www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler)

Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) Discussions related to Mark Sandler's 3rd parth plug-in for controlling Insteon devices via Smarthome's PLM interfaces (the 2412 & 2413 series controllers)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 3rd, 2018, 07:37 PM
bdraper's Avatar
bdraper bdraper is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: White House, TN
Posts: 1,138
Your Insteon Hub is Scheduled to Receive Updates

Be on the lookout for an email from noreply@insteon.com titled "Your Insteon Hub is Scheduled to Receive Updates".

Oh boy, I can hardly wait, the last few updates caused all kinds of opportunities with my Insteon stability, before the 2013 on December 18, 2017, my system was believe it or not rock solid... I wish there was a way to decline these updates...

Mark, this in no way is a hit on your product, you have done a wonderful job maintaining and supporting a plugin that interfaces with a hub that has a changing landscape. I certainly appreciate all your work, feedback and help. I only wanted to bring visibility to the hub update that is scheduled for today... was not real sure where to post this information.

This is what the email said....

The next Insteon Hub update is ready to make its way to you. Updates will be getting rolled out this week starting tonight, Tuesday 4/3.

This version of the Insteon Hub firmware fixes an issue where, for some users, the Hub goes offline momentarily (Hub beeps and its front LED turns red). In addition, this update improves the overall stability of the Hub. This information as well as previous updates can be found on the release notes page.

Your hub will automatically install the update between 2:00AM and 5:00AM local time during the roll-out period and will take approximately five minutes to install. During the update you will be unable to use the Insteon app or any third-party integrations such as Amazon Alexa, or Google Assistant. In addition, any configured schedules will not run during the update.

The new firmware version: Hub Version: 1015

Insteon Hub Release Notes link: https://www.insteon.com/support-know...-release-notes
__________________
Billy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 4th, 2018, 11:35 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,543
thanks for posting. please reply if you see any issues after the update.

My only concern with these updates is if smarthome cuts off/breaks the http interface i use to control the hub.
__________________
Mark

HS3 Pro 3.0.0.368
Hardware: Insteon Serial PLM | Vista Alarm 20P with AD2USB | HAI Omnistat2 | 1-Wire HA7E | RFXrec433 | Dahua Cameras | LiftMaster Internet Gateway
Plugins: Insteon 3.0.6.23 (mine) | Vista Alarm (mine) | Omnistat 3 (by Kirby) | Ultra1Wire | RFXCOM | NetCAM | MyQ | BLRadar | Jon00 Charting
Platform: HP h8-1360t, Windows Server 2012 R2, i7-3.4GHz, 16GB memory
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 5th, 2018, 06:26 PM
claude claude is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montréal, Qc. Canada
Posts: 1,004
Insteon Hub update 1015 (April 2nd) so far hasn't caused any issue for me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 11th, 2018, 11:02 AM
LSR LSR is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: NY
Posts: 1
Hub Firmware 1015 problems

Hi all - I'm new to this forum and stumbled upon this thread. I have an Insteon Hub (x222) that just updated to firmware 1015 and now the hub is broken. It doesn't communicate with the network for more than about 5 minutes, then becomes inaccessible. It's LED light is green, but initiating a diagnostic test (press the button 2x, wait one second, press again) does nothing - no beeps. The thing just sits there, LED green. A network reset attempt (3 quick presses of the button) similarly does nothing. The LED remains green, indicating it's communicating with the network but, in fact, it isn't. I have to power cycle the hub (unplug, wait, plug it in again) to access it - but that'll work for only a few minutes. Then it's inaccessible again. Insteon has me waiting for several days already while it's Level 2 folks assess the situation. Anyone having or heard of anyone having these issues?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 11th, 2018, 12:44 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by LSR View Post
Hi all - I'm new to this forum and stumbled upon this thread. I have an Insteon Hub (x222) that just updated to firmware 1015 and now the hub is broken. It doesn't communicate with the network for more than about 5 minutes, then becomes inaccessible. It's LED light is green, but initiating a diagnostic test (press the button 2x, wait one second, press again) does nothing - no beeps. The thing just sits there, LED green. A network reset attempt (3 quick presses of the button) similarly does nothing. The LED remains green, indicating it's communicating with the network but, in fact, it isn't. I have to power cycle the hub (unplug, wait, plug it in again) to access it - but that'll work for only a few minutes. Then it's inaccessible again. Insteon has me waiting for several days already while it's Level 2 folks assess the situation. Anyone having or heard of anyone having these issues?
if the plugin can connect to the hub, can you run the 'reset and reprogram' from the config page and see if that helps. this will run a full reset and regenerate the database
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 11th, 2018, 03:18 PM
claude claude is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montréal, Qc. Canada
Posts: 1,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by LSR View Post
Hi all - I'm new to this forum and stumbled upon this thread. I have an Insteon Hub (x222) that just updated to firmware 1015 and now the hub is broken. It doesn't communicate with the network for more than about 5 minutes, then becomes inaccessible. It's LED light is green, but initiating a diagnostic test (press the button 2x, wait one second, press again) does nothing - no beeps. The thing just sits there, LED green. A network reset attempt (3 quick presses of the button) similarly does nothing. The LED remains green, indicating it's communicating with the network but, in fact, it isn't. I have to power cycle the hub (unplug, wait, plug it in again) to access it - but that'll work for only a few minutes. Then it's inaccessible again. Insteon has me waiting for several days already while it's Level 2 folks assess the situation. Anyone having or heard of anyone having these issues?
Have you tried the diagnostics (User manual p. 24)?

If all else fails, try a factory reset (User manual p. 26) then do a 'reset and reprogram' from the plugin, assuming you can now communicate with the Hub.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 14th, 2018, 06:33 PM
bdraper's Avatar
bdraper bdraper is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: White House, TN
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
thanks for posting. please reply if you see any issues after the update.

My only concern with these updates is if smarthome cuts off/breaks the http interface i use to control the hub.
Not a problem Mark... I wish that I had something good to post.

These are my hub INSTEON HUB2 details: Hub2-V04-20140904, PLM Version:A3 with Firmware:1015 Build Apr 2 2018 13:27:42

The hub seems to work fine for a period of time, then for no reason that I can detect, the plugin loses connection and has to be restarted. Once the plugin is restarted, I am good for some period of time until things go south again, could be a few hours or a week or so... I am running verison 3.0.6.30 of the plugin, it has been stable and working with no problem until Smarthome started (what I call) tinkering with a good thing in December of 2017. Now it is hit or miss... Not sure what to try at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 14th, 2018, 10:09 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdraper View Post
Not a problem Mark... I wish that I had something good to post.

These are my hub INSTEON HUB2 details: Hub2-V04-20140904, PLM Version:A3 with Firmware:1015 Build Apr 2 2018 13:27:42

The hub seems to work fine for a period of time, then for no reason that I can detect, the plugin loses connection and has to be restarted. Once the plugin is restarted, I am good for some period of time until things go south again, could be a few hours or a week or so... I am running verison 3.0.6.30 of the plugin, it has been stable and working with no problem until Smarthome started (what I call) tinkering with a good thing in December of 2017. Now it is hit or miss... Not sure what to try at this point.
have you tried a reset and reprogram?

they didn't change the PLM version (still showing A3), which is good.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 14th, 2018, 10:37 PM
logbuilder logbuilder is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pacific North West
Posts: 666
If you continue to have problems using the hub, you might want to consider a 2413s or 2413u. They can be had on ebay for reasonable money.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Insteon-241...1/222471140992
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 29th, 2018, 01:25 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,543
short of registering my hub with insteon, is there a way to get the updates, and install them myself?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old April 30th, 2018, 10:13 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,543
All,
i posted beta 3.0.6.34 which includes a small improvement to the buffer processing for the Hub 2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insteon Hub Updates feman Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 5 March 7th, 2017 09:30 AM
Scheduled Polling UltimateInternet Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 1 November 3rd, 2014 11:37 AM
HS did not run a scheduled event for UPB Richard Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion 12 May 18th, 2011 04:05 PM
There are updates to the insteon plugins avail in the Updater mnsandler Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 6 December 19th, 2008 07:17 PM
Windows Updates Crashing HomeSeer / Insteon??? MattPond Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 15 May 26th, 2007 03:13 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC