www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in

HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in Discussions relating to the Z-Wave plug-in

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 17th, 2018, 04:13 PM
Kbevo's Avatar
Kbevo Kbevo is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: N Richland Hills Texas
Posts: 734
Question Unusual Com port error on Z-Stick...

I have been having trouble with my Way2Call Hi-Phone and while debugging, I powered it off and unplugged the USB connection (while HS3 was still up). A couple seconds later I received errors about my SmartStick+:

5/17/2018 11:34:18 AM,Warning,Hi-Phone disconnected from the USB, attempting to re-connect
5/17/2018 11:36:02 AM,Z-Wave Warning,SmartStick+: Exception(2) with COM port (COM11): The port is closed.
5/17/2018 11:36:02 AM,Z-Wave Warning,SmartStick+: Cannot configure COM port COM11, will attempt an open.

I restarted HS3 and all (seems) good now, but it makes me wonder what if any relationship my Way2Call might have with my SmartStick? Any thoughts as to what may have caused this?

Thanks
Gary

In Z-Wave.ini
[Interfaces]
IFace_0_Name=SmartStick+
IFace_0_Unique=BC93AFBFEEF2
IFace_0_IsMain=True
IFace_0_HomeID=FC-10-06-5A
IFace_0_Node=1
IFace_0_Model=4
IFace_0_COMPort=COM11
IFace_0_EthernetIP=192.168.0.xxx
IFace_0_EthernetPort=23
IFace_0_Disabled=False
IFace_0_ZNETName=Auto

Current Date/Time: 5/17/2018 1:56:27 PM
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.423
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro - Work Station
System Uptime: 0 Days 2 Hours 18 Minutes 18 Seconds
IP Address: 192.168.1.83
Number of Devices: 260
Number of Events: 72
Available Threads: 800
HSTouch Enabled: True
Event Threads: 0
Event Trigger Eval Queue: 0
Event Trigger Priority Eval Queue: 0
Device Exec Queue: 0
HSTouch Event Queue: 0
Email Send Queue: 0
Anti Virus Installed: Windows Defender

Enabled Plug-Ins
2.0.54.0: BLOnkyo
2.18.0.3: MCSSPRINKLERSP
30.0.0.36: RFXCOM
3.0.6551.16959: UltraGCIR3
3.0.0.40: X10
3.0.1.206: Z-Wave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 17th, 2018, 07:36 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 15,117
Thinking it is just a leftover in vivo ghost port thing.

You can probably shut down Homeseer 3 and reboot the computer with both the ZWave stick and W2C box plugged in and all will return to normal.

The Way2Call USB device is fussy. It will go off line sometimes for no reason. Historically I would shut down Homeseer and then reset the W2C box with the diagnostic utility to get it to work again.
__________________
- Pete

Automator

HS3 Pro & Lite Edition Beta 3.0.0.435

HS3 Wintel Touch | Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit | Oracle Windows Virtual Box ==> for Wintel only SAPI and HS3 plugins | Speech - Microsoft SAPI - Neospeech - Amazon Echo | Hardware | Haswell Intel iSeries 3 - 16Gb | Pine64 - 2Gb computers | Openpeak Intel Atom SoC tabletop touchscreens (15 HS tabletop tablets) | Touchscreens - Windows embedded POE connected |Light switches - X10,UPB, ZWave and Zigbee | Firewall - PFSense - 2 WAN plus 4 LAN interfaces | Network - Gb managed switches / POE WAP(s) | CCTV - Zoneminder IPHD cams - variety | Audio - Russound - AB8SS | Security - Leviton HAI Omni Pro 2 | Weather - Davis Vantage Vue - MeteoStick - WeeWx | 1-Wire - AAG, Midon and HB | OWFS - Mosquitto - Node Red - Python - RPi Stretch - OpenWRT
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 18th, 2018, 01:23 PM
Kbevo's Avatar
Kbevo Kbevo is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: N Richland Hills Texas
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
Thinking it is just a leftover in vivo ghost port thing. You can probably shut down Homeseer 3 and reboot the computer with both the ZWave stick and W2C box plugged in and all will return to normal.

Yeah, that's pretty much what I did. I believe all is good now. I did discover a 4/port edgeport that had a defective (intermittent) port that was (also) assigned to Com 11. It appears that the Edgeport port was not active/working when I first installed my SmartStick and Com 11 was assigned to Z-Wave. For some unknown reason during all this drama, the Edgeport Com 11 started working and created havoc with Z-Wave. Ended up going into the Edgeport config utility and reassigning that port to a different Com number.

Quote:
The Way2Call USB device is fussy. It will go off line sometimes for no reason. Historically I would shut down Homeseer and then reset the W2C box with the diagnostic utility to get it to work again.
Where do I get the diagnostic utility? Yes, I agree on W2C being fussy. I am now on my 4th (used) W2C box. One was DOA, another created off-hook conditions every 3 minutes, #3 worked well for a couple years, until just recently when, after several calls, it would lock up my VOIP phone line. I could power it down and back up and it would take off again, but it was a hard condition to recognize, so I put #4 into production. So far so good, but I don't know for how long. I guess I am going to have to break down and buy one new. Don't understand why they are so da*ned expensive.

Thanks for the feedback Pete, your views are always greatly appreciated.


Gary
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 20th, 2018, 09:47 AM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 15,117
The utilities / diagnostics come with the Way2Call drivers located here:

Way2call Computer Telephony Device Driver Dowloads

Here still using original Way2Call boxes (over 10 years old now). I have never updated firmware and power them up externally.

Using the Way2Call boxes with copper and Ooma VOIP lines and external modem cellular line. (modem = Ericsson W.25)

Related to Digi Edgeports here still using a few 8 port Edgeports (over 10 years old).

Note newest Digi Edgeport drivers auto magically update the Digi firmware when install newest Digi drivers in Windows only.

Attached is a Way2Call test application which is more granular than the stock diagnostics package. This allows for many adjustments.

Yes the WAY2Call boxes are way expensive. Here purchased them used / refurbished in the early 2000's.
Attached Files
File Type: zip w2cMultiExe20090408.zip (551.4 KB, 1 views)

Last edited by Pete; May 20th, 2018 at 09:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 20th, 2018, 02:13 PM
Kbevo's Avatar
Kbevo Kbevo is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: N Richland Hills Texas
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
Note newest Digi Edgeport drivers auto magically update the Digi firmware when install newest Digi drivers in Windows only.
I did not know this. I went to the digi web site, and it seems the only version reference I could find was to V5.70. Looking in the Device Manager, it shows I have 5.70.105.0 installed. Wonder if that is the latest? If you don't mind, could you tell me which version you have installed (although, you may not have a windows box come to think of it.) I have no idea what version firmware my 3 have. All of them are old, so unless my drivers are (behind the scenes) updating the firmware, it would be at least 10 years old.

Quote:
Attached is a Way2Call test application which is more granular than the stock diagnostics package. This allows for many adjustments.
Got it! Thanks much. Greatly appreciated! I will give it a try on all my Way2Call's and see what it says. Even the dead ones.

Quote:
Yes the WAY2Call boxes are way expensive. Here purchased them used / refurbished in the early 2000's.
Yeah, I been buying them used off eBay when I can find them under about $75. Then again, I haven't had much luck keeping them going either. Wish somebody could repair them.

Thanks again,
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 20th, 2018, 02:38 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 15,117
The Digi driver autoloads and updates the firmware if need be.

This is what I see.

Name:  digi.jpg
Views: 19
Size:  42.9 KB

Here have a couple of the Digi Edgeports with customized firmware that I have never seen before. They do function fine only that the com ports come up in pairs versus seeing all 8 at once.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 20th, 2018, 03:08 PM
Kbevo's Avatar
Kbevo Kbevo is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: N Richland Hills Texas
Posts: 734
Interesting! That looks very different than mine. I am W10, 1709, w/64 bit edgeport drivers. I don't even have the same tabs (Version, Advanced) on the properties that you show. Have any idea how you got "customized firmware"? Perhaps because your manufacturer is Inside Out, not Digi?


Gary



Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 20th, 2018, 03:35 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 15,117
Yeah you can see the Digi Edgeport manager under programs on Windows 10.

The Digi manager is installed with the drivers.

Will give it a go here on my Windows 10 VB running on my laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 20th, 2018, 04:06 PM
Kbevo's Avatar
Kbevo Kbevo is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: N Richland Hills Texas
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
Yeah you can see the Digi Edgeport manager under programs on Windows 10.

The Digi manager is installed with the drivers.

Will give it a go here on my Windows 10 VB running on my laptop.
Ok, now I think I am on the same page with you. I was using the Windows Device Manager, not the Edgeport Config Utility. Our firmware (Download Code Version) is the same (1.18.12), but your edgeser.sys has a different name than mine (edgeser64.sys). In any case, it does look like my drivers are updating the edgeport firmware, just like you (and the Digi FAQ) says they do. Thanks for helping me better understand my devices.
Gary


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 20th, 2018, 04:41 PM
Pete's Avatar
Pete Pete is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: House
Posts: 15,117
Yes you have the 64 bit drivers and the same firmware.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Losing Z-Stick COM Port Wadenut Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion 7 July 4th, 2012 06:49 AM
Unusual problem jwshome2 Ultra1Wire2 HSPI 4 January 16th, 2012 02:52 PM
Unusual Status Updates johnoc SqueezeBox Plug-In (3P) 1 November 1st, 2009 12:33 AM
unusual homeseer uses collegeboyslive HomeSeer General Discussion Area 14 November 18th, 2004 02:01 PM
Basic kit - unusual problem. HomersBrain HomeSeer General Discussion Area 7 October 18th, 2004 07:41 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC