www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > Legacy Software & Plug-ins > Legacy Plug-ins > Legacy HomeSeer Plug-ins > HAI/OnQ Panel (HS2)

HAI/OnQ Panel (HS2) Discussion about the HAI Omni/OnQ plugin for the HAI and OnQ series of security panels.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 25th, 2003, 02:00 AM
rod_tucker
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I am relatively new to HomeSeer, and have a few simple things running on it. I just installed an OnmiLT at home and have installed the Omni plugin on HomeSeer. But I can't figure out how, on the plugin, to trigger events from changes in the status of zones, how to set the HAI system to be armed or disarmed, or how to add new devices (I acidentally deleted the alarm status "device": zone code [1 - what ever that means - and I can't figure out how to put it back in!) Some of these things appear on the web page associated with the plugin, but I can't find them on the Windows panel.

I see that there was some discussion on this message board about a year ago, initiated by Kirby. I think there must be some instructions/user guide somewhere out there on how to use the plugin. I have searched for the file HAI_Help.chm, but can't find it.

[This message was edited by rod_tucker on Mon, 25 August 2003 at 07:22 AM.]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 25th, 2003, 01:34 PM
Rick Tinker's Avatar
Rick Tinker Rick Tinker is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,418
Rod,

HAI_help.chm is in the HELP folder under HomeSeer.

You will need to go to the plug-in setup screen and delete/reset the devices using the button provided, shut down HomeSeer, and then restart HomeSeer so that it will recreate the devices - this is the only way to get back the Security Status device that you deleted before you knew that YOU NEED THAT DEVICE! ;-)

When you create an event in HomeSeer, note the new tab "HAI Triggers" - it answers how to trigger on zone changes (and other things).

When you go to set up actions in an event, note the HAI Action tabs that are added to the list of action tabs - answers how to arm/disarm the system in automation events.

The device you deleted, and the rest there, are to be used with HomeSeer's "Value Change Trigger" to trigger on security system status changes and other states associated with those devices.


If all else fails and the manual does not answer it, open a helpdesk ticket and we can answer your question there.


Regards,

Rick Tinker
HomeSeer Technologies

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 29th, 2003, 05:12 AM
rod_tucker
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Rick,

Thanks for this. I now have the help file. But I still have a couple of problems:

1. I have intermittent problems launching HomeSeer with the plugin. Sometimes (but not always) I have trouble entering the panel code, and I sometimes get error messages associated with the panel code or the zone information.

2. I have tried to write a script to return the Security Status to me via an e-mail. I had some problems with this (see my entries on the scripting message board) which have been partly resolved. But my main problem is that sometimes the function "SecurityStatus" returns an incorrect result. For example, right now I am at home, but if I run my script to find the Security Status, it returns "armed away", which is incorrect - it is actually "Disarmed". I get the same wrong answer on the HomeSeer Web control page. The puzzling bit is that this error is intermittent. I can sometimes fix it by closing and re-launching HomeSeer, but that is no good in practice because I can't do that when I am not at home!

The problem seem to happen more often if I arm my Omni system and then disarm it before the exit delay has expired.

Intermittent problems are always frustrating. I hope you can help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 1st, 2003, 04:53 PM
anogee
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I think the console password problem you are having is the same one I have, and one that Rich has said he is working on. You should only have to enter this password once, but the plugin forgets it.

Look in the config folder for a file with the name settings.ini (I think) With HomeSeer off, open it in an text editor (like notepad). Near the bottom, under the hspi_HAI section, look for "PanelCode = xxxxxx" where xxxxx is a bunch of numbers and possibly symbols. Delete everything after the = and put in your 4 digit panel code. Save the file. That should get you going, but it still will occasionally loose your code.

As for your second problem, I can't help much, but do share your pain. Learning from reading the help files, hasn't been the easiest.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 2nd, 2003, 01:04 PM
Rick Tinker's Avatar
Rick Tinker Rick Tinker is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,418
I am investigating that panel code problem - I must have some code left over from the alternate way I was encrypting the password before. If you use the workaround mentioned, it will stop prompting you for the panel code - sorry about that.

If your security status is lagging, then there is a communications problem. The web page displays whatever the plug-in currently has as the status, which is almost instantaneous with status changes. When you use the web page and click the link to arm the panel, it returns with the new status immediately when the web page re-paints. It does not do this with unit changes. Sometimes the web page will refresh (on a fast computer) before the plug-in has received the notification from the panel of the change, but it should never be more than a little over a half second from being accurate, so there is definitely a problem on your system.

Send me an email describing your HS computer, HAI system, and we'll get some dialog going to pinpoint where that problem is coming from.


Regards,

Rick Tinker
HomeSeer Technologies

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC