www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > HomeSeer Products & Services > HomeSeer Software > HS3 / HS3PRO > HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion

HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion Discussions related to the released version of HS3/HS3PRO

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #221  
Old March 20th, 2017, 06:37 PM
SteveMSJ SteveMSJ is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerfern View Post
Thanks for an awesome plugin! Interestingly, I used to have an event to monitor the smoke alarm heartbeat but it stopped "seeing" the heartbeat and there was nothing in the log. I could see it on device view, though.

Since I installed the plugin, the heartbeat notification now shows up again in the log. Go figure.


I can probably explain that, if the device is a Zsmoke anyway. The device sends the Heartbeat value but doesn't reset it so It is set but not changed. HS3 only logs device changes so the heartbeats don't show in the log unless a smoke or other event happens in between. It still should trigger an event if you use the correct trigger.
HS also doesn't send callbacks to plugins if the value doesn't change so to be able to monitor the heartbeats the plugin sets the device value to Heartbeat Acknowledged after each Heartbeat so the next heartbeat will be a change in value and it will receive a callback. A side effect of that is that HS will also log the Heartbeat.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #222  
Old March 20th, 2017, 07:16 PM
racerfern racerfern is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 176
Thanks for the explanation, I think. I say that because one day I was seeing heartbeats and my event worked correctly. The next day, no more heartbeats in the log and the event stopped firing.

I would still see the time of the last heartbeat update in the Device Management view, every 67 minutes but that's the only place it was obvious that heartbeats were still ongoing.
Reply With Quote
  #223  
Old March 21st, 2017, 05:40 AM
akurz akurz is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Cadolzburg, Germany
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveMSJ View Post
I've updated the version attached to message #192. Now 3.0.4.3.

What are the VisionSec motion detectors doing?

Steve
Hard to say... I've disabled discharge warning yesterday and after re-enabling and upgrading to the latest version the sensors show all green. Looks I have to wait til one of my sensors changes battery value. I'll definitely keep you updated.

Cheers,
Alex
Reply With Quote
  #224  
Old March 21st, 2017, 10:40 AM
SteveMSJ SteveMSJ is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by akurz View Post
Hard to say... I've disabled discharge warning yesterday and after re-enabling and upgrading to the latest version the sensors show all green. Looks I have to wait til one of my sensors changes battery value. I'll definitely keep you updated.

Ok, feedback is welcomed.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #225  
Old March 22nd, 2017, 11:58 AM
SteveMSJ SteveMSJ is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 558
Further information on reported battery discharge rates.
I have an Everspring Siren whose battery has been at 80% for a number of months now. The battery life on the Everspring devices is generally really good. Anyway, it is now occasionally reporting 70% and then back to 80%. The discharge rate therefore keeps jumping up and then going back to zero. The battery level will probably settle at 70% after a few days and then stay like that for another few months.

I think I might default to turning off alerts on high discharge rate.

Perhaps the average discharge rate since batteries were replaced would be a better value to report. This would be less affected by fluctuations although an increase in discharge rate would be less obvious. It would also require saving the starting level (not necessarily 100%) which I don't currently do.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #226  
Old March 22nd, 2017, 12:23 PM
cheeryfool's Avatar
cheeryfool cheeryfool is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 1,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveMSJ View Post
Further information on reported battery discharge rates.
I have an Everspring Siren whose battery has been at 80% for a number of months now. The battery life on the Everspring devices is generally really good. Anyway, it is now occasionally reporting 70% and then back to 80%. The discharge rate therefore keeps jumping up and then going back to zero. The battery level will probably settle at 70% after a few days and then stay like that for another few months.

I think I might default to turning off alerts on high discharge rate.

Perhaps the average discharge rate since batteries were replaced would be a better value to report. This would be less affected by fluctuations although an increase in discharge rate would be less obvious. It would also require saving the starting level (not necessarily 100%) which I don't currently do.

Steve
The lock I mentioned also jumped UP just after I posted about it - to 86% then settled back a while later to 84%
__________________
cheeryfool
Reply With Quote
  #227  
Old March 22nd, 2017, 12:32 PM
SteveMSJ SteveMSJ is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheeryfool View Post
The lock I mentioned also jumped UP just after I posted about it - to 86% then settled back a while later to 84%
Thanks, that explains the high reported discharge rate when it dropped back to 84%.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #228  
Old March 22nd, 2017, 05:43 PM
ralnet ralnet is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 157
Thought I would chime in about this plugin. I have several new devices, "Sensitive Strips" for access notification. See attached image.

This plugin works very well.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #229  
Old March 23rd, 2017, 03:47 PM
SteveMSJ SteveMSJ is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralnet View Post
Thought I would chime in about this plugin. I have several new devices, "Sensitive Strips" for access notification. See attached image.



This plugin works very well.


I'm glad it's working for you.
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #230  
Old April 1st, 2017, 03:02 PM
SteveMSJ SteveMSJ is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 558
I've added optional logging of battery values to an SQLite database so the History of battery levels can be shown in the monitoring devices. 'History' button temporarily displays the battery history rather than current state. See attached. I need to setup a Linux test bed tomorrow before I post the update.

Installation is becoming more complicated (particularly with different System.Data.SQLite.dll files for Windows and Linux) so I'm configuring a proper installation method using the updater_override.txt method.

Steve
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #231  
Old April 2nd, 2017, 04:03 PM
SteveMSJ SteveMSJ is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveMSJ View Post
I need to setup a Linux test bed tomorrow before I post the update.
I've run in to an issue with SQLite in the Linux version which will delay me for a while.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #232  
Old April 2nd, 2017, 04:45 PM
mwolter mwolter is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: San Diego
Posts: 47
Obtaining data without monitoring the HS Log

Hello SteveMSJ,
Using your plugin for a couple months now and it works great! It's already helped me catch a couple devices that weren't communicating and helped find a few low batteries. Used the status icon from the root device on HS3Touch for an easy to see health status.

One small issue is the HS log is getting quite full with chatter re: Poll and Wakeup messages. Wondering if you will be working on obtaining the data SDJ-Health needs without needing to have this enabled?

Looks like you are delving into using SQLite and this could be a related update/project.
Reply With Quote
  #233  
Old April 2nd, 2017, 05:37 PM
SteveMSJ SteveMSJ is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwolter View Post
One small issue is the HS log is getting quite full with chatter re: Poll and Wakeup messages. Wondering if you will be working on obtaining the data SDJ-Health needs without needing to have this enabled?
With LogLevel set to 0 there shouldn't be any logging from SDJ-Health other than error messages. However, for the plug-in to be able to detect when non-listening Z-Wave devices wake up it is necessary to have the Z-Wave plug-in log wakeup messages. HS3 doesn't expose the received wake-up commands so I don't know any way to monitor this other than through the logged messages.

If you really wanted to turn off Z-Wave logging of wakeup messages then you would need to set SDJ-Health to monitor the devices using 'Activity Monitoring'. Take a backup and then turn off 'Monitor Log for Wakeups', delete all the monitoring devices that were using this method (not the root) and then select the devices from the list in 'Devices requiring activity monitoring'. This will create new monitoring devices that the plugin will periodically check for activity.
It will monitor the battery details fine but monitoring whether the device is alive is only effective if the devices send fairly regular data so that the plug-in detects they are active. It should work fine for a temperature sensor, for example, but not for something like a water leak detector which doesn't report anything for days on end. You could turn off 'Alerts on Missed Wakeups' for some devices and still monitor the battery levels though.
Personally I would live with the Z-Wave logs of wakeup messages.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #234  
Old April 2nd, 2017, 07:00 PM
YvMo YvMo is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 22
In HS3 Tools> Setup> General> Log Color, I filtered the keyword "SDJ-Health" to a very light gray so it dosen't stand out in my log so much.
Reply With Quote
  #235  
Old April 2nd, 2017, 07:49 PM
mwolter mwolter is offline
Seer
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: San Diego
Posts: 47
Ended up taking YvMo's advice and changed the color for everything matching "SDJ-Health" and also added "Wake-Up" and "wake up".

Checked to see how many entries this affected and it was over 20k, a little less than 1/3 or all logs.

It's a little easier to see view the other log entries but would be great to not have them
Reply With Quote
  #236  
Old April 3rd, 2017, 12:13 AM
SteveMSJ SteveMSJ is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwolter View Post
Ended up taking YvMo's advice and changed the color for everything matching "SDJ-Health" and also added "Wake-Up" and "wake up".

If you are getting any SDJ-Health messages with LogLevel set to 0 let me know and I will look into it. There shouldn't be any but I could easily have messed up

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #237  
Old April 4th, 2017, 08:34 PM
racerfern racerfern is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 176
I tried this on my Zee S2 and it worked ok. However I just moved to a z-net and HS3 on windows pc and I only get the heartbeat of the CO/Smoke detector. I don't get a half dozen other battery powered devices.

I fooled around with various config settings yet nothing seems to trigger any other reports. Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #238  
Old April 5th, 2017, 07:08 AM
SteveMSJ SteveMSJ is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerfern View Post
I tried this on my Zee S2 and it worked ok. However I just moved to a z-net and HS3 on windows pc and I only get the heartbeat of the CO/Smoke detector. I don't get a half dozen other battery powered devices.

I fooled around with various config settings yet nothing seems to trigger any other reports. Any help would be appreciated.
Are they non-listening Z-Wave devices? If so search your log for Z-Wave 'Wake-Up Notification Received' messages to indicate the devices are waking up.
Make sure that 'Log Poll and Wake-Up messages' is ticked in 'Network Options'.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #239  
Old April 5th, 2017, 08:17 AM
racerfern racerfern is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 176
They are non-listening.

I do not have an option to "log poll and wake-up messages" in setup.

I will check my log later on.

I got it to work by going to the SDJ config and clicking the devices that required Monitor Activity and Monitor Polling. All seems well, thanks for a great addition to HS3.

Last edited by racerfern; April 5th, 2017 at 07:32 PM. Reason: add on
Reply With Quote
  #240  
Old April 14th, 2017, 12:11 PM
SteveMSJ SteveMSJ is offline
Seer Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerfern View Post
They are non-listening.

I do not have an option to "log poll and wake-up messages" in setup.

I will check my log later on.

I got it to work by going to the SDJ config and clicking the devices that required Monitor Activity and Monitor Polling. All seems well, thanks for a great addition to HS3.
The log poll and wake-up messages should be in ‘Plugins>Z-Wave>Z-Wave Network and Options’.

I'm glad you have it working with Monitor Activity although monitoring wake-up messages is a better way of doing it for non-listening devices for a couple of reasons. Firstly the plug-in detects devices automatically so if you add a new device you don't have to go to the Config and add it to the list. Secondly it doesn't require the device to be active, only keep waking up.

I have now written a guide to the plug-in which I will be posting shortly with the latest version.

Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the z-wave plugin have something against battery status? - Solution! garyd9 HomeSeer Z-Wave Plug-in 69 March 3rd, 2017 01:24 AM
Error Ultra1Wire3 ?Plugin Smart Battery Monitor Not all voice recognition aldo Ultra1Wire HSPI 1 January 6th, 2017 08:56 PM
Is there a way to find out the health my Z-Wave network? Agwan HS3 / HS3PRO Discussion 0 March 25th, 2015 11:18 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC