www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Irrigation Plug-ins > Irrigation Discussion > EZFlora Insteon Irrigation Controller Plug-in

EZFlora Insteon Irrigation Controller Plug-in Discussions of Adam Telford's EZFlora Insteon Irrigation Controller Plug-in

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 9th, 2014, 06:26 PM
nfrobertson's Avatar
nfrobertson nfrobertson is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 555
EZFlora HS3 - no rain sensor but HS3 rain sensor device toggles on and off?

I'm a new EZFlora user. Downloaded this plugin for HS3. Was happy to find the ability to set the program times from inside the plugin and not need separate software. I'm using all eight zones. Rain Sensor, Meter Count and Water Pump are all set to False. Polling is set to the default 0. I had no problems with this plugin talking to Mark's Insteon plugin.

Since this was my first time taking it for a spin, I set some events to alert me as the state of the devices changed. Specifically I created speech events for ON and OFF states for the four programs and for the Rain Sensor as I've read here others have found it on mysteriously and that apparently can cause commands to be inhibited.

I setup program one so all eight zones run 25 minutes (my normal plan)

I setup program two so all eight zones run 1 minute. I did this so I can test some water hammer/air issues I'm having.

When testing with program 2, I found it interesting that I would get speech events about the state of all four programs as well as the state of the rain sensor which claimed to go ON and later OFF. These events came in when I first turned program 2 on and again with each valve change. The log is attached for review (up to valve 4, then I stopped the program). I assume these are messages being generated by the EZFlora device itself and true, I can just ignore all the program states as it's really just repetitive info.

Why is the rain sensor claiming to go ON and OFF ?

Also, is there value in enabling polling? Are there times when the device state in HS3 might not match the hardware itself and polling corrects that?
Attached Files
File Type: txt ezflora_program2_log.txt (9.2 KB, 11 views)
__________________
HS 3.0.0.435 (PRO)
Hardware: Napco GEM-P9600 | VenstarT1800 w/Insteon 2441V adapter | Insteon PLM
Plugins HS3: Napco Gemini (mine) | Insteon Thermostat (mine) | Insteon Plug-in (mnsandler) | HSTouch Server (HST)
Platform: Windows 10 Pro 64bit, core2 duo 2.0Ghz, 4GB memory
http://www.kazteel.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 13th, 2014, 05:59 PM
hurry4it hurry4it is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: TX
Posts: 245
I apologize for the delayed response. The rain sensor status only changes based on updates received from the EZFlora device. Some others have had issues with this as well and it seems to be limited to a few devices possibly based on the hardware revision. You can try adding a pull-up resistor as shown here:

http://www.simplehomenet.com/Downloa...ct%20Guide.pdf

This will hopefully take care of any spurious signals on the rain sensor lines. Otherwise, it may be that you have a defective EZFlora device.

I would recommend enabling polling since there are certain device changes that are not automatically transmitted. This will cause the EZFlora device status to not be in agreement with the HS device status.

Let me know if you have any questions,

Adam
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 13th, 2014, 08:46 PM
nfrobertson's Avatar
nfrobertson nfrobertson is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 555
Thanks Adam!

I did purchase the breakout connector and am now looking for an actual rain sensor to use with it. I guess in the mean time I'll setup the pull-up resistor and see if the rain sensor state change goes away.

Appreciate the info on the polling as well.

I just completed my license purchase. Thanks for a great plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 14th, 2014, 03:32 PM
nfrobertson's Avatar
nfrobertson nfrobertson is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 555
Picked up a 1/2w 4.7K ohm pack of resistors from radio shack and installed one across the breakout connector pins 2 and 6. I then wired in a magnetic reed to pins 6 and 7 so I can simulate an actual rain sensor NC/NO. Connected the breaktout back to the EZFlora with a cat5e patch cable. Fired everything back and now I seem to be able to reliably control the state of the rain sensor.

Reed switch in NC = Rain Sensor Off

Reed switch in NO = Rain Sensor On

No idea if this lines up with the NC/NO that a rain sensor produces but at least it's repeatable and I have a poor man's way to bypass watering without going into HS3 and disabling the event. Now to find a good rain sensor and figure out how to run wires to the basement where the EZFlora lives...

Seems like Smartenit should include the 4.7k resistor when you buy the breakout connector since the rain sensor doesn't have a built in pull-up. It wouldn't be expensive and the connector comes in a little plastic bag so just drop in the resistor. Even if I don't want to use the rain sensor I'd like to pull it up so it doesn't go on and off randomly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rain Sensor michelrochette mcsSprinklers 7 July 12th, 2011 04:31 PM
Rain sensor and HS Dafunktyfunk General Home Automation Hardware Discussion 6 April 25th, 2011 09:21 PM
Rain Sensor moose RFXCOM Plug-In (3P) 19 October 15th, 2009 08:58 AM
Rain sensor jon00 HomeSeer General Discussion Area 3 May 3rd, 2004 12:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC