Getting Started

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting Started

I am just getting started with home automation on a new vacation home, and want to start with the furnaces. I've looked briefly at different software packages and I think I am going to go with HomeSeer, as I want internet control over the home.

I've looked at X10, but see that there are several other up-and-coming technologies. I see that X10 is controlled over the AC lines, but I was wondering if there are IP or 802.11 as I am wiring the home for network and wireless capability with a central server.

I've perused this forum, but am not seeing where to get started. Once I have that figured out I want to expand to lighting, jacuzzi, and security. Any pointers in the right direction would be wonderful!

Hi Litho and welcome to HomeSeer.
    Originally posted by litho
    I am just getting started with home automation on a new vacation home, and want to start with the furnaces. I've looked briefly at different software packages and I think I am going to go with HomeSeer, as I want internet control over the home.
    A very good decision to go with HomeSeer or HS for short. I started with Automated Home then went on to Zeus. There will always be new techologies, this one is tried and proven. When new stuff appears HS does look at it and adapts, Z Wave is an example. It also offers probably the best support and advice of any product I can think of in the way of this BBS and the help desk on HS's web site.
    I've looked at X10, but see that there are several other up-and-coming technologies. I see that X10 is controlled over the AC lines, but I was wondering if there are IP or 802.11 as I am wiring the home for network and wireless capability with a central server.