www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > 3rd Party Plug-Ins/Scripts > Plug-ins by Author > Click Here for List of Author Forums > MCS Plug-Ins and Scripts > mcsMQTT (3P)

mcsMQTT (3P) Discussion of mcsMQTT plug-in

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101  
Old January 17th, 2018, 10:26 AM
kideon kideon is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: virginia
Posts: 825
Just saw this on my Adafruit thought you folks might be interested in. PI powered epaper display with MQTT pushed messages. https://jsutton.co.uk/eink-mqtt-status/
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old January 17th, 2018, 02:42 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,783
It is a nice idea for a persistent display. I cannot think of a use I have at this time.

What I am looking for is a small tablet type display with scroll capability such as a Fire that runs an application that does nothing more than display a log received via Wifi. I collect fault information in a central location and have a Windows tray application that I can pop up to observe, but often I forget to look so adequate attention is not given. If the display was always visible then it would be more likely to be seen. I could do smartphone notifications, but immediate attention is often not needed and could be annoying. I have dabbled into doing some Android application, but never really caught onto being effective in that environment, but if something was shrink-wrapped then it would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old January 18th, 2018, 12:00 AM
epimetheus epimetheus is online now
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: League City, TX
Posts: 110
Michael,

I started getting this message today on 2 topics that I was previously receiving just fine. Any Ideas?

Quote:
ProcessMessage ElectricMeter/CurrentSummationDelivered=4.076 Line 0 Value was either too large or too small for an Int32. Service Version: NO_VERSION
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old January 18th, 2018, 01:05 AM
kideon kideon is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: virginia
Posts: 825
That appeals to the ocd sysadmin in me lol. Honestly my end goal is ambient displays. Simple and aesthetic in different rooms that can push to me what I neeed and offer slight interactivity for things like completing tasks etc, playing media and whatnot. Thinking magic mirror...
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old January 18th, 2018, 06:11 AM
Eman Eman is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael McSharry View Post
It is a nice idea for a persistent display. I cannot think of a use I have at this time.

What I am looking for is a small tablet type display with scroll capability such as a Fire that runs an application that does nothing more than display a log received via Wifi. I collect fault information in a central location and have a Windows tray application that I can pop up to observe, but often I forget to look so adequate attention is not given. If the display was always visible then it would be more likely to be seen. I could do smartphone notifications, but immediate attention is often not needed and could be annoying. I have dabbled into doing some Android application, but never really caught onto being effective in that environment, but if something was shrink-wrapped then it would be great.

Hi Michael,

A new user once posted a question here : https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=192984 Can this apply to this post (#102)

Or even this app : https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...tdash&hl=en_GB

The developer says it's for advanced users only and won't offer no help. I tried it and found it complicated and you cant change the size of icons (made for small screens).


Thanks man for the good work.




Eman.
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old January 18th, 2018, 02:21 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,783
Quote:
ProcessMessage ElectricMeter/CurrentSummationDelivered=4.076 Line 0 Value was either too large or too small for an Int32. Service Version: NO_VERSION
I can understand this if a long string of digits are being processed. If it is a number I likely place in integer format which can only hold numbers up to 2^31 (2,147,483,648). I will look into it.
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old January 18th, 2018, 04:25 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,783
I learned something about difference between HS3 and earlier versions with DeviceValue. When storing the DeviceValue a Double data type is expected by HS3. When reading DeviceValue an Integer data type is returned. With HS3 one needs to peek into the Device's devValue property which is read only. I made the updates and is available with 3.0.7.1 http://mcsSprinklers.com/mcsMQTT_3_0_7_1.zip
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old January 18th, 2018, 04:27 PM
epimetheus epimetheus is online now
Seer Plus
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: League City, TX
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael McSharry View Post
I learned something about difference between HS3 and earlier versions with DeviceValue. When storing the DeviceValue a Double data type is expected by HS3. When reading DeviceValue an Integer data type is returned. With HS3 one needs to peek into the Device's devValue property which is read only. I made the updates and is available with 3.0.7.1 http://mcsSprinklers.com/mcsMQTT_3_0_7_1.zip
Awesome! Thanks Michael. As a side note, I re-accepted the topics, creating new devices, and the problem went away.
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old January 19th, 2018, 10:12 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,783
I gave it a spin and found it to be easy to use for at least what I was trying to do. I tried middle size tiles which will allow eight to be placed on a small smartphone. I subscribed to my local MQTT broker. As one would expect updates occur in near real time. I have one of the tiles setup as a button so it provides not only status, but control via the smartphone.

What was not obvious was the method to edit after a tile was defined. With a long press on the tile a menu comes up that allows edit among other options.

I have not tried to setup a second tier of MQTT brokers and establish a WAN rather than LAN network so in my case the App applies only to use while at home.
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old January 22nd, 2018, 06:38 PM
qwiksilver96 qwiksilver96 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 39
I've been using MQTT Dash since it was released last year. It is a great app and has quite a bit of flexibility. There is a little known feature of being able to copy / backup your config. I can point folks to a quick tutorial if you are unable to find the feature.

Best,
Frank

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael McSharry View Post
I gave it a spin and found it to be easy to use for at least what I was trying to do. I tried middle size tiles which will allow eight to be placed on a small smartphone. I subscribed to my local MQTT broker. As one would expect updates occur in near real time. I have one of the tiles setup as a button so it provides not only status, but control via the smartphone.

What was not obvious was the method to edit after a tile was defined. With a long press on the tile a menu comes up that allows edit among other options.

I have not tried to setup a second tier of MQTT brokers and establish a WAN rather than LAN network so in my case the App applies only to use while at home.
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old February 9th, 2018, 12:56 PM
Jon's Avatar
Jon Jon is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael McSharry View Post
.
HS Events will support a change in DeviceValue. There are 3rd party plugins that will do DeviceString as the trigger.
Can you point me towards one of these plugins. I've been looking for this exact functionality but haven't found the plugin that does it.
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old February 9th, 2018, 01:22 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,783
The link on post 107 of this thread provides the latest. The Updater for HS3 has it listed in primary technology & lighting section contain both. For mcsMQTT it shows the original release the last time I looked so that is why the zip file exists in this thread. Install instructions are contained at the start of the user guide/manual that is linked at the first post of this thread.

mcsMQTT is the one discussed in this thread. Happy to customize if you have a need.
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old February 12th, 2018, 10:11 AM
happnatious1's Avatar
happnatious1 happnatious1 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 1,303
I have a mosquitto broker running on my Homeseer server Ubuntu. I have it talking to owntracks on my phone using ssl on port 8883. I had started writing a plugin to handle the coms to Homeseer but this plugin looks like it could save me some time.

I'm having trouble getting it to connect. From a terminal I'm able able to connect to my broker using: mosquitto_sub -h 192.168.1.9 -t "owntracks/#" -p 1883 -u "username" -P "password", however entering the ipaddress, username and password in the plugin then clicking refresh/rebuild yields MQTT Broker Connection Refused not authorized in the homeseer log.

Any idea what I'm doing wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old February 12th, 2018, 02:53 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,783
There was another post today where mcsMQTT was not able to clear authentication so it is likely something I need to look into when I return home at the end of the month. I did setup a broker with password during initial development, but have not revisited it with later builds. I firewall my broker so not concerned with authentication.
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old February 12th, 2018, 10:31 PM
happnatious1's Avatar
happnatious1 happnatious1 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 1,303
I changed my config to allow anonymous connections and the plugin was able to connect. Of course now I have absolutely no idea how this plugin is supposed to work
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old February 12th, 2018, 11:37 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,783
The manual with link in first post of this thread is pretty complete. I ordered a Pi from Amazon so I can setup a test machine where I am at now.
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old February 14th, 2018, 08:53 PM
qwiksilver96 qwiksilver96 is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by happnatious1 View Post
I changed my config to allow anonymous connections and the plugin was able to connect. Of course now I have absolutely no idea how this plugin is supposed to work
If your broker is public facing (on the internet), be careful about allowing anonymous connections to control your devices. It wouldn't take much for someone to see that you are running an MQTT broker on your network and to monitor for all MQTT traffic by subscribing to "#". They could then wreak all manner of havoc on your automation system.

I initially set up many devices to connect to my broker without requiring logon. My broker was public facing. I saw the need to secure the broker, yet I didn't want to change all of my esp8266 based clients because of the amount of work required to do so. The way that I was able to maintain this configuration AND to force authentication on my publicly facing broker was to set up a second broker on a Pi which I then bridged to the original broker. The publicly facing broker requires authentication and the internal (original broker) still allows all connections. I then hid the original broker behind my firewall so that it is not accessible on the internet and opened the secured broker to the internet.

Frank

Last edited by qwiksilver96; February 14th, 2018 at 09:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old February 14th, 2018, 10:11 PM
happnatious1's Avatar
happnatious1 happnatious1 is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 1,303
No worries,

My public facing port is secured with a password and encrypted with SSL. Only the local port was allowed to accept anonymous logins and only briefly for testing purposes.
I like the way you think though
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old February 14th, 2018, 10:21 PM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,783
I got my Pi &SD today so with any luck I can see what is going on with authentication tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old February 15th, 2018, 02:18 AM
Michael McSharry's Avatar
Michael McSharry Michael McSharry is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Bend, WA, USA
Posts: 13,783
3.0.8.0 has been uploaded for updater, but updater still is not recognizing the updates. http://mcsSprinklers.com/mcsMQTT_3_0_8_0.zip

Two changes. One is to fix authentication. SSL has not been implemented, but username and password at the broker have been corrected. It was a typo on the setting name in the .ini file.

Added a setup option for those who have heavy MQTT traffic, but little of it is needed for HS. This is a radio near the top of the setup. The default remains to discover everything published by the broker, but it can be set to only subscribed to messages that have already been Accepted and are mapped into HS3 devices. This was done for those who are sensitive to LAN or CPU usage for the messages that are not needed. Manual updated in Section 5 to describe this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ERRO Calling SetIOMulti in plugin Arduino Plugin:Object reference not set to an in fvhemert Arduino Plugin (3P) 5 April 28th, 2017 10:15 AM
Nest Plugin Errors - cannot change temperature via plugin TimSRQ Nest Devices (3P) 2 August 15th, 2016 08:48 AM
Upgrade procedure for ACRF plugin from W800 free plugin htsource ACRF Processor (3P) 14 January 26th, 2006 11:21 AM
Switch-to messages, plugin restart, and plugin startup Michael McSharry Plug-In Development 4 January 27th, 2003 11:20 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC