www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > UPB plugin by Spud (3P)

UPB plugin by Spud (3P) Spud UPB plugin discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 14th, 2017, 12:38 AM
Desert_AIP Desert_AIP is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Washington
Posts: 69
Mega slowdown! - Resolved

Activated this plugin on a HS3 Raspberry Pi install that already has the Omni, WX and Direct TV plugins.
Imported my network file and everything bogged down.
If I disable the plugin, everything returns to normal speed.
Near instantaneous response, including via the Amazon Echo.

What could be causing this slowing of the system?
This plugin is unusable right now.

Last edited by Desert_AIP; December 20th, 2017 at 05:34 PM. Reason: Resolved
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 14th, 2017, 09:26 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,134
Before importing can you set the log level to Debug, and then post the logs you get when you import?

The import can takes some time and can probably slow things down, but when it's done everything should be back to normal.

how many UPB devices do you have?

what kind of PIM do you use?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 14th, 2017, 03:22 PM
Desert_AIP Desert_AIP is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Washington
Posts: 69
Using a Simply Automated Serial PIM with a USB to RS232 cable.
It appears to recognize it correctly (it updated the port correctly).
Haven't tried using the GPIO TTL converter and serial port because this was easier to test.

I have about 70-80 devices and about 100 links.

After the import I deleted out the redundant UPB devices (duplicated with the Omni) But left the unique items such as independent device channels, IO device channels and links.

With the plugin running the web page interface is so slow it takes minutes for a click to take effect, and I see no response to any action on the HS side. When I disable the plugin it returns to normal operation. I can control the devices through the HSTouch app, the web interface and Amazon Echo.

I really want to use this plugin since it has Link support the Omni plugin does not.

I'll erase and set the log up and re-import.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 14th, 2017, 04:32 PM
tenholde tenholde is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,788
I wonder if the problem goes away if you do NOT delete any of the UPB plugin created devices?

tenholde
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 14th, 2017, 07:27 PM
Desert_AIP Desert_AIP is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Washington
Posts: 69
I started off not deleting anything.
The slowdown caused me to try deleting the redundant devices because I thought maybe the system was bogged down with the ~600 devices total.

Gonna play with it more tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 15th, 2017, 12:44 AM
Desert_AIP Desert_AIP is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Washington
Posts: 69
Completely deleted all UPB devices.
Changed the log to debug.
Reactivated the plugin and imported the config.

After the config was complete.
I can control an Omni unit with minimal delay, normal.
Even with the plugin running.

If I try to control a UPB unit, things slow down.
Nothing happens with that command.
And, if I try to issue a command to an Omni unit, nothing appears to happen.
But that command does work after several minutes.
Once that happens, the Omni unit commands operate normally.

So it appears when I issue a UPB command, there is some loop or something else causing a severe delay. The UPB command does not activate. So I assume it tries and finally times out.

Could this be an issue with the USB to serial adapter?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 15th, 2017, 10:40 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,134
have you tried to disable the Omni plugin? maybe it does not play well with the UPB plugin?

I would need to see some debug logs to help you more.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 15th, 2017, 12:18 PM
Daweeze's Avatar
Daweeze Daweeze is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: North Bay
Posts: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
have you tried to disable the Omni plugin? maybe it does not play well with the UPB plugin?

I would need to see some debug logs to help you more.
I am running both your UBP Plugin as well as the Omni Plugin. That said, I decided a while back to have the Omni run the HAI/Leviton UPB gear directly via HLC Commands from the panel PIM. For any non HAI/Leviton (Simply Automated etc) I run a separate UPB PIM on a different UPB Network ID for the Spud UPB Plugin since your Plugin accesses all of the advanced UPB features for devices that HAI cannot. Essentially I have two UPB networks running, a HAI (HLC) and UPB Native.

-Travis
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 19th, 2017, 11:34 PM
Desert_AIP Desert_AIP is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Washington
Posts: 69
Played with a little more, its now working great!

I finally moved the USB to serial converter to another USB port and, for whatever reason, it's working.

Looks very promising, thanks for a great plugin!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mega Problems nickclift Arduino Plugin (3P) 0 March 24th, 2017 10:03 PM
MEGA 2560 Vaughan2016 Arduino Plugin (3P) 9 October 20th, 2016 09:32 AM
Mega PWM pins marekd1 Arduino Plugin (3P) 22 March 1st, 2016 10:16 PM
LCD on Mega petez69 Arduino Plugin (3P) 0 January 28th, 2016 06:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC