI_PHLocation.exe, version: 3.0.1.109, time stamp: 0x59df1004
Faulting module name: mscorlib.ni.dll, version: 4.7.2556.0, time stamp: 0x59b83409

Disable this plugin maybe for a bit?
@Pete, I thought the same however it occurred well after the HS3 crash which I'm thinking that it was trying to communicate to a dead server (HS3). So far I've been up and running, I found a hardware issue early this morning (1:30 am) which took my routers off-line (lack of better words) all of my LAN devices could not communicate and my Wi-Fi was offline. Quick troubleshooting, I found that my Ethernet switch (16 ports) was somehow holding my router down (I believe one of my NAS which crashed with a "Big Red" light a few days ago but didn't working on it as as I was fighting with the HS3 crashes) this morning (4:30 am) when I removed the Ethernet switch's Ethernet cable to the router I was able regain communicate with my LAN devices and have Internet connection. So far I seem to be up and running with no HS3 crash's to report of.

Quote:
Maybe try to do a repair of the dot net which includes a reinstallation.

Microsoft .NET Framework Repair Tool
Many thanxs for the link! Once I get a new switch in place and get all of my devices working properly I will attempt to do a reinstallation. Mike


Quote:
Ah good, glad to see I'm being completely ignored - I'll just tell my server that the slowly creeping memory with .383 will go away on its own.
@Furious Welcome to the club! I can relate to "talking to ones server" I had creeping memory with v.268 and v.382, but when I went to v.383 I seem to have stabilized and am not see a leak of such. I'm assuming your see it over a day or two? I might suggest if you have known good backups (aka BLBackup) to;

1. Delete your current HS3 directories and files,
2. Re-install v.368
3. Copy you working back-up over the newly re-installed v.368
4. Re-start HS3 to ensure that everything is working and then shut it down
5. Do the v.383 update
6. Re-start HS3 and monitor your CPU and Memory with Resource Monitor

Hopefully this will get your system working again and you can stop talking to your server, unless you want to? Mike

Last edited by MNB; November 14th, 2017 at 11:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #179  
Old November 14th, 2017, 10:58 AM
Bob_Linux_User's Avatar
Bob_Linux_User Bob_Linux_User is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fayetteville, TN
Posts: 563
Thought I would post an update of my observations on .383. This beta is probably the most memory stable version that I have seen in a long time. All functions that I have tested seem to work fine. HSTouch is responsive and stable for me. Event actions are fast with no noticeable delays.

Current Date/Time: 11/14/2017 8:53:30 AM
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.383
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Home - Work Station
System Uptime: 1 Day 18 Hours 26 Minutes 44 Seconds
IP Address: 192.168.1.21
Number of Devices: 365
Number of Events: 201
Available Threads: 800
HSTouch Enabled: True
Event Threads: 1
Event Trigger Eval Queue: 0
Event Trigger Priority Eval Queue: 0
Device Exec Queue: 0
HSTouch Event Queue: 0
Email Send Queue: 0
Anti Virus Installed: Windows Defender

Enabled Plug-Ins
3.1.1.24385: Blue-Iris
3.0.0.40: EasyTrigger
5.0.0.58: Global Cache Pro
3.1.0.22: Sonos
3.0.6331.36036: UltraCID3
3.0.0.76: weatherXML
3.0.1.150: Z-Wave
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #180  
Old November 14th, 2017, 11:27 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 14,266
@Mike,

Here had a lingering HS3 Linux plugin (Omni) which would continue to run after shutting down Homeseer and causing errors in the logs. Well too because it talked to a dead server.

Not sure what Rob did to the plugin on an update such that I wouldn't see this anymore.

So basically the attached file above is showing a crash with Homeseer (unexplained right now) with an application (plugin) trying to talk to a dead HS3 server and your plan of action is to repair your dot net stuff eh?

Yes here have more dependencies on serially connected devices (direct) and now a few network connected devices.

ZWave is remote via the LAN (but you need to back this up power wise).

1-Wire is based now on using the LAN. Old one wire was a 1-wire serially connected hub of sorts.

Test your stuff...IE: for an internet WAN or LAN dependency kill the internet or LAN connection and watch the plugin.

For a wireless dependency, kill the wireless and watch the plugin.

No plugin should debend or take down the Homeseer 3 server if it gets disconnected. This was an issue way back with Homeseer 2.

I am all at Gb here (managed switches) and have no real dependences on wireless (testing some tabletops which are Gb connected to Wireless connected and they work).

IE: X10, UPB are directly wired to the HS3 box. Z-Wave and Zigbee (for the OmniPanel) are wired serially to the OmniPanel.

The old HS2 ZTroller was a serial connection to the Homeseer 2 box. There is the built in Z-Wave GPIO card (mainline connection) or USB stick and then there is the ZNet ZWave connection.

The ZNet connection used more transport pieces (network) where as the GPIO card / USB stick plugged in to the HS3 box uses less pieces (well my box is in the basement here and the POE ZNet like box is in the attic).

802.11X wireless is still magical and you cannot predict the propagation of it. You can today add multiple Access Points for better throughput around your home. I have updated my wireless but yet have no automation dependencies on it. (I want sure bet automation here - that is me).

Last edited by Pete; November 14th, 2017 at 11:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussions related to HS3 build 3.0.0.368 rjh HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 530 November 7th, 2017 04:00 PM
Discussions related to HS3 build 3.0.0.362 rjh HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 92 September 25th, 2017 08:45 PM
Discussions related to HS3 build 3.0.0.357 rjh HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 196 September 25th, 2017 06:27 PM
Discussions related to HomeSeer Beta 3.0.0.332->356 rjh HS3/PRO Beta Releases 431 September 19th, 2017 03:35 PM
Discussions related to HS3 Build 3.0.0.312 rjh HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 192 June 30th, 2017 10:47 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:14 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC