www.homeseer.com    

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > 3rd Party Plug-Ins/Scripts > Plug-ins by Author > Click Here for List of Author Forums > MCS Plug-Ins and Scripts > mcsMQTT (3P)

mcsMQTT (3P) Discussion of mcsMQTT plug-in

Old April 12th, 2018, 04:12 PM
OverSeer

SSL Support for mcsMQTT

With 3.2.16.0 encryption support was added. I am a novice with encryption and to my knowledge do not have a way to test it. This thread is setup for me to learn and for others to provide feedback on using it with a broker that supports encryption.

The General Tab adds three user entries. One is for the SSL level with 4 secure options available. There is an entry for the caCert file path and an entry for the Client cert file path.

I have evaluated the the UI works to enter these items and they are used when setting up the connection to the broker. I have confirmed that dummy files for the certificates generate an cryptography error (as expected). In this case a non-secure connection is attempted. which may or may not succeed based upon the broker port entered.
Old April 12th, 2018, 04:47 PM
OverSeer

Still in learning mode here with Node Red.

Will give it a try with my newest test 1-wire RPi2 hub.

Name:  ssl.jpg
Views: 130
Size:  82.7 KB

Automator

HS3 Pro & Lite Edition Beta 3.0.0.4449