www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > Z-Tool+

Z-Tool+ Discussions about Z-Tool+ Z-Wave installation software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 18th, 2017, 09:55 PM
larrywal32 larrywal32 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Seattle
Posts: 158
Adding multiple Homeseer dimmer switches quickly

Hi - please see this thread here: https://forums.homeseer.com/showthre...00#post1333400

Essentially, I'm going to install about 40 Homeseer dimmer switches in my home. Z-tool is great, but when I name the devices I add, it only uses the name in one of the three created devices. That seems rediculous....since if I add all 40 at once, I'll have duplicate names for 2 of the 3 created devices for each of the switches. Why doesn't it use the name I type in for all three in some way?

Am I missing something?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 18th, 2017, 10:38 PM
rprade's Avatar
rprade rprade is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrywal32 View Post
Hi - please see this thread here: https://forums.homeseer.com/showthre...00#post1333400

Essentially, I'm going to install about 40 Homeseer dimmer switches in my home. Z-tool is great, but when I name the devices I add, it only uses the name in one of the three created devices. That seems rediculous....since if I add all 40 at once, I'll have duplicate names for 2 of the 3 created devices for each of the switches. Why doesn't it use the name I type in for all three in some way?

Am I missing something?
When you enter a name in Z-tool it is naming the root, the Central Scene and Switch (binary or multilevel) are only left with generic names. That is how it works. I suppose they could append the child names to the name you assign for the root, but that wouldn't necessarily be ideal either.

Once the device is included, the two child devices are grouped with the root, so if you enable grouped view on the Device Manager page, it is easy enough to see to which root devices the child devices are attached and rename them. You can bulk add 40 switches, naming each one. Then when you go to the Device manager (in grouped view), 2 generically named child devices will be clearly linked with each named root device.

Name:  Capture1.PNG
Views: 61
Size:  18.1 KB

Name:  Capture.jpg
Views: 61
Size:  32.7 KB
__________________
Randy Prade
Aurora, CO
Prades.net

PHLocation - Pushover - EasyTrigger - UltraECM3 - Ultra1Wire3 - Arduino
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 18th, 2017, 10:41 PM
larrywal32 larrywal32 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Seattle
Posts: 158
Thanks grouped view helps me clean it up.

Curious - why wouldn't it be better to just use the name as a prefix for "Central Scene" and "Switch"? In what scenario is it better for those to be unchanged with the same name?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 18th, 2017, 10:48 PM
rprade's Avatar
rprade rprade is online now
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrywal32 View Post
Thanks grouped view helps me clean it up.

Curious - why wouldn't it be better to just use the name as a prefix for "Central Scene" and "Switch"? In what scenario is it better for those to be unchanged with the same name?
That would be fine, but that is not the convention I use for naming (though looking at my screenshot above, the device is almost named as you suggest), so I would be faced with renaming them anyway. I shorten Central Scene to Scene. Everyone has their own way of naming devices. The beauty of Z-Tool is that it will let you identify the device by naming the root as you include it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 19th, 2017, 02:31 AM
larrywal32 larrywal32 is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Seattle
Posts: 158
Got it thanks. What naming convention do you use? Would love to learn the pros/cons you've developed that led to your style choices.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are Homeseer HS-WD100+ dimmer switches compatible with Magnetic Tranformers? hassistant HomeSeer Wall Dimmers & Switches 0 May 2nd, 2017 01:15 PM
Quickly Turning off multiple switches norcalhkr HS3 Event Clinic 5 April 15th, 2016 10:30 PM
dimmer switches akkie71 JowiHue Plug-In 3 April 4th, 2016 06:42 AM
3-way dual dimmer switches denisl HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 6 December 8th, 2014 01:23 PM
AJAX Log for Homeseer, auto updates quickly zimmer62 HomeSeer General Discussion Area 11 September 17th, 2008 10:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC