www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer General Discussion Area > Migrating to HomeSeer (From Another System)

Migrating to HomeSeer (From Another System) Are you migrating from another system to HomeSeer? Use this forum to connect with others who've done the same thing!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 20th, 2018, 11:10 PM
jbfoster jbfoster is offline
Viewer
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: California
Posts: 2
Coming from Vera

Thought I would say Hello, I was a Vera user for 5 years. I got fed up with the weekly and sometimes daily fixing of my Vera Plus. A few weeks ago I purchased HS3. It was a bit of a learning curve coming from a different platform. I spent Saturday installing HS3 and adding my 20 devices. Spent Sunday setting up events and just playing around with HS3. All went pretty smooth. I did contact support on Saturday for a minor issue which ended up me doing something wrong. Support responded same day within a couple of hours. In the past few weeks all has gone smooth and no issues at all. My devices respond much faster to my Echo. The UI is a bit ugly but doesn't hurt performance. I do have to say though I think the plugins are bit pricey. I only needed 2 plugins for now and I got both on sale so I save $20 bucks. So far I am really happy with HS3 and wish I would have switched sooner.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 21st, 2018, 04:28 PM
sirmeili sirmeili is offline
Super Seer
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 1,701
Welcome!

I came over from Vera in 2015 and right after I lost my job. I hated Vera so much and liked HS so much, that I didn't even try to get a refund (Like within a week of buying it I lost my job...LOL)
__________________
Thanks,
Frank
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 21st, 2018, 10:49 PM
jeubanks jeubanks is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 583
Welcome to the club. I came to HS almost 2 months ago. I got tired of the constant problems with Vera as well. I found Vera is ok as ONLY a device controller, but if you try to do anything else with it all bets are off. I'm enjoying HomeSeer and getting into writing plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 22nd, 2018, 09:38 AM
ServiceXp's Avatar
ServiceXp ServiceXp is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 826
Welcome to the group. I also came from Vera..
__________________
RJ_Make On YouTube
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 22nd, 2018, 04:56 PM
jquincy jquincy is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: MO - Missouri
Posts: 47
I also came from VERA. You will be happy with the Homeseer decision. Welcome
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 26th, 2018, 09:10 PM
onepointbrewing onepointbrewing is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Singapore
Posts: 6
I also came over from Vera.

I dont know why I took so long to see the light (as humans we are always scared of spending more on a system you already have).

The speed of HS makes me laugh excitedly when I do something its so good. Its INSTANTANEOUS!

For some reason I had accepted that Home Automation was always going to be slow, however now I see that Vera is just woefully - I mean WOEFULLY - underpowered.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 26th, 2018, 09:38 PM
jeubanks jeubanks is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by onepointbrewing View Post
I also came over from Vera.

I dont know why I took so long to see the light (as humans we are always scared of spending more on a system you already have).

The speed of HS makes me laugh excitedly when I do something its so good. Its INSTANTANEOUS!

For some reason I had accepted that Home Automation was always going to be slow, however now I see that Vera is just woefully - I mean WOEFULLY - underpowered.

Thanks
That's the problem with Vera...it's far to under-powered to really achieve what it could.

But with no apps running and a clean install it makes for a good zigbee controller for HomeSeer!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 26th, 2018, 10:02 PM
brientim brientim is online now
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 346
Coming from Vera

Funny how some perceptions are reported. I went from Homeseer to Vera to OpenHAB and then HS. All have their own good and not so bad points and are targeting different segments of the market.

That being said, I was happy to migrate back to Homeseer after a stint on OH and when I did and the push was MCV were not responding to known defects and I didn’t see any indication that there were going to in the short to long term.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 26th, 2018, 11:05 PM
jeubanks jeubanks is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by brientim View Post
Funny how some perceptions are reported. I went from Homeseer to Vera to OpenHAB and then HS. All have their own good and not so bad points and are targeting different segments of the market.

That being said, I was happy to migrate back to Homeseer after a stint on OH and when I did and the push was MCV were not responding to known defects and I didn’t see any indication that there were going to in the short to long term.
Yeah I've been around the block as well but I finally saw the light and came to HomeSeer. It cost me more trying everything else but I got a really good education out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 27th, 2018, 02:34 AM
onepointbrewing onepointbrewing is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Singapore
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeubanks View Post
It cost me more trying everything else but I got a really good education out of it.
Yep, its the only thing im thankful for Vera for..... putting up with a slow platform - not thankful for
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 27th, 2018, 09:42 AM
cowinger cowinger is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Colorado
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeubanks View Post
That's the problem with Vera...it's far to under-powered to really achieve what it could.

But with no apps running and a clean install it makes for a good zigbee controller for HomeSeer!
I have a Vera Edge that hasn't been powered up for a couple of years. How did you get it to do the zigbee devices. I currently use a conbee (which is limited on devices) and I am curious as to what devices the vera edge can control.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 27th, 2018, 06:20 PM
cowinger cowinger is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Colorado
Posts: 823
John, Which of the vera's do you have. Did you connect it as a secondary controller or is that possible?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 27th, 2018, 06:38 PM
jeubanks jeubanks is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowinger View Post
John, Which of the vera's do you have. Did you connect it as a secondary controller or is that possible?
I have a Vera Plus (2 actually).

The Vera Plus support Zigbee (so does the Vera Secure). Anyways. They work with a limited (check the vera supported list) number of zigbee devices. I got lucky in that coming from Vera all my zigbee was already working but would not work with HomeSeer.

However Vera has a good HTTP API and So does HS3. So I used them. There's a couple of ways of doing this. It could also be done with the Vera MQTT app. I'm using it also for basic sensor data but not for motion sensors. For motion sensors I use Vera Scenes one for on one for off and they make a Lua call to the HS3 Json API that turns on/off a virtual device in HS3. From that point make events as normal for whatever you want that sensor used for.

One thing I have to say is that Vera scene execution is very fast so it's almost like the sensors are native to HS3.

The same thing can be done with switches as well, but I'm actually thinking of doing a plugin for that, but I go back and forth on that as I don't use zigbee switches except power plugs for repeaters. I only use zigbee sensors and the use of scenes for motion sensors and then mqtt for other things like temp/humidity is perfect through mqtt because I don't have the "instant" want for that data. A few milliseconds on receiving that data doesn't matter to me.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 27th, 2018, 07:56 PM
cowinger cowinger is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Colorado
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeubanks View Post
I have a Vera Plus (2 actually).

The Vera Plus support Zigbee (so does the Vera Secure). Anyways. They work with a limited (check the vera supported list) number of zigbee devices. I got lucky in that coming from Vera all my zigbee was already working but would not work with HomeSeer.

However Vera has a good HTTP API and So does HS3. So I used them. There's a couple of ways of doing this. It could also be done with the Vera MQTT app. I'm using it also for basic sensor data but not for motion sensors. For motion sensors I use Vera Scenes one for on one for off and they make a Lua call to the HS3 Json API that turns on/off a virtual device in HS3. From that point make events as normal for whatever you want that sensor used for.

One thing I have to say is that Vera scene execution is very fast so it's almost like the sensors are native to HS3.

The same thing can be done with switches as well, but I'm actually thinking of doing a plugin for that, but I go back and forth on that as I don't use zigbee switches except power plugs for repeaters. I only use zigbee sensors and the use of scenes for motion sensors and then mqtt for other things like temp/humidity is perfect through mqtt because I don't have the "instant" want for that data. A few milliseconds on receiving that data doesn't matter to me.
I saw in the list for the edge that there were some zigbee devices that were supposedly controllable by the edge but I am not sure about that. Does the edge even have a zigbee radio? I didn't think it did.
Anyways have you thought about using the conbee and the jowihue plugin. I have a whole bunch of devices running off it. Osram adj. white, color; sengled, adj white; and philips motion sensors.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old May 27th, 2018, 08:38 PM
jeubanks jeubanks is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowinger View Post
I saw in the list for the edge that there were some zigbee devices that were supposedly controllable by the edge but I am not sure about that. Does the edge even have a zigbee radio? I didn't think it did.
Anyways have you thought about using the conbee and the jowihue plugin. I have a whole bunch of devices running off it. Osram adj. white, color; sengled, adj white; and philips motion sensors.
I don't know if the Edge has a Zigbee radio or not. Just using what I got.

I have and use the JowiHue plugin and I think it's great with my Hue bridge and with my DeConz server. Nothing negative about it.

As for Conbee/Raspbee with DeConz. I look at your list of things you have running. All lights and Philips. I have a ConBeee and DeConz setup and it works great with the two Osram/Lightify+ plus bulbs I have. It doesn't work with my NYCE motion sensors or door sensors or my old SmartThings multipurpose sensors or any other Zigbee device I have (lamp module for repeater). I'm hoping and waiting for the day more ZHA things are supported by DeConz and not just ZLL.

Now on the FLIP side of what I just said. I really do want to try a Philips motion sensor. Three reasons.

1. I have never tested them.
2. I think they will work with JowiHue through the Hue bridge
3. If they work and have excellent performance then they are cheaper than the NYCE sensors.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old May 27th, 2018, 10:00 PM
cowinger cowinger is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Colorado
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeubanks View Post
I don't know if the Edge has a Zigbee radio or not. Just using what I got.

I have and use the JowiHue plugin and I think it's great with my Hue bridge and with my DeConz server. Nothing negative about it.

As for Conbee/Raspbee with DeConz. I look at your list of things you have running. All lights and Philips. I have a ConBeee and DeConz setup and it works great with the two Osram/Lightify+ plus bulbs I have. It doesn't work with my NYCE motion sensors or door sensors or my old SmartThings multipurpose sensors or any other Zigbee device I have (lamp module for repeater). I'm hoping and waiting for the day more ZHA things are supported by DeConz and not just ZLL.

Now on the FLIP side of what I just said. I really do want to try a Philips motion sensor. Three reasons.

1. I have never tested them.
2. I think they will work with JowiHue through the Hue bridge
3. If they work and have excellent performance then they are cheaper than the NYCE sensors.
I answered your other thread. I have the hue motion sensors and I wouldn't buy any other zigbee sensor. They work great even through conbee, deconz and the jowihue plugin. What makes them better is their response time. They will reset back to no motion after 10 sec. and it doesn't seem to hurt the battery life. Also the light sensor is completely independent of motion. I have zooz ones that won't send a light value unless you trip the motion part.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old May 27th, 2018, 11:07 PM
jeubanks jeubanks is online now
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Inwood, WV
Posts: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowinger View Post
I answered your other thread. I have the hue motion sensors and I wouldn't buy any other zigbee sensor. They work great even through conbee, deconz and the jowihue plugin. What makes them better is their response time. They will reset back to no motion after 10 sec. and it doesn't seem to hurt the battery life. Also the light sensor is completely independent of motion. I have zooz ones that won't send a light value unless you trip the motion part.
I have a Zooz 4-n-1 and zse09 and i think they are the same on not updating lux.

Zigbee motion sensors are generally a lot better than z-wave on their speed and reset times. I think for sensors zigbee is probably better than z-wave but I'm not doing with my testing/comparison yet

I really like the NYCE Ceiling motion sensors. They are super discreet and Zigbee so they are super fast response/reset times.

Oh yeah I saw your other reply
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coming from VERA - Where's the STOP button? SJM992 Migrating to HomeSeer (From Another System) 2 March 22nd, 2017 07:49 PM
HS3 Pro merge to Vera Plus joemaletz HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 10 October 17th, 2016 03:22 PM
Compatibility (Fibaro, TKB, Aeon, Duwi, Everspring) - coming from Vera JonathanLondon HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 0 August 2nd, 2016 11:51 AM
Vera vs zee S2 gd1210 Migrating to HomeSeer (From Another System) 13 March 19th, 2016 09:57 AM
Vera 2? AbMagFAb HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 6 January 27th, 2011 01:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC