www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler)

Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) Discussions related to Mark Sandler's 3rd parth plug-in for controlling Insteon devices via Smarthome's PLM interfaces (the 2412 & 2413 series controllers)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 15th, 2018, 11:44 PM
Ltek Ltek is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 600
Question Converting from ISY to only PLM - using Marks plugin

@Mark
I'm considering moving away from my ISY (currently using Bob's plugin) to directly connecting my PLM to my Win10 PC.

Is there an easy way to convert to use your plugin so I don't have to re-do all my 40+ switches/dimmer devices, and associated event, in HS3?

If not currently, would you be able to make a migration method for this?

thx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 16th, 2018, 07:54 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,543
A migration method will take a lot of work. I don't know anything about Bob's plugin and how he manages his hs devices, creates insteon links, his event actions, and triggers, etc. And i would have no way to test this. I don't see this happening in the future.

the easiest most straight forward method is to run both plugins while you register devices in my plugin and update events as you go. You will just need to move the cable from the isy to plm to the pc while you use my plugin.
__________________
Mark

HS3 Pro 3.0.0.368
Hardware: Insteon Serial PLM | Vista Alarm 20P with AD2USB | HAI Omnistat2 | 1-Wire HA7E | RFXrec433 | Dahua Cameras | LiftMaster Internet Gateway
Plugins: Insteon 3.0.6.23 (mine) | Vista Alarm (mine) | Omnistat 3 (by Kirby) | Ultra1Wire | RFXCOM | NetCAM | MyQ | BLRadar | Jon00 Charting
Platform: HP h8-1360t, Windows Server 2012 R2, i7-3.4GHz, 16GB memory
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 16th, 2018, 10:25 AM
Ltek Ltek is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
A migration method will take a lot of work. I don't know anything about Bob's plugin and how he manages his hs devices, creates insteon links, his event actions, and triggers, etc. And i would have no way to test this. I don't see this happening in the future.

the easiest most straight forward method is to run both plugins while you register devices in my plugin and update events as you go. You will just need to move the cable from the isy to plm to the pc while you use my plugin.
I was thinking something like this...

1. Update (manually or via script) the existing devices with the information your plugin puts into HS devices.

2. Import newly modified (existing) devices into your plugin database. If you are keeping a separate one?

Then, once I turned off Bob's plugin and turned on yours, your plugin would take over.

I assumed that HS3 events were just pointing to the HS3 device and didn't have anything specific to the plugin?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Last edited by Ltek; March 16th, 2018 at 01:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 17th, 2018, 09:29 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ltek View Post
I was thinking something like this...

1. Update (manually or via script) the existing devices with the information your plugin puts into HS devices.

2. Import newly modified (existing) devices into your plugin database. If you are keeping a separate one?

Then, once I turned off Bob's plugin and turned on yours, your plugin would take over.

I assumed that HS3 events were just pointing to the HS3 device and didn't have anything specific to the plugin?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
i appreciate your thoughts, but this is just not as easy as it sounds.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
converting to HS3 pscott WFTT07 Tabletop Touchscreen 0 May 24th, 2015 04:02 PM
Converting a VB .Net DLL plugin to an EXE Plugin? Blade Plug-In Development 3 September 6th, 2005 08:26 AM
Converting vb .net DLL plugin to EXE plugin Blade HomeSeer General Discussion Area 0 September 3rd, 2005 08:54 PM
Converting a plugin from an ocx to an exe UniKyrn Plug-In Development 5 September 8th, 2003 09:50 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC