www.homeseer.com    
 

Go Back   HomeSeer Message Board > 3rd Party Plug-Ins/Scripts > Plug-ins by Author > Click Here for List of Author Forums > Blade Plug-Ins > BLLAN (3P)

BLLAN (3P) Discussion of BLLAN plug-in

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 19th, 2016, 10:21 PM
Kitar Kitar is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 326
BBLan ignoring MAC

Greetings,
I have BBLan devices in a mixed static/DHCP network. BBLan devices are configured with IPs and MACs.

Device "A" has been offline for a few days, meanwhile device "B" was issued A's IP via DHCP.

My problem is that BBLan reports the machine "A" as being online and "B" as being offline. It is correct if it only honors the IP. If it looks at the MAC addresses it would see the problem.

It is my fault that the machine is not static, but will BBLan work with a DHCP setup ? What do you use the MAC addresses for, if not for filtering ?

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 19th, 2016, 10:25 PM
rprade's Avatar
rprade rprade is offline
OverSeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitar View Post
Greetings,
I have BBLan devices in a mixed static/DHCP network. BBLan devices are configured with IPs and MACs.

Device "A" has been offline for a few days, meanwhile device "B" was issued A's IP via DHCP.

My problem is that BBLan reports the machine "A" as being online and "B" as being offline. It is correct if it only honors the IP. If it looks at the MAC addresses it would see the problem.

It is my fault that the machine is not static, but will BBLan work with a DHCP setup ? What do you use the MAC addresses for, if not for filtering ?

Any suggestions?
The MAC address is used for WOL, it is the IP address that tracks the device. You will have to use static IPs or IP reservations. I use IP reservations because it is easier to roam with portable devices.
__________________
Randy Prade
Aurora, CO
Prades.net

PHLocation - Pushover - EasyTrigger - UltraECM3 - Ultra1Wire3 - Arduino
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 19th, 2016, 11:18 PM
Kitar Kitar is offline
Seer Deluxe
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by rprade View Post
The MAC address is used for WOL, it is the IP address that tracks the device. You will have to use static IPs or IP reservations. I use IP reservations because it is easier to roam with portable devices.
Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately the Cisco DOCSYS router has a very short reservation list. Each time I add a new reservation it bumps an older one off the list. I think it is 5 addresses deep.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Z-NET IGNORING STATIC-IP rschein Z-NET 14 August 2nd, 2015 12:36 PM
Ignoring 'Fast On' jwshome2 Insteon Plug-in (Mark Sandler) 1 September 7th, 2010 06:20 PM
Ignoring a DS10 Pothead ACRF Processor (3P) 4 March 29th, 2007 07:47 AM
Ignoring Device Addresses Ronnie HomeSeer General Discussion Area 1 August 5th, 2004 09:49 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Copyright HomeSeer Technologies, LLC