www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > HomeSeer and Google Home

HomeSeer and Google Home Discussions related to using HomeSeer with the Google Home device

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 29th, 2017, 03:30 PM
ando1 ando1 is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: MA
Posts: 83
Google Home and HA-Bridge still work?

Hi all,

I just got a Google Home mini and want to know if I can use this with the ha-bridge to control my lights and other homeseer stuff. I saw some earlier threads saying it works, but also saw that the local functionality may be broken now.

Is anyone currently using ha-bridge with GH?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 29th, 2017, 07:50 PM
integlikewhoa integlikewhoa is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: California
Posts: 1,232
I'm using it for alexa, but from what I know it no longer works since they moved to cloud base not local control. So I'm gonna say 99% you cant use google home with it. But alexa does work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 29th, 2017, 07:54 PM
ando1 ando1 is offline
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: MA
Posts: 83
Thanks integlikewhoa,

I was hoping that was not the case. I do use Alexa today with the ha-bridge but was thinking of making the GH my main voice control device. I don't really want to use the myHS remote service as I use a VPN today to access everything I need.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 9th, 2017, 05:54 PM
tpchristian's Avatar
tpchristian tpchristian is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 1,028
I am still using ha-bride with HS. It continues to work. Also, any new devices that I add automatically show up. I think that the tricky part is the setup. I set mine up a long time ago. I think that in order to get it setup you have to install/use an old version of the Home app.
__________________
- Tom

HSPro/Insteon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 28th, 2018, 01:06 AM
tpchristian's Avatar
tpchristian tpchristian is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 1,028
Just FYI for anyone that stumbles onto this thread. Google finally nerfed the local Hue connection so now there is not chance of ha-bridge integration. They forced a relink and linking no longer works for local.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 12th, 2018, 05:18 AM
bazyr bazyr is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 38
I second that -- it was actually what gave me the final shove to try out Homeseer!

Used to have a z-wave setup with a Fibaro controller, working with Google Home via HA-bridge on a RPi. Really annoyed when it got borked with still no word from Fibaro about whether they'd ever support GH. I'm still very new to Homeseer but so far I'm already impressed they got on board with "proper" GH integration
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HomeSeer is now available under Home Control in the Google Home App! rjh HomeSeer and Google Home 256 March 10th, 2018 01:14 PM
Home Control and Multiuser Google Home/Assistant abwyatt HomeSeer and Google Home 6 November 17th, 2017 09:54 AM
Google Home/Google Assistant adanchenko Alexa (3P) 2 July 31st, 2017 05:19 PM
Amazon Echo, Google Home, Apple Home Kit and Speaker Client Timon HomeSeer Amazon Echo Connected Home API 2 May 23rd, 2017 04:56 AM
Google Home? fwolferd User Interface Discussion 3 November 26th, 2016 10:32 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:57 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC