www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion > Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler)

Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) Discussions related to Mark Sandler's 3rd parth plug-in for controlling Insteon devices via Smarthome's PLM interfaces (the 2412 & 2413 series controllers)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 15th, 2017, 03:54 PM
docbrock docbrock is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: California
Posts: 5
Mark Sandler Insteon plugin issues

Please excuse my ignorance. I am new to homeseer and the 3rd party plugins. I have been using Insteon devices for years via ISY99i with a PLM 2413S PowerLinc interface. Because I also have RadioRA Classic, Lutron Caseta, NEST and Autelis I thought it was time to consolidate under one system. Homeseer seems to be the perfect choice. I have muddled through the setup and have been able to transition my RadioRA, NEST and LutronCaseta devices with some hiccups along the way. However, the Insteon transition has been much more problematic. I am unable to get the plugin to recognize the PLM. Maybe there is something obvious I am overlooking. I don't think it's the PLM interface because it works fine when connected to the ISY99i.

Currently, I have the PLM connected directly to the HomeTroller S6 via a serial to RJ45 adapter cable plugged into the COM1 port on the troller. Also, I have set the plugin to COM1 on the configuration page. However, I keep getting the same error.

** Unable to communicate with the Insteon powerline interface ***
Please make sure the interface is configured correctly and restart the plug-in.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here is the error log report.


Insteon Plug-in Error Log Generated 12/15/2017 11:05:56 AM
-----------*Error Message*----------------
Error: Forced error / log generation -- 12/15/2017 11:05:56 AM
--------*Initialization Log*--------------
12/15/2017 10:56:08 AM - Host System: 10.0.1.221 (HomeTrollerS) 3.0.0.368
12/15/2017 10:56:08 AM - Plugin HSPI_Insteon.exe version: 3.0.6.0
12/15/2017 10:56:08 AM - Insteon Support library (Insteon.dll) version: 1.0.6.0
12/15/2017 10:56:08 AM - RegisterCallback Completed
12/15/2017 10:56:08 AM - Enter InitIO
12/15/2017 10:56:08 AM - Enter InitPlugin
12/15/2017 10:56:08 AM - Global initialization of plug-in required, starting up.
12/15/2017 10:56:08 AM - Initializing Insteon hardware interface...
12/15/2017 10:56:08 AM - In ProcessRawReceiveThread
12/15/2017 10:56:08 AM - Initializing Interface...
12/15/2017 10:56:08 AM - In PLMBuffer_ProcessBufferThread
12/15/2017 10:56:08 AM - Sending command 02 60 to Interface, (Expecting 6 bytes extra back) Pre-Payload ACK:False, NAK is ok:False
12/15/2017 10:56:09 AM - ..did not receive a response from the Interface
12/15/2017 10:56:09 AM - ..Retry #1 required. Pausing 250ms for Interface to clear...
12/15/2017 10:56:11 AM - ..did not receive a response from the Interface
12/15/2017 10:56:11 AM - ..Retry #2 required. Pausing 300ms for Interface to clear...
12/15/2017 10:56:12 AM - ..did not receive a response from the Interface
12/15/2017 10:56:12 AM - Insteon hardware interface initialization failed.
12/15/2017 10:56:12 AM - Exit InitIO
12/15/2017 10:58:06 AM - Global initialization of plug-in required, starting up.
12/15/2017 10:58:06 AM - Initializing Insteon hardware interface...
12/15/2017 10:58:06 AM - Initializing Interface...
12/15/2017 10:58:06 AM - In ProcessRawReceiveThread
12/15/2017 10:58:06 AM - In PLMBuffer_ProcessBufferThread
12/15/2017 10:58:06 AM - Sending command 02 60 to Interface, (Expecting 6 bytes extra back) Pre-Payload ACK:False, NAK is ok:False
12/15/2017 10:58:08 AM - ..did not receive a response from the Interface
12/15/2017 10:58:08 AM - ..Retry #1 required. Pausing 250ms for Interface to clear...
12/15/2017 10:58:09 AM - ..did not receive a response from the Interface
12/15/2017 10:58:09 AM - ..Retry #2 required. Pausing 300ms for Interface to clear...
12/15/2017 10:58:10 AM - ..did not receive a response from the Interface
12/15/2017 10:58:10 AM - Insteon hardware interface initialization failed.
12/15/2017 10:58:10 AM - Exit InitX10
12/15/2017 10:58:10 AM - Could not contact Interface on COM1
12/15/2017 10:58:10 AM - Scheduled polling enabled.
12/15/2017 11:00:07 AM - ***:Forced error / log generation
12/15/2017 11:01:08 AM - Saving comm stats...
12/15/2017 11:01:08 AM - ..finished saving comm stats.
12/15/2017 11:03:54 AM - Submit Changes Selected
12/15/2017 11:03:54 AM - Enter InitX10
12/15/2017 11:03:54 AM - Please first Enable the Insteon plugin on the Homeseer Plugin Manage page.
12/15/2017 11:03:54 AM - Enter InitPlugin
12/15/2017 11:03:54 AM - Global initialization of plug-in required, starting up.
12/15/2017 11:03:54 AM - Initializing Insteon hardware interface...
12/15/2017 11:03:54 AM - Initializing Interface...
12/15/2017 11:03:54 AM - In ProcessRawReceiveThread
12/15/2017 11:03:54 AM - In PLMBuffer_ProcessBufferThread
12/15/2017 11:03:54 AM - Sending command 02 60 to Interface, (Expecting 6 bytes extra back) Pre-Payload ACK:False, NAK is ok:False
12/15/2017 11:03:55 AM - ..did not receive a response from the Interface
12/15/2017 11:03:55 AM - ..Retry #1 required. Pausing 250ms for Interface to clear...
12/15/2017 11:03:57 AM - ..did not receive a response from the Interface
12/15/2017 11:03:57 AM - ..Retry #2 required. Pausing 300ms for Interface to clear...
12/15/2017 11:03:58 AM - ..did not receive a response from the Interface
12/15/2017 11:03:58 AM - Insteon hardware interface initialization failed.
12/15/2017 11:03:58 AM - Exit InitX10
12/15/2017 11:03:58 AM - Could not contact Interface on COM1
12/15/2017 11:04:02 AM - ***:Forced error / log generation
12/15/2017 11:05:56 AM - ***:Forced error / log generation

-----------*Pre-Error Log*----------------
12/15/2017 10:56:12 AM - Could not contact Interface on COM1
12/15/2017 10:56:45 AM - ***:Forced error / log generation
12/15/2017 10:57:55 AM - Submit Changes Selected
12/15/2017 10:58:06 AM - Submit Changes Selected
12/15/2017 10:58:06 AM - Enter InitX10
12/15/2017 10:58:06 AM - Please first Enable the Insteon plugin on the Homeseer Plugin Manage page.
12/15/2017 10:58:06 AM - Enter InitPlugin
--------*End Pre-Error Log*--------------
--------*Start C:\Program Files (x86)\HomeSeer HS3\Config\Insteon.ini*--------------
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 15th, 2017, 04:11 PM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,189
linux uses a different set of values for the port


Use one the following for the Port name:

/dev/ttyS0 is COM1
/dev/ttyS1 is COM2
/dev/ttyUSB0 is USB
__________________
Mark

HS3 Pro 3.0.0.368
Hardware: Insteon Serial PLM | Vista Alarm 20P with AD2USB | HAI Omnistat2 | 1-Wire HA7E | RFXrec433 | Dahua Cameras | LiftMaster Internet Gateway
Plugins: Insteon 3.0.6.23 (mine) | Vista Alarm (mine) | Omnistat 3 (by Kirby) | Ultra1Wire | RFXCOM | NetCAM | MyQ | BLRadar | Jon00 Charting
Platform: HP h8-1360t, Windows Server 2012 R2, i7-3.4GHz, 16GB memory
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 15th, 2017, 10:55 PM
docbrock docbrock is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: California
Posts: 5
My HomeTrollerS is running Windows 10 not linux. I have the PLM attached to COM1 but the plug-in will not recognize it. I have tried two separate serial to RJ45 cables to attach the PLM to the hometroller. Is there a better way to attach it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 16th, 2017, 08:33 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,189
the cable that comes with the PLM is pretty simple, it connects Tx, Rx, and Gnd. i doubt its the cable assuming you have one that meets the specs of the standard cable.

have you tried a factory reset on the PLM?

can you try a different COM port?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 17th, 2017, 03:46 AM
logbuilder logbuilder is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pacific North West
Posts: 624
When I first installed the Insteon PI, I too had problems connecting the PLM. Mark helped me over those problems and things have been smooth sailing since. I was attaching my serial PLM via USB. Special cable was needed. I didn't have a real serial port on my server.

Once the PLM was working, and you know the address of a device, I've never had problems adding them. I did buy some of my switches/dimmers used so I would often get links to devices that didn't exist. There is a function to delete them. I am really impressed with the PI and am very happy that we have access to the developer.

A tip:
One thing that I didn't initially realize the greatness of is being able to group devices. Generally, I control scenes and it is no big deal to set 3 or 4 switches in an event. Then I created a 'High Alert' scene that flashes all the lights in the house until disabled. That is over 20 devices. If I referenced each one separately in the event, it worked but it seemed slow and random and would eventually fail. It kind of worked but was not acceptable. Sometime later I learned about groups and put all lighting devices into one group. Now in the High Alert event, I just toggle the group on/off. Instantly they all go off/off at once. I haven't found a need for other groups but you might. When controlling many devices at once, it is much nicer. Makes the events simpler too.

Here is link to my getting started thread with the PLM and the plugin. It is short but may help.
https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=185589

Thanks Mark!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 18th, 2017, 04:46 AM
docbrock docbrock is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: California
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnsandler View Post
the cable that comes with the PLM is pretty simple, it connects Tx, Rx, and Gnd. i doubt its the cable assuming you have one that meets the specs of the standard cable.

have you tried a factory reset on the PLM?

can you try a different COM port?
Thanks Mark I will give those a try. Currently I have my RadioRA Chronos attached to COM 2 and the PLM to COM 1. I’ll try switching them tomorrow.

If that doesn’t do it then I’ll try resetting the PLM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 18th, 2017, 04:54 AM
docbrock docbrock is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: California
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by logbuilder View Post
When I first installed the Insteon PI, I too had problems connecting the PLM. Mark helped me over those problems and things have been smooth sailing since. I was attaching my serial PLM via USB. Special cable was needed. I didn't have a real serial port on my server.

Once the PLM was working, and you know the address of a device, I've never had problems adding them. I did buy some of my switches/dimmers used so I would often get links to devices that didn't exist. There is a function to delete them. I am really impressed with the PI and am very happy that we have access to the developer.

A tip:
One thing that I didn't initially realize the greatness of is being able to group devices. Generally, I control scenes and it is no big deal to set 3 or 4 switches in an event. Then I created a 'High Alert' scene that flashes all the lights in the house until disabled. That is over 20 devices. If I referenced each one separately in the event, it worked but it seemed slow and random and would eventually fail. It kind of worked but was not acceptable. Sometime later I learned about groups and put all lighting devices into one group. Now in the High Alert event, I just toggle the group on/off. Instantly they all go off/off at once. I haven't found a need for other groups but you might. When controlling many devices at once, it is much nicer. Makes the events simpler too.

Here is link to my getting started thread with the PLM and the plugin. It is short but may help.
https://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=185589

Thanks Mark!
Thanks for the tip. And glad to hear there’s hope for my remaining Insteon devices. Currently using MobiLinc for smartphone control which works pretty well. However, I’m tired of having multiple separate apps to control all my devices. I’m sure once I have everything figured out and under control of HomeSeer I’ll never look back. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 18th, 2017, 04:39 PM
docbrock docbrock is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: California
Posts: 5
Ok. So changing the port (physical and within configuration) from COM1 to COM2 and resetting the PLM to factory default did not work.

PLM seems good and works fine when restored to ISY.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 24th, 2017, 11:43 AM
mnsandler's Avatar
mnsandler mnsandler is offline
Insteon Overlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,189
any progress? I'm wondering if the cable you are using is designed to work with a com port versas the ISY port
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feature Requests for the Mark Sandler Insteon PLM Plug-In mnsandler Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 327 January 3rd, 2018 10:39 PM
Base HS Insteon Plugin versus Mark Sandler's amr42 Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 4 September 13th, 2016 10:57 AM
Insteon Thermostat for HS3 v3.0.5.3 - (requires Mark Sandler's HS3 Insteon plugin) nfrobertson Insteon Thermostat (3P) 10 July 24th, 2016 08:07 AM
Insteon Mark's Plugin - New Values ez1976 HSTouch™ 10 September 5th, 2014 12:04 PM
HS Insteon vs. Sandler Insteon Plugin MarkHargrove Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 11 June 7th, 2014 06:23 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC