Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need Wiring help with WDTC-20 - Z-Wave Thermostat (Wayne-Dalton)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need Wiring help with WDTC-20 - Z-Wave Thermostat (Wayne-Dalton)

Hi Everyone. I'm just starting out with the whole home automation stuff but I'm off to good start. I've got 3 door sensors, several light switches and a couple lamp plugs so far. All Z wave and all running great. I just purchased HomeSeer a few days ago after running the trial for about 20 days. So Its been a bit under a month since my first device went in.

Next on the agenda is some more lights, some motion detectors but my concern that I can't figure out is the Thermostat wiring stuff.

I need some help. I've written the following email as suggested in the pdf manual to Wayne-Dalton a week ago without any sort of response.

Perhaps this is the wrong Thermostat for me but I thought I'd post my email here and see if anyone can fill me in with a couple answers.

---- email sent is below ----

I wish to purchase the WDTC-20 - Z-Wave Thermostat (Wayne-Dalton).

I've taken my existing Thermostat apart and I have 3 wires. (the old thermostat has an old mercury switch and a fan control that's either auto or off.) The 3 wires are not labeled but connect to a circuit board with the labels R W G. Its a natural gas furnace. No cooling in the house.

R is a Red wire
    W is a White wire.
    G is a Black wire.

With the 3 wires completely separated from the circuit board, my multimeter shows that the R seems to be always Hot. It is 24V (actually 26.5 fairly constantly) if I go to either other wire. W and G together via the multimeter show nothing. I also tried via the ground in a nearby light box, with the same results, R seems to be the Hot one.

The instructions say I must have a C wire. But do I have that? I'm thinking my R is the C but then none of the wiring diagrams match.

Touching...
    R to G turns the fan on.
    R to W turns the furnace on.