Security, Homeseer, Dedicated Security Systems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Security, Homeseer, Dedicated Security Systems

I have been using homeseer for over 10 years. Started as a way to eliminate multiple remotes in a home theater but has expanded to temperature monitoring, lights, etc. Now I am thinking more about home security in general. I have a house that is prewired for a security system and I know where most of the wires terminate. I could find the rest with a tone generator. As I began to think about home security, the only thing I really would like to do is activate lights and/or a siren if an intrusion occurs. I do not care about monitoring as by the time anyone arrived, the intruders would be long gone (rurual location). I have looked into dedicated systems but do not see why I would need all of their capability. I have X10 and have never ever had a problem with interference or unreliability. I just acquired z wave but have only one light module and right now have no reason to build this out into a wider mesh. The question then is, why not install X10 sensors with say powerflash receptors or x/10 with rf transmitters on doors and windows to create a system that focuses on homeseer's ability to activate things like sirens or lights flashing etc. rather than a separate security system interfaced to homeseer. Or does some simple way exist to take advantage of the existing wiring to create a homeseer centered security system that would be better than relying on either rf or powerflash transmission? Why add another layer of complexity when I only need simple intrusion detection? I would use zwave but understand that I would probably need to build out the mesh for this to be effective. Thoughts? If you would rather not post your thoughts, please e-mail them to me at masman@bgsu.edu. Thanks.

You could but a DSC system is very affordable and would be much more reliable.