www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler)

Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) Discussions related to Mark Sandler's 3rd parth plug-in for controlling Insteon devices via Smarthome's PLM interfaces (the 2412 & 2413 series controllers)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 13th, 2018, 11:30 AM
dmcentire dmcentire is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Redwood City CA
Posts: 92
Getting Insteon remotes into my system

Hi,

Because of frustrating z-wave issues I'm considering setting up an Insteon setup for remotes to control lighting.

Most of my lighting is Philips Hue and that works great, but the MiniMotes I use everywhere are still z-wave.

Is there a quick recommendation on what I need to set up Insteon remote controls to trigger HS events?

It looks like I might be able to get the Insteon USB dongle and use that with remotes, but it's unclear to me if I also need a "hub" or other Insteon controller the plug-in works with.

Also, it appears that there are two Insteon plug-ins, the HS free one and one by Mark... is that right?

I might add Insteon plug-in modules to replace the Z-wave modules I am using if I want to completely move away from z-wave. This might mean I need a hub; again I'm not sure.


Thanks in advance,

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 13th, 2018, 12:17 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,550
Dennis,
the dongle, hub, and 2413s, and 2413u are all supported by my plugin. however...

- the usb dongle is discontinued so i wouldn't go that route.
- the hub provides internet access via the Insteon app but this is separate from anything i do with the hub via the plugin. i do not attempt to provide any compatibility with what the insteon app does. if you already use hstouch you don't need this.

check the following thread for a doc that has a comparison of the two plugins and what each supports:
https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=184037

please note if you start with the free plugin, there is not migration to mine. You would have to start fresh.

my suggestion is the 2413u (usb) or the 2413s (serial)

and one of the remotelinc smarthome ITEM# 2342-222

you can extend from there with plug-in modules, etc.
__________________
Mark

HS3 Pro 3.0.0.368
Hardware: Insteon Serial PLM | Vista Alarm 20P with AD2USB | HAI Omnistat2 | 1-Wire HA7E | RFXrec433 | Dahua Cameras | LiftMaster Internet Gateway
Plugins: Insteon 3.0.6.23 (mine) | Vista Alarm (mine) | Omnistat 3 (by Kirby) | Ultra1Wire | RFXCOM | NetCAM | MyQ | BLRadar | Jon00 Charting
Platform: HP h8-1360t, Windows Server 2012 R2, i7-3.4GHz, 16GB memory
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 13th, 2018, 01:48 PM
logbuilder logbuilder is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pacific North West
Posts: 671
I have two HS3 systems in two different locations. One is Insteon based and the other is Z-Wave Plus based. Both have remotes installed and they both work.

In general, I like Insteon better largely because of Mark being available for support. If you find a bug, it will get fixed. You get what you pay for with his plugin. The z-wave plugin is free and you also get what you pay for there.

Specifically, on the remotes, I find the Insteon based ones to be more responsive.

ETA, if you decide you no longer want your z-wave minimotes, let me know.

ETA2, my z-wave stuff does work. Moving to Insteon will cost you since you need the 2413 and a new remote. You might want to invest some more effort and find out what is wrong with your z-wave network.

Last edited by logbuilder; April 13th, 2018 at 02:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 13th, 2018, 07:14 PM
logbuilder logbuilder is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pacific North West
Posts: 671
One more thought about Insteon and z-wave. In each of my systems, I have some battery operated devices. On the Insteon system, using the door/window sensors and motion detectors, I only get battery status on the motion sensors. Nothing on the door sensors. On the z-wave devices (mostly Aeon) I get the percentage on all the devices. I like that a lot. I have a HS-Touch screen that shows all devices and indicates which ones need attention. I've chosen not to have an event send me an alert. It would be trivial but its not that time critical.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insteon keeps crashing my system rg65 Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 5 March 22nd, 2018 12:39 PM
System Not Seeing Insteon Motion/photo sensor gjtherk@comcast.net Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 7 January 12th, 2013 08:11 PM
Which system X10 x Insteon x UPB x Z-wave?? Czechmarty HomeSeer General Discussion Area 28 December 9th, 2008 07:51 AM
Insteon Switches won't program with Homeseer system (new issue?) Bill V. Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 5 March 2nd, 2008 11:52 PM
What do I need to add Insteon to my HS2 system? gabbott Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 9 January 15th, 2007 01:34 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC