www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > 3rd Party Plug-Ins/Scripts > Plug-ins by Author > Click Here for List of Author Forums > Spud Plug-Ins > EasyTrigger Plug-In (3P)

EasyTrigger Plug-In (3P) Discussions related to the EasyTrigger plugin by SPUD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 17th, 2018, 07:58 AM
Timon's Avatar
Timon Timon is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 294
Question Set device to device is setting two devices

I've got a strange issue going on that I can't figure out.

I was setting up a way to restore devices to their last value. I use ET to save the devices value whenever it's changed with some exceptions that I'm still working out. The problem is that when I set the last value device with the current value another device also changes that's not even being referenced.

So, If I change the "Fan Light" to a given value the "Left Desk" light will also change to that same value. I have the same thing happens for the "Files Light" and it also changes the "Left Desk" level. Both of these events are the same except for the devices being used. I know it's happening in the saving event as I can execute it manually and get the same result.

I also created a manual test event that only did the copy and it also effects the other light. Somehow Everytime ET does a copy between those two devices the anther device get changed.

In fact it doesn't seem to matter what devices you copy from to that one light also gets changed. I've even tries rebutting and that doesn't fix it.

I'm at a loss to understand this one.

Here are the screen shots for the devices, event and the log. My current plugin are in my sig.







__________________
John (N6BER), Joyce, Lucas (Golden Retriever mix), Bella (Great Pyrenees) and Lance (GP).
System:
HomeSeer Version: HS3 ZEE S2 Edition 3.0.0.368
Linux version: Linux HomeTrollerZeeS2V2 4.1.19-v7+ #858 SMP Tue Mar 15 15:56:00 GMT 2016 armv7l GNU/Linux
Mono version: 4.5.1
IP Address: 10.0.1.65
Number of Devices: 164
Number of Events: 212
Available Threads: 385

Enabled Plug-Ins
3.0.0.12: AirplaySpeak
3.0.0.47: EasyTrigger
3.0.1.109: PHLocation
3.0.1.190: Z-Wave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 17th, 2018, 08:14 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,074
you may have devices linked together, check in the device configuration that is "Not Linked"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 17th, 2018, 08:19 AM
Timon's Avatar
Timon Timon is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 294
Here is an update. It seems that this only happens when ET is setting the value on a virtual device. If I set a real device it doesn't happen. Doesn't matter what virtual device is being set trying to set it will cause this one device to be changed.

This is even more weird.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 17th, 2018, 08:39 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timon View Post
Here is an update. It seems that this only happens when ET is setting the value on a virtual device. If I set a real device it doesn't happen. Doesn't matter what virtual device is being set trying to set it will cause this one device to be changed.

This is even more weird.
Did you check the "Linked device" property?
What happens when you manually set the virtual device from the device management page.

According to your logs the set of the second device doesn't seem to come from ET, otherwise you would see 2 lines like this:

Code:
Device Control	Device: YYYY to XXX by/from: CAPI Control Handler
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 17th, 2018, 10:18 AM
Timon's Avatar
Timon Timon is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 294
I used to have links to the alias for each of the two desk lamps but I removed the links just incase that was a factor but nothing changed. Neither were ever linked back to the last value setting virtual devices since I just added those. Check events for any references to "Left Desk" and found only the ones I expected.

I never see the "Device Control Device: YYYY to XXX by/from: CAPI Control Handler" in the log even though the value does get copied.

Another thing is that I have two of these working with two different devices and both do the same thing to the "Left Desk" device.

I also created a test event with the copy device to device and when executed the "Left Desk" light changes no matter which two devices I copy between. Did another test and get the same results.

May-17 7:02:27 AM Device Control Device: Virtual Status Room Status Office is On to On (100)
May-17 7:02:27 AM Event Event Trigger "Office Office - Status Any Lights On"
May-17 7:02:27 AM EasyTrigger DEBUG Firing event 103
May-17 7:02:27 AM EasyTrigger DEBUG Firing event 102
May-17 7:02:27 AM EasyTrigger DEBUG Device 38 value changed from 0 to 50
May-17 7:02:27 AM Z-Wave Device: Lighting Office Left Desk Set to 50
May-17 7:02:27 AM EasyTrigger DEBUG Device 252 value changed from 30 to 50
May-17 7:02:27 AM Device Control Device: Lighting_Controls Office Right Desk Previous Level to Dim 50% (50) by/from: CAPI Control Handler
May-17 7:02:27 AM Event Event Trigger "Office Test ET"
May-17 7:02:27 AM Event Event Office Test ET triggered by the event page 'Run' button.

Device 38 is "Left Desk"
Device 252 is "Right Desk Previous Value"

I had let the system sit idle then ran the event.
All lights in the house were off except for "Right Desk" which I had set to 50%, was 30%.
"Left Desk" was off.
Manually executed Event to copy from "Right Desk" to "Right Desk Previous Value" which was done correctly however "Left Desk" was also set which is shouldn't have.

I tried one more thing and got a different result. I copied from "Right Desk" to "Files" and everything worked correctly. the difference is that "Files" is a real device not a virtual one. Could this be the cause?

May-17 7:12:19 AM Event Event Trigger "Office Office - Status Any Lights On"
May-17 7:12:19 AM EasyTrigger DEBUG Firing event 103
May-17 7:12:19 AM EasyTrigger DEBUG Firing event 102
May-17 7:12:19 AM EasyTrigger DEBUG Device 41 value changed from 0 to 50
May-17 7:12:19 AM Z-Wave Device: Lighting Office Files Set to 50
May-17 7:12:19 AM Device Control Device: Lighting Office Files to Dim 50% (50) by/from: CAPI Control Handler
May-17 7:12:19 AM Event Event Trigger "Office Test ET"
May-17 7:12:19 AM Event Event Office Test ET triggered by the event page 'Run' button.

Device 41 is Files Light.

This would driving me to drink if I drank
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 17th, 2018, 10:26 AM
spud's Avatar
spud spud is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,074
please answer this question:
What happens when you manually set the virtual device from the device management page?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 17th, 2018, 10:32 AM
Timon's Avatar
Timon Timon is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by spud View Post
please answer this question:
What happens when you manually set the virtual device from the device management page?
The one thing I apparently didn't check. All of the virtual devices when change will cause the real device to change. However none of them are linked in anyway I can see.

I'd say that leave ET out of the loop.

Now to figure out when to look next.

Sorry about the false alarm.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 17th, 2018, 10:45 AM
Timon's Avatar
Timon Timon is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 294
Red face

Now I'm supper embarrassed but I figured out what happen.

I have a set of template I use so I don't have to create various virtual devices every time from scratch. One of them is Last Value and it's one that I made months ago.

Well, somehow, and I have no idea how, my Last Value Template got a link set to Left Desk Light. I never even bothered to check the links on the Last Value devices I just created.

So this doesn't happen again I'm going back through all my templates, plus any Last Values I've made but not yet setup, and checking them for links.

Again sorry for the false alarm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stop setting a device to the integer of another device theendisnye EasyTrigger Plug-In (3P) 0 December 17th, 2017 07:45 AM
Consider setting ALL devices to .."do not update device last.." phsubscribenl HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 4 February 5th, 2016 04:36 PM
Script to store device setting, change setting, run event, reset to orginal DSteiNeuro Script & Plug-In Development 7 April 4th, 2013 09:12 PM
Creating a new device and setting device code with C# .exe scottorwig Programming with HomeSeer 1 July 17th, 2008 01:05 AM
Setting device value of W800 related devices, doesn't work. themax74 HS2 / HSPRO 0 August 18th, 2005 03:21 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC