www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Lighting & Primary Technology Plug-ins > Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion

Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion Lighting & Primary Technology General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old October 16th, 2017, 05:04 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechFan View Post
Hm. Okay. I didn't realize the functionality had been implemented that recently. I guess my timing is working out. So, does the HS3 version need to be at a certain version as well?

Thanks!
the release version (130) was published on June 16th.... there have been 18 subsequent beta releases since then. If you have the most recent NON-BETA version of HS3, that should be fine.
__________________


website | products | support | youtube
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old October 16th, 2017, 06:18 PM
TechFan's Avatar
TechFan TechFan is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: WA
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by macromark View Post
the release version (130) was published on June 16th.... there have been 18 subsequent beta releases since then. If you have the most recent NON-BETA version of HS3, that should be fine.
Time flies sometimes. . .I have had a lot of transitions here, so haven't been keeping up.

Still having to use a ZWave version that is newer than June 2017 is pretty recent in comparison to having these bulbs since 2014 (I have had a few since then, but got a batch in April 2017, then again more in August).

Thanks again for confirming. Looking forward to controlling the dimming speed!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old October 17th, 2017, 12:23 AM
TechFan's Avatar
TechFan TechFan is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: WA
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechFan View Post
I did just download the file. . .and HS complains it can't handle the .hec file (filename.hec has invalid extension, only .hex are allowed). I need to read change logs and do the extensive backups before applying the latest HS3 update. I have the latest released ZWave already .130. Is the change log for the newer ZWave posted to the beta plugin page (doesn't always get there).

Thanks. Will have to wait and do some prep before I can upload the firmware it appears.
Slow going, but getting all my bulbs updated. . .and they do dim very quickly now! :-)

I realized, that I have one non-LB601Z-1 bulb. . .the HomeSeer branded Domitech bulb. . .
HomeSeer HS-DTA19+ Z-Wave Plus Smart Bulb

Is there a firmware update for that that might support the same configuration options?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old October 17th, 2017, 09:20 AM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechFan View Post
HomeSeer HS-DTA19+ Z-Wave Plus Smart Bulb

Is there a firmware update for that that might support the same configuration options?
Our OEM manufacturer was the same one that also made the Nortek bulbs. I assume the Nortek firmware should work on those too but I've not tested it.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old October 17th, 2017, 10:03 AM
racerfern racerfern is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 851
Close to a dumb question but, if I were to put this in a closet with a pull cord or a table lamp with a switch, could I still just pull the cord or push the switch to make the light come on?

Or does the bulb only get activated from a z-wave controlled device, whether another zwave device or an app?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old October 17th, 2017, 10:19 AM
MNB's Avatar
MNB MNB is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 513
Not a dumb question.. The problem with a pull cord/ table switch is that if you turn it off there is no electricity to the bulb so when you try to use your z-wave controllers it is unable to communicate with the device until you turn the power back on via cord/switch. Mike
__________________
Computer: CUK Intel NUC7i7BNH
Op System: Windows 10 Pro - Work Station
HS Version: HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.435

Plug-Ins: BLBackup, BLGData, BLRoombaWifi, Device History, EasyTrigger, ImperiHome, Nest, PHLocation, Pushover 3P, Restart, Sonos, UltraCID3, UltraWeatherWU3, Z-Wave, and Jon00 scripts.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old October 17th, 2017, 10:31 AM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNB View Post
Not a dumb question.. The problem with a pull cord/ table switch is that if you turn it off there is no electricity to the bulb so when you try to use your z-wave controllers it is unable to communicate with the device until you turn the power back on via cord/switch. Mike
The problem is a tiny bit worse than that. If the bulb is being used as a repeating node (likely), then cutting the power from it can also cause slowdowns in the network as commands and (especially) responses may be routed through that node.

I have a few of these bulbs in pull-chain fixtures at home. I've actually removed the chains to prevent this problem from happening... and I've mounted wall controllers instead.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old October 17th, 2017, 10:59 AM
TechFan's Avatar
TechFan TechFan is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: WA
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by macromark View Post
Our OEM manufacturer was the same one that also made the Nortek bulbs. I assume the Nortek firmware should work on those too but I've not tested it.
I'll try again. I tried it once. It uploaded the firmware but didn't ever install.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old October 17th, 2017, 11:44 AM
TechFan's Avatar
TechFan TechFan is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: WA
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechFan View Post
I'll try again. I tried it once. It uploaded the firmware but didn't ever install.
I aborted the process that didn't finish, cancelled it, then started again. This time it worked, so now all my bulbs are set to dim much faster, in steps of 10 (parameter 9) to complete in 1 second (parameter 10).

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old October 17th, 2017, 04:51 PM
racerfern racerfern is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 851
@Macromark and @MNB - so, one of these bulbs is on and I shut if off via z-wave control from HS3. Then... someone physically turns off the switch (for whatever reason), now I can't turn the light on from HS3 because the switch is off, got it. However, if the light is off from HS3 and the switch is off physically, will turning on the switch (non z-wave) make the light come on, or does it still have to be turned on via HS3 somehow?

I hope I didn't overly wordy there.

I was about to buy a bunch of these, but now I'm not so sure.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old October 17th, 2017, 04:54 PM
MNB's Avatar
MNB MNB is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 513
My experience is that if you apply power via the switch will turn the light on, it doesn't require zwave to turn it on. Mike
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old October 17th, 2017, 05:10 PM
TechFan's Avatar
TechFan TechFan is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: WA
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerfern View Post
@Macromark and @MNB - so, one of these bulbs is on and I shut if off via z-wave control from HS3. Then... someone physically turns off the switch (for whatever reason), now I can't turn the light on from HS3 because the switch is off, got it. However, if the light is off from HS3 and the switch is off physically, will turning on the switch (non z-wave) make the light come on, or does it still have to be turned on via HS3 somehow?

I hope I didn't overly wordy there.

I was about to buy a bunch of these, but now I'm not so sure.
The behavior (when turned on by the physical switch) can be configured. By default, the lights come on at 100% when they get power again. You can configure them to return to Last On level (no matter if it was off). . .or to last state (off if it was off, on if it was on).

The concern @Macromark was mentioning is that your ZWave network may get confused if nodes it is depending on (the bulbs) are turned physically off at the switch.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old June 7th, 2018, 01:31 PM
neiltimms's Avatar
neiltimms neiltimms is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 808
When flashing the bulbs to 5.12, how long should this normally take? I haven't received any errors but my 1st one has been "Firware Update Status: Receiving" for about 10 minutes now!
__________________
Running HS PRO V2.5.0.49 & HS Pro V2.5.0.51
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old June 7th, 2018, 01:38 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by neiltimms View Post
When flashing the bulbs to 5.12, how long should this normally take? I haven't received any errors but my 1st one has been "Firware Update Status: Receiving" for about 10 minutes now!
Along with that message, you should also see a byte counter counting the number of bytes that have transferred to the device. If that byte counter is not moving, things may be stuck.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old June 7th, 2018, 01:51 PM
neiltimms's Avatar
neiltimms neiltimms is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 808
Hi Mark, I am not seeing any numbers at all. I have aborted a couple of times, re-selected the file etc. but it just seems to sit there. I have also restarted HS and restarted the interface. No change.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old June 7th, 2018, 01:53 PM
neiltimms's Avatar
neiltimms neiltimms is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 808
This is what i always get. I am using the latest release of HS and the Z-Wave
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old June 7th, 2018, 01:59 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by neiltimms View Post
This is what i always get. I am using the latest release of HS and the Z-Wave
Please post your support profile.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old June 7th, 2018, 02:25 PM
neiltimms's Avatar
neiltimms neiltimms is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 808
Current Date/Time: 6/7/2018 1:24:35 PM
HomeSeer Version: HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.425
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Home - Work Station
System Uptime: 0 Days 1 Hour 21 Minutes 5 Seconds
IP Address: 192.168.2.4
Number of Devices: 103
Number of Events: 48
Available Threads: 400
HSTouch Enabled: True
Event Threads: 1
Event Trigger Eval Queue: 0
Event Trigger Priority Eval Queue: 0
Device Exec Queue: 0
HSTouch Event Queue: 0
Email Send Queue: 0
Anti Virus Installed: Windows Defender
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old June 7th, 2018, 02:35 PM
macromark's Avatar
macromark macromark is offline
HomeSeer Technologies
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 3,227
Please include your plug-ins with this...
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old June 7th, 2018, 02:56 PM
neiltimms's Avatar
neiltimms neiltimms is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 808
Sorry, all the details here
Attached Images
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My two cents: Linear/Evolve vs GE Z-Wave switches mikedr HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 19 January 14th, 2015 09:22 PM
WIFI light bulb Steve Q HS2 / HSPRO 2 October 6th, 2012 05:11 PM
insteon LED light bulb! pbibm Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 27 August 30th, 2012 10:55 PM
New Insteon Light Bulb Jingoro Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion 1 June 19th, 2012 12:39 PM
Samsung LED light bulb teardown includes objective dimming numbers FeMan Lighting & Primary Technology Discussion 0 February 10th, 2012 03:13 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC