www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Irrigation Plug-ins > Irrigation Discussion > EZFlora Insteon Irrigation Controller Plug-in

EZFlora Insteon Irrigation Controller Plug-in Discussions of Adam Telford's EZFlora Insteon Irrigation Controller Plug-in

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 22nd, 2011, 03:08 PM
hurry4it hurry4it is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: TX
Posts: 246
Feature Requests

Please post in this thread any requests for features that you would like to see added to the EZFlora plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 30th, 2011, 05:11 PM
gregtee gregtee is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 92
This isn't so much a feature request as a just a request for some more detailed documentation about how to use this plugin once it's up and running. I see that I can manually control zones by hitting the On/Off buttons, but I'm a little unsure how to use the program settings. I've noticed that turning them on and hitting the Next button cycles through the valves which is nice, but I have no way of knowing how to use this function with regards to automation, or how long to set each valve's run time unless I program HS events for each zone individually which I can do but I gather there's other ways to do this?

Thanks again.

Greg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 30th, 2011, 05:25 PM
pbibm's Avatar
pbibm pbibm is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dearborn, Mi
Posts: 1,462
Greg-

'Steve A' has a great package based on ASP pages and events. Its some scripts that can be easily added to your system and setup multiple schedules. Steve provides and supports this for free.

There are sophisticated pacakges you can purchase like MCS sprinklers. You can look at the updater and download these as a trial ans see what you think.

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 1st, 2011, 02:53 PM
hurry4it hurry4it is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: TX
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregtee View Post
This isn't so much a feature request as a just a request for some more detailed documentation about how to use this plugin once it's up and running. I see that I can manually control zones by hitting the On/Off buttons, but I'm a little unsure how to use the program settings. I've noticed that turning them on and hitting the Next button cycles through the valves which is nice, but I have no way of knowing how to use this function with regards to automation, or how long to set each valve's run time unless I program HS events for each zone individually which I can do but I gather there's other ways to do this?

Thanks again.

Greg
Programs are one of the features of the EZFlora that is only partially supported by the EZFlora plugin. To setup the program run times, you must shutdown HomeSeer and run the SimpleHomeNet utility. On the EZFlora tab, you can enter your EZFloras address and then program the valve run times for each of the programs (1-4). Once this is done, you can exit the utility and restart HomeSeer. Now the EZFlora plugin programs (1-4) will correspond to the run times programmed through the SimpleHomeNet utility. I plan on adding functionality to configure the program times at a later date to the EZFlora plugin.

Adam
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 1st, 2011, 05:26 PM
gregtee gregtee is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by hurry4it View Post
Programs are one of the features of the EZFlora that is only partially supported by the EZFlora plugin. To setup the program run times, you must shutdown HomeSeer and run the SimpleHomeNet utility. On the EZFlora tab, you can enter your EZFloras address and then program the valve run times for each of the programs (1-4). Once this is done, you can exit the utility and restart HomeSeer. Now the EZFlora plugin programs (1-4) will correspond to the run times programmed through the SimpleHomeNet utility. I plan on adding functionality to configure the program times at a later date to the EZFlora plugin.

Adam

Great, thanks Adam. Looking forward to what you come up with.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 2nd, 2014, 07:34 AM
pbibm's Avatar
pbibm pbibm is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dearborn, Mi
Posts: 1,462
Hey Adam, great job on the HS3 Plugin. I have a couple of requests based on having multiple controllers

1) My controllers are for two different sprinkler water valves on each sides of my house. If I could name them, instead of Device 1 and Device 2, that would be cleaner from a device management perspective, how other devices are named. If those names showed in the HS device list, that would be great also, I would suggest under "Address"

2) Status bits available from the EZflora include "is a program running?" and "which program is running?". Is it possible to expose these as devices or let that be a configuration option to allow them to be exposed? Because i have 2 controllers and will use the onboard programs, I would like to know when controller 1 changes from "is a program running" to no (and which one), so I can kick off a program in controller 2.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 3rd, 2014, 11:51 AM
hurry4it hurry4it is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: TX
Posts: 246
I believe that I can add these to the plugin fairly easily. For the first request, the device names were a carry over from the HS2 plugin where I was more restricted in how I could name the devices. I didn't really think about changing that when I developed the HS3 plugin, but it definitely makes sense to have the ability to rename the device in addition to the zones. On the second request, I can expose these parameters as devices and would probably just add it as a configuration options. I would just add these options to the add/remove zones function.

It may be a while before I can get the plugin updated, but I will definitely include these in the next release.

Adam

Quote:
Originally Posted by pbibm View Post
Hey Adam, great job on the HS3 Plugin. I have a couple of requests based on having multiple controllers

1) My controllers are for two different sprinkler water valves on each sides of my house. If I could name them, instead of Device 1 and Device 2, that would be cleaner from a device management perspective, how other devices are named. If those names showed in the HS device list, that would be great also, I would suggest under "Address"

2) Status bits available from the EZflora include "is a program running?" and "which program is running?". Is it possible to expose these as devices or let that be a configuration option to allow them to be exposed? Because i have 2 controllers and will use the onboard programs, I would like to know when controller 1 changes from "is a program running" to no (and which one), so I can kick off a program in controller 2.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 3rd, 2014, 09:54 PM
pbibm's Avatar
pbibm pbibm is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dearborn, Mi
Posts: 1,462
Thanks Adam, understood on the timing and appreciate your support. I have the bit patterns if that would help
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 22nd, 2016, 09:18 AM
dpm416 dpm416 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 13
Linux version

I am interested in a Linux version of your plugin. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 22nd, 2016, 11:28 AM
roussell roussell is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpm416 View Post
I am interested in a Linux version of your plugin. Thanks.
I'm also interested in a Linux version of the plugin. Is this plugin still supported?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old July 25th, 2016, 12:39 PM
hurry4it hurry4it is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: TX
Posts: 246
This plugin is still supported, and is very stable so no new releases have been required lately. I am not currently planning on updating the plugin to support linux due to a lack of equipment required to test with.

Regards,

Adam
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old August 10th, 2016, 11:50 AM
roussell roussell is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by hurry4it View Post
This plugin is still supported, and is very stable so no new releases have been required lately. I am not currently planning on updating the plugin to support linux due to a lack of equipment required to test with.

Regards,

Adam
What do you need? If you're interested, I can provide a complete, isolated remote system for you to test/destroy/whatever. I have a Pro install that I can't use because of a short list of plugins that aren't Linux compatible.

Terry
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC