www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > Z-Tool+

Z-Tool+ Discussions about Z-Tool+ Z-Wave installation software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old July 13th, 2015, 03:48 PM
rmasonjr's Avatar
rmasonjr rmasonjr is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brookhaven, MS USA
Posts: 6,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotech View Post
Is it free?
Yes.
__________________

HS3Pro Running on a Raspberry Pi2 (Raspbian)
64 Z-Wave Nodes, 162 Events, 293 Devices
UPB modules via OMNI plugin/panel
Plugins: Z-Wave, BLRF, OMNI, HSTouch, weatherXML, EasyTrigger
HSTouch Clients: 3 Android, 1 Joggler
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old July 13th, 2015, 03:50 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotech View Post
Is it free?
It's free for most users unless your name begins with an "H". Then, it's double that amount.
__________________


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old July 13th, 2015, 03:56 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by seerbeliever View Post
I understand that this interface puts the z-wave device add function in a smart phone app, but does it eliminate the need for the z-wave interface to be in close proximity of the device being added. Please explain z-tool+ functionality in terms of pervious generation z-wave devices vs new 500 series z-wave devices.
Here's what it does (in a nutshell):
it accesses the built-in add/delete/name functions of HS3 without the need to use the web interface. That's it! In fact, if you open the controller management part of HS3, with the green log window showing, and you click add or delete in Z-Tool+, you'll see the green log window update along with the Z-Tool+ log.

It just make life a little easier. It won't change how the protocol works, however. If you're adding or deleting a device and it's older or too far away, you'll still need to move the interface or controller closer to the device.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old July 13th, 2015, 05:48 PM
enigmatheatre's Avatar
enigmatheatre enigmatheatre is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Aberdeen Scotland UK
Posts: 1,822
Wow This is great.

It works just as expected and makes adding and removing nodes much easier.

Excellent work guys Keep it up.

Are there an more features in the pipeline as I struggle with rescans on battery devices from remote locations and doing this from my phone would be great to.

Greig.
__________________
Zwave = Z-Stick, 3xHSM100™ 7xACT ZDM230, 1xEverspring SM103, 2xACT HomePro ZRP210.
X10 = CM12U, 2xAM12, 1xAW10, 1 x TM13U, 1xMS13, 2xHR10, 2xSS13
Other Hardware = ADI Ocelot + secu16, Global Cache GC100, RFXtrx433, 3 x Foscams.
Plugings = RFXcom, ActiveBackup, Applied Digital Ocelot, BLDeviceMatrix, BLGarbage, BLLAN, Current Cost, Global Cache GC100,HSTouch Android, HSTouch Server, HSTouch Server Unlimited, NetCAM, PowerTrigger, SageWebcamXP, SqueezeBox, X10 CM11A/CM12U.
Scripts =
Various
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old July 13th, 2015, 06:51 PM
gearyt's Avatar
gearyt gearyt is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,625
IF Possible, I would wish for the feature to identify nodes. The older unit you could scan and when you pressed the device, the display would indicate node number
__________________
Ubuntu 16.10 (64) | HSPro 3.0.0.297 | Z-Wave 3.0.1.124 | Server .94 | BL BackUp | BLOccupied | BLLock | Media Controller | Jowi HUE | HSTouch | DSC-Envisalink | I-Tunes DAAP | DirecTV | Restart | Honeywell WiFi | Weather XML | RFX Com | + Android .117 : IOS 8
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old July 13th, 2015, 07:21 PM
U5tabil's Avatar
U5tabil U5tabil is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,103
Question

This is a great tool! But there is one part that would really help along that would be perfect in this tool. and that would be to:


Optimize a Network, No Return Route Changes

And

Fully Optimize a Network

This would help a lot when you have added battery driven devices that most of the time needs to be awake on the spot. Then i would not have to carry around the laptop
__________________
Certified installer for HomeSeer, Control4, KNX and Eaton/xComfort
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old July 13th, 2015, 07:46 PM
sirmeili sirmeili is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 1,807
Question, Is this Add a secure node, or add a non-secure mode? I assume it is secure. Either way, would it be possible to add an option to choose which way you want to add a node (secure/non-secure)?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old July 14th, 2015, 03:39 AM
bartbakels's Avatar
bartbakels bartbakels is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NL
Posts: 662
cant find it in the google playstore on my one+one, is the apk also available somewhere?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old July 14th, 2015, 09:06 AM
VirtualPanther's Avatar
VirtualPanther VirtualPanther is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Reisterstown, MD
Posts: 963
Unhappy

Not available for iOS. Can't find anything in iTunes app store
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old July 14th, 2015, 09:07 AM
Raptor's Avatar
Raptor Raptor is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,089
yes, its free and seems to work with homeseer not a specific zwave interface which is nice.


Some feedback from playing with it last night,

it really needs some security, anyone on my wifi could remove my devices.... that is an issue.

also i would love a send info to remotes button and some of the other zwave actions you can do from the interface menu.
__________________
HS3 Pro on Windows 8 64bit
53 Z-wave nodes(46 devices, 7 remotes), 15 DS10a's, 10 ms16a's, 9 Oregon Sensors, W800, RFXCOMtrx433, Way2Call, 3 HSTouch Clients, 2xRussound CAS44, Global Cache GC100-12,10 Rollertrol blinds(+ zwave) ,3 Squeezebox Radios and 1 Squeezebox Boom,DMX Arduino via ethernet,Rain8Net,3x Echo Dot's


Check out my electronics blog here:
https://www.facebook.com/RaptorsIrrationalInventions
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old July 14th, 2015, 09:08 AM
enigmatheatre's Avatar
enigmatheatre enigmatheatre is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Aberdeen Scotland UK
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by bartbakels View Post
cant find it in the google playstore on my one+one, is the apk also available somewhere?

Thanks
It is Here.

Greig.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old July 14th, 2015, 09:28 AM
rprade's Avatar
rprade rprade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualPanther View Post
Not available for iOS. Can't find anything in iTunes app store
In the announcement Mark said it was submitted but will take a couple of weeks before Apple gets it up in the store. It's the Apple way
__________________
Randy Prade
Aurora, CO
Prades.net

PHLocation - Pushover - EasyTrigger - UltraECM3 - Ultra1Wire3 - Arduino
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old July 14th, 2015, 09:30 AM
VirtualPanther's Avatar
VirtualPanther VirtualPanther is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Reisterstown, MD
Posts: 963
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by rprade View Post
In the announcement Mark said it was submitted but will take a couple of weeks before Apple gets it up in the store. It's the Apple way
Thanks, Randy. Must have missed that. I actually found out from the z-wave plugin update notes
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old July 14th, 2015, 09:50 AM
clay2young's Avatar
clay2young clay2young is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Southern OuterBanks, NC
Posts: 297
Optimize and Full Optimize?

I have to wait for Apple to see what it really does.

But it would be nice if in addition to Add and Exclude, it would Optimize and Full Optimize a device since with battery powered devices you often need to be at the device doing something to Wake It Up to get Opt and Full Opt to work.
__________________
2017-04-01: Shuttle XH81V Mini PC, dual RS232. Processor:Intel Core i7-477O5 - 3.1 GHz, 5.0 GT/s, 8MB. RAM: 16GB DDR3-1600MHz. Hard Drives:Two 240GB Internal Solid state disks (SSD). External 1T USB 3 drive. Dedicated for HomeSeer. (backup for other apps)
OS:Windows 10 Pro, HS3 3.0.0.315 with UACPass. Currently mostly Z-Wave Devices (137 nodes) 90%+ LED, Plugin 3.0.1.25, Z-NET 1.0.13. HSTouch .68, RFXCOM with 5 Sensors, MyQ plug-in, BlueIris, Pushover, Restart, Edge Browser.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old July 14th, 2015, 12:17 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualPanther View Post
Not available for iOS. Can't find anything in iTunes app store
submitted to Apple today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by clay2young View Post
I have to wait for Apple to see what it really does.

But it would be nice if in addition to Add and Exclude, it would Optimize and Full Optimize a device since with battery powered devices you often need to be at the device doing something to Wake It Up to get Opt and Full Opt to work.
We're looking into adding and "advanced feature" function for this and other features.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old July 14th, 2015, 01:24 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,244
Android and Windows Phone Apps Approved

The Android app is already in the Google Play store and the Windows Phone app will be in their store within the next 24 hours. FYI

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...er.ztool&hl=en
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old July 14th, 2015, 02:06 PM
sooty sooty is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 2,480
Might be worth mentioning here that JSON control needs to be enabled for the app to work. I got a rather uninformative message from the app with JSON disabled.

I agree with Raptor. It really isn't good that anyone with the app installed and connected to my WiFi can play with my Z-wave network.

Paul..
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old July 14th, 2015, 02:29 PM
rmasonjr's Avatar
rmasonjr rmasonjr is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brookhaven, MS USA
Posts: 6,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by sooty View Post
Might be worth mentioning here that JSON control needs to be enabled for the app to work. I got a rather uninformative message from the app with JSON disabled.

I agree with Raptor. It really isn't good that anyone with the app installed and connected to my WiFi can play with my Z-wave network.

Paul..
whoa - good find - thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old July 14th, 2015, 08:34 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,244
Z-Tool+ Video

Check out the video! http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=175739
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old July 15th, 2015, 07:14 AM
stefxx's Avatar
stefxx stefxx is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 673
Native Windows Phone support!!! Excellent, thank you!
__________________
stefxx
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Introducing MyHS Remote Access Service! macromark MyHS Remote Access Service 75 September 5th, 2017 08:19 PM
Introducing HS3-Pi macromark HS3-Pi Discussion 50 August 11th, 2016 02:42 PM
Well so much for the new search tool Rupp HomeSeer General Discussion Area 6 April 15th, 2004 12:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC