www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > JowiHue Plug-In

JowiHue Plug-In Discussion area for JowiHue plug-in by W.Vuyk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 17th, 2018, 10:18 PM
upstatemike's Avatar
upstatemike upstatemike is online now
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: upstate
Posts: 284
JowiHue Plugin Kills My Security Cameras

I have 4 Panasonic model HCM-331A security cameras that crash every time I enable the JowiHue plugin. I have other cameras that are not affected. I can't see any camera settings that I can adjust to resolve this. Any thoughts on just what is causing this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 18th, 2018, 04:11 AM
w.vuyk's Avatar
w.vuyk w.vuyk is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,822
Mike,

No clues here yet. How do you use these camera's with Homeseer? Do you have a certain plugin that uses the camera?.

How does it crash? Are you no longer able to access camera's, or is it the HS functions that are no longer working correct? More details on that would be welcome


Wim
__________________
-- Wim

Plugins:RFXCOM, HSTouch Server, Squeezebox, BLGData, Restart, Jon00's Perfmon and Network monitor, WeatherXML, BLBackup, TenScripting, BC4, Pushover, PHLocation, JowiHue, Zwave, Sonos
650 devices ---- 336 events ----- 40 scripts
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 18th, 2018, 10:00 AM
upstatemike's Avatar
upstatemike upstatemike is online now
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: upstate
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by w.vuyk View Post
Mike,

No clues here yet. How do you use these camera's with Homeseer? Do you have a certain plugin that uses the camera?.

How does it crash? Are you no longer able to access camera's, or is it the HS functions that are no longer working correct? More details on that would be welcome


Wim
The cameras are not used with Homeseer at all, they just stream to a Blue Iris DVR and a few tablets that I use for security monitors. (Not currently using the Blue Iris plugin).

It is not a just communication issue. The cameras stop working and require a power cycle to bring them back. It is only this one model of camera, I have other cameras running that are not affected. It is four different cameras with four different IP addresses so I don't think it is a simple IP conflict. It must be a response to some kind of broadcast from the JowiHue plugin.

Enabling the plugin crashes all 4 cameras immediately. If I restart the cameras while the plugin is still enabled they come up but then just crash again. If I disable the plugin and then reboot the cameras they work fine.

The web interface for the cameras is on port 80. RTSP port is 554. I don't know if the cameras use any other ports.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 19th, 2018, 05:26 AM
w.vuyk's Avatar
w.vuyk w.vuyk is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,822
The only broadcast done by the plugin is a UPNP call for deCONZ and/or Philips Hue bridges to report. After that a connection is made to the gateway of deCONZ or the Philips Hue bridges. This is normally over port 80 for the Philips bridges. The port used for deCONZ is shown during the start up of the plugin. Two ports are used for deCONZ, one for the REST API, the other for the webhook.

It would be very surprising if the plugin would use the 554 port for this. Even when it would use the same port, it is addressing the gateways directly, it is not broadcasting?

I would not have a clue why the camera's decide to go down for the plugin...


Wim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 19th, 2018, 11:40 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 15,117
Saw your post on Cocoontech upstatemike.

As you here keep my cameras / Zoneminder DVR mostly away from Homeseer 3 except for viewing on Homeseer touch.

The IP camera RTSP typically uses multiple ports for viewing and control of camera and these are connected to Blue Iris for DVR viewing.

IE: ports 554 and port 80 (or whatever is defined), DNS ports, NTP ports, UPNP ports, et al. Typically these can be adjusted. Some overseas cameras do have static configurations to speak to the internet and many times the US seller of said cameras will post domestic firmwares for US use.

If you have an RPi online you can SSH to the RPi then run a network scan for open ports on any device like your cameras to see open ports.

Here typically disable UPNP (another port). Other multiple camera to DVR users put their cameras on a separate subnet / VLAN or autonomous network such that the DVR connects to two networks (IE: one for the cameras and one main network).

Much of new cameras are mini computers now and are default configured to speak to the mothership on the internet using far away servers for time / DNS.
__________________
- Pete

Automator

HS3 Pro & Lite Edition Beta 3.0.0.435

HS3 Wintel Touch | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins | Speech - Microsoft SAPI - Neospeech - Amazon Echo | Hardware | Haswell Intel iSeries 3 - 16Gb | Pine64 - 2Gb computers | Openpeak Intel Atom SoC tabletop touchscreens (15 HS tabletop tablets) | Touchscreens - Windows embedded POE connected |Light switches - X10,UPB, ZWave and Zigbee | Firewall - PFSense - 2 WAN plus 4 LAN interfaces | Network - Gb managed switches / POE WAP(s) | CCTV - Zoneminder IPHD cams - variety | Audio - Russound - AB8SS | Security - Leviton HAI Omni Pro 2 | Weather - Davis Vantage Vue - MeteoStick - WeeWx | 1-Wire - AAG, Midon and HB | OWFS - Mosquitto - Node Red - Python - RPi Stretch - OpenWRT
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 19th, 2018, 02:11 PM
upstatemike's Avatar
upstatemike upstatemike is online now
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: upstate
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
Saw your post on Cocoontech upstatemike.

As you here keep my cameras / Zoneminder DVR mostly away from Homeseer 3 except for viewing on Homeseer touch.

The IP camera RTSP typically uses multiple ports for viewing and control of camera and these are connected to Blue Iris for DVR viewing.

IE: ports 554 and port 80 (or whatever is defined), DNS ports, NTP ports, UPNP ports, et al. Typically these can be adjusted. Some overseas cameras do have static configurations to speak to the internet and many times the US seller of said cameras will post domestic firmwares for US use.

If you have an RPi online you can SSH to the RPi then run a network scan for open ports on any device like your cameras to see open ports.

Here typically disable UPNP (another port). Other multiple camera to DVR users put their cameras on a separate subnet / VLAN or autonomous network such that the DVR connects to two networks (IE: one for the cameras and one main network).

Much of new cameras are mini computers now and are default configured to speak to the mothership on the internet using far away servers for time / DNS.
I like the RPI idea but don't have any online at the moment. My RPI project is tentatively scheduled for October so might revisit then if still unsolved. Meantime I will disable UPNP, Audio, and anything else I can find in the camera configuration to see if I can solve this. Otherwise I will leave the plugin disabled for now or replace the cameras. I'm still curious about those $40 POE cameras I saw on Amazon.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to Security Cameras Delay Blue Iris Plug-In 10 June 22nd, 2017 12:47 PM
Security Cameras waynehead99 Camera Discussion 90 August 23rd, 2016 08:27 AM
CAMERAS AND SECURITY Eman HomeSeer General Discussion Area 7 June 10th, 2015 10:38 AM
Security Cameras scotthpdx HomeSeer General Discussion Area 54 June 4th, 2014 08:05 AM
where to put security cameras? completelyhis General Home Automation Hardware Discussion 18 August 22nd, 2009 11:14 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC