www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler)

Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) Discussions related to Mark Sandler's 3rd parth plug-in for controlling Insteon devices via Smarthome's PLM interfaces (the 2412 & 2413 series controllers)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 20th, 2017, 10:50 AM
MarkSeer MarkSeer is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: NY-New York
Posts: 31
Unhappy Insteon devices lost after HS upgrade, events broken

After upgrading from HS 3.0.0.298 to 3.0.0318 all Insteon devices were gone. I followed the instructions in another post and restored the entire contents of the insteon.ini file from the bottom of the insteon error report log file in the pre-upgrade backup and this restored all of the devices. The problem is that none of the events that involve an Insteon device work and the events page shows (select a device) everywhere there was a device. I have a lot of complex events so going through each one would be a royal pain in the you know what...

Is there a way to restore these easily? The backup I have is from when I was on the old version, so if I restore homeseer to that previous version backup, would there be some sort of a config mismatch? If not, could you please direct me to instructions on how to restore these events from backup while messing up a little other stuff as possible?

Thanks,
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 20th, 2017, 12:38 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,677
i'll have to speak with HST on this issue.

You need to restore an insteon.ini and homeseer database together.

I think you can restore an older homeseer db and the newer app will upgrade it as necessary
__________________
Mark

HS3 Pro 3.0.0.280
Hardware: Insteon Serial PLM | Vista Alarm 20P with AD2USB | HAI Omnistat2 | 1-Wire HA7E | RFXrec433 | Dahua Cameras | LiftMaster Internet Gateway
Plugins: Insteon 3.0.5.76 (mine) | Vista Alarm (mine) | Omnistat 3 (by Kirby) | Ultra1Wire | RFXCOM | NetCAM | Surveillance Station (kriz83) | MyQ | BLRadar | Jon00 Charting
Platform: HP h8-1360t, Windows Server 2012 R2, i7-3.4GHz, 16GB memory
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 20th, 2017, 01:28 PM
MarkSeer MarkSeer is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: NY-New York
Posts: 31
Thanks.. Do I need to post this to a different part of the forum, or will you follow up?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 20th, 2017, 01:30 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,677
you might ask elsewhere about restoring an older db to .318, but otherwise I can help you get your insteon devices back
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 22nd, 2017, 12:27 PM
MarkSeer MarkSeer is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: NY-New York
Posts: 31
The devices are back. The issue now is that the events that involve the insteon devices no longer reference them. How is this rectified without rebuilding all of them?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 22nd, 2017, 02:06 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,677
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkSeer View Post
The devices are back. The issue now is that the events that involve the insteon devices no longer reference them. How is this rectified without rebuilding all of them?
you must restore a good insteon.ini and homeseer database from the same backup timeframe
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 5th, 2017, 05:42 PM
tomstechnic tomstechnic is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 7
I'm seeing the same problem. I restore from a previous backup, but once I update the Interface port for insteon, and restart, all of my devices disappear.

Insteon plugin version 3.0.6.0
HS3 v3.0.0.318
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 5th, 2017, 07:28 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,677
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomstechnic View Post
I'm seeing the same problem. I restore from a previous backup, but once I update the Interface port for insteon, and restart, all of my devices disappear.

Insteon plugin version 3.0.6.0
HS3 v3.0.0.318
please restore an Insteon.ini and corresponding HS database

This problem is with HS. It's shuting down and not closing the ini properly
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost all Insteon devices independentpete Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 42 February 8th, 2017 07:48 AM
all devices and events get lost scheder@ga.com HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 12 July 3rd, 2016 01:15 PM
Help! Lost all my INSTEON devices Seer1001 ISY Plug-in Beta (3P) 15 May 28th, 2012 07:09 PM
Lost all of my devices, events, etc pcgeek HS2 / HSPRO 11 September 12th, 2008 09:25 PM
Insteon Devices Lost dona Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 2 January 15th, 2008 06:49 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC