Computer Build/Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Computer Build/Questions

I am new to HomeSeer and I am going to start getting involved with it.

Is it better to have a dedicated build just for HomeSeer or can it be shared with Windows Home Server or any other type of servers?

Personally I've always run Homeseer on it's own box.

That said its been a W2003 box now for many years.

I tried to tweak out Windows Home Server 2011 and had issues getting it to run like the W2003 OS running HS Pro box. It wasn't worth the time and effort modifying the W2011 OS such that it was more a W7 box running HSPro.

Many folks have had good luck running HS in a VM.
    - Pete

Auto mator
    Homeseer 3 Pro - 3.0.0.548 (Linux) - Ubuntu 18.04/W7e 64 bit Intel Haswell CPU 16Gb
    Homeseer Zee2 (Lite) - 3.0.0.548 (Linux) - Ubuntu 18.04/W7e - CherryTrail x5-Z8350 BeeLink 4Gb BT3 Pro
    HS4 Lite - Ubuntu 22.04 / Lenovo Tiny M900 / 32Gb Ram

HS4 Pro - V4.1.18.1 - Ubuntu 22.04 / Lenova Tiny M900 / 32Gb Ram
    HSTouch on Intel tabletop tablets (Jogglers) - Asus AIO - Windows 11

X10, UPB, Zigbee, ZWave and Wifi MQTT automation-Tasmota-Espurna. OmniPro 2, Russound zoned audio, Alexa, Cheaper RFID, W800 and Home Assistant

Comment

Originally posted by Pete View Post
      Personally I've always run Homeseer on it's own box.

That said its been a W2003 box now for many years.

I tried to tweak out Windows Home Server 2011 and had issues getting it to run like the W2003 OS running HS Pro box. It wasn't worth the time and effort modifying the W2011 OS such that it was more a W7 box running HSPro.

Many folks have had good luck running HS in a VM.
      Thanks for the reply.
      In that case, I will probably go with a dedicated win 7 64 bit machine

What type of build should I spec out? I'd prefer a low powered machine (green) if possible but do not want to have any delay issues.

Also, what kinds of serial (rs232) ports do you recommend? PCI or USB

Comment

Hi,